We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This a very comfortable hotel and centrally located close to shopping, theatres, and other attractions. The service is what makes it special. We were pleasantly surprised to arrive and find that the bellman had our keys ready at the front door. We just handed the car over to the valet and we were in our room in minutes, without even having to pass by reception. The concierge was very helpful in booking theatre tickets or recommending restaurants. We were always offered complimentary bottles of water in the pool and fitness centre area, and were given cookies and milk or bottled water when we retrieved our car from the valet. There were only two minor irritations. First, the staff failed to replace the coffee supply for two of the five days we stayed there. Second, our suite had a nice dressing area and provided an iron and board. But the only power outlet was tucked behind the dresser, so I always had to drag the ironing board to the main part of the room to press my clothes. The room service was very pricey and we only used it once. But overall, this is a nice hotel and we will likely stay there on our next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write about your stay. We appreciate your comments about the plugs-- we are in the process of adding outlets on the nightstands for mobile device charging... we are working diligently to address the need for additional outlets since many of our guests travel with a smart phone, a laptop and a tablet. (or more with multiple guests).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,895
    715
    202
    77
    42
See reviews for
619
1,083
146
704
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed there for a couple's get away weekend this last weekend. We got a great rate on Hotwire and I was excited about staying there.

Upon arrival it's more than a bit overwhelming, the architecture is stunning and I loved the building. However I don't love the decor.. it feels like my Grand Parent's house, except more comfortable.

Check in was a breeze, we got upgraded to a suite without asking (make sure you join the President's Club). The room was spacious and clean and the bed was really comfy, I just didn't love the quilt, wallpaper, couches, etc. Less would be more from my perspective. The room was super quiet and the windows opened!!

Room service was quick and yummy, the free wireless internet that comes with being President's Club member didn't work but the 1-800 number did and Dallas helped us out quickly and easily to get us going :)

Although we didn't swim we did take a look at the pool and fitness club and they were great. Lots of families with little kids running around having a great time.

Check out was super quick and the Valet (Rick!!) was lovely (although super expensive $42 per 24 hour period).

I'd definitely recommend it if you can get a good price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubberducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The room was fantastic and so was the dinner. Would recommend the sea bass. If you go to Pike's Place, watch for pick pockets toward the north end. The first Star Bucks is not to be missed if you are a fan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallas_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Fairmont Olympic is a great hotel option for downtown Seattle. Close to all the downtown attractions and restaurants (and the hotel courtesy vehicle is available for driving within the downtown area), yet provided a fantastic night's sleep! Rooms were amazingly quiet with a super comfy bed. Agree with the comments regarding the ridiculous pricing for the mini bar.

If you're coming from the airport, take the light rail, the University Street station is just two blocks away. You'll need the savings for the mini bar!

Staff was very friendly and the lobby dropdead gorgeous. Not an exciting place like you may find elsewhere, but certainly a luxurious, relaxing hotel in the midst of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DINKsTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Couldnt agree more with the exceptional service received from the attentive and eager to help staff and the comfortable bed comments from other guests. That said, after paying what seemed like a pretty full price for the room, understandable given the last minute corporate travel agency booked reservation, i dislike having to pay an additional $8.00 for a bottled water or $15.99 for wifi. Two other minor challenges worth noting were that i couldn't find a power strip or convenient outlet to charge my electronics other than one plug in the bathroom and my sink had more water pressure than the shower. I may just have had bad luck with my room and my overall experience was good thanks to a nice breakfast and the great staff. These factors though prevent me from giving this stay an excellent rating.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasAyrUFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write about your recent stay. I wanted to address a few of your concerns and let you know we are working on the issues you mentioned. We recently did a major wifi upgrade to the entire hotel, to ensure connections for our guests using multiple devices. We are also in the process of adding outlets on each nightstand for charging phones, ipads, etc. If you join the Fairmont President's Club (which is free and takes just a couple minutes to enroll online) you can enjoy complimentary wifi during every stay. I hope this information is helpful and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is waaaaaay above the rest in every aspect.
The people in the hotel are very professional, pleasing, service oriented, and will go out of their way to assist you in every way possible. The restaurants in this hotel are outstanding, Shuckkers is the BEST seafood restaurant we have ever had the pleasure of eating at, the food is out of this world. Even if your not staying in the hotel ( I don't know why you wouldn't ) please, please visit this restaurant it is a must in Seattle.
My complements to the Fairmont Olympic Hotel entire staff,,,,,thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 281bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay. We love to hear from fans of Shuckers..... I will pass along your compliments to the culinary team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I recently returned from staying at the fairmont Olympic on business. As always, the staff is very helpful there from valet parking, to check-in, to the waiters in the restaurant. The restaurant is excellent both for breakfast and dinner and I always find their room service timely and delicious. Thanks again for your consistent service - one of my favourite Fairmonts for service and quality.

Room Tip: A higher floor can be nice and quiet even if in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Vacationers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. Maintaining a strong level of high customer service satisfaction is a primary focus for our team. We appreciate hearing that you are a repeat guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing