We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old world charm with modern conveniences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #21 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old world charm with modern conveniences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nicely appointed room. We paid a small amount for an upgrade and it was worth it. We moved into a charming spacious suite with lovely decor including french doors that divided the sitting room from the bedroom. Amenities we especially enjoyed were; slippers, robes, great bathroom 'condiments', Keurig coffee system, great selection of teas. We had a dripping faucet and when I mentioned it at the front desk it was rectified by the time we returned to the room. We loved the volume and water pressure of the shower.
We wanted information, tickets and reservations, and the concierge, William, was really helpful and clearly loved his job. Another concierge, a woman, not so much...but all the other staff were 110%. Ask for William.
We were lucky and stayed when the hotel had their Christmas tree display which was stunning. Great inhouse pub, which I already reviewed.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being close to the elevator. We were located right next to it and didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabineK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Sabine, Thank you for taking time to write to us about your stay. We will pass along your compliments to William, who truly loves his job and sharing his knowledge of Seattle. We are also pleased to hear that your request was promptly attended to. We hope you come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,600
    635
    180
    72
    39
See reviews for
525
936
122
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My buddies and I did a weekend trip to Seattle to watch NFL and the Seattle Seahawks. The Fairmont Hotel in downtown Seattle was our choice to stay for the weekend. The main reason was that I received a discounted price as I am a Fairmont's President Club Member. Having said that the value I received was far in excess of even the regular room rate. The service was attentive and the staff was friendly.

The rooms are exquisite decorated.

Only two issues were noted. One was minor but the other was not so minor.

The first one was the room I stayed in had an issue with the room safe. The locking bolt was extended out and the safe was not reset and therefore I could not lock my valuables in the safe. I called for service and a hotel engineer came to my room in a reasonable time and attended to the issue and apologize for the inconvenience.

The second issue was my buddy complained (albeit to me and not to the hotel) that he noticed that there was slight blood stains on the bed sheets. He noticed the stains the morning after the stay. However as mentioned he did not report it to the hotel.

Based on my past experiences staying at Fairmont operated hotels, had he reported it to the hotel staff, it would have been attended to promptly.

I enjoyed staying at the hotel and would do so again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank androidmilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Brought my wife here for an overnight staycation. We love Seattle around the holidays - the streets and stores all lit up - and the hotel lobby was a beautiful compliment to the town. There was a gorgeous tree in the lobby, and many well-dressed families were posing for pictures in front of it before heading out for their evenings on the town. We booked a suite, and we had plenty of room for our needs, including room service breakfast in the morning. When we stopped in for drinks at the end of the night, the bartender was a little short with us, but that was probably because he was mixing drinks at a rate of approximately a million a minute. The maple old fashioned was worth it, though...

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stereotypical English like hotel set close to a major shopping area but a 5 minute walk to waterfront. Generously sized rooms full of the mod cons ypu would expect and polite and efficient staff. As a base to explore Seattle this is ideally located. Not spectacular but very nice nonetheless.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iainricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a grand old historic hotel which makes you just feel rich staying there. When we went in November the Christmas tree was already up which added to charm. There was a mixup with the room and they upgraded us which certainly helped with our impression. The concierge got us into the restaurant when i couldn't. We loved the location close to shopping, Pike Market, Purple for great wine and food across the street and the Red Room for music closeby. The only downside was the old small bathtub.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennybobenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Fairmont Olympic is one of those grand old hotels that you can't help but enjoy. On my visit, I had a suite. It was quite spacious, but the furnishings and decor of the room was a bit too outdated for my taste.

That's pretty much the only negative thing I could say about this place. The rest of my stay was excellent. The food was always wonderful, and the service was second to none. A nice surprise was when I first arrived. As a Fairmont President's Club member, I was already checked in the moment I arrived. The bellman who opened my door handed me my key and let me know I could go right up. Super convenient!

It's also well-situated, closed to shopping and tourist attractions.

Room Tip: President's Club members get free wifi and other perks. It's free to sign up, so take advant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed the perks of curbside check in and complimentary wi-fi with your President's Club membership. We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel exceeds expectations in all areas. Rooms are beautiful, clean and quiet. Staff is extremely friendly and work to insure a great experience. Restaurant will compete with any of Seattle's finest. I choose this one every time I'm in Seattle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dudderbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,348 reviews
Hotel 1000
#4 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,384 reviews
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#15 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing