We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasteful and graceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Tasteful and graceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We are always pleased to be guests at Seattle's Fairmont. The entire staff make it a place where one feels like royalty. We especially appreciate having a town car to drop us in the evenings for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalParadise888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,810
    691
    193
    77
    40
See reviews for
593
1,033
142
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

There was construction on the exterior of the building but they didn't do any work during "quiet" hours. The architecture was gorgeous - well kept art deco. Everything was clean and luxurious although my hubby thought the bed was too cushy. I thought it was comfortable. The windows opened which, believe it or not, is a major bonus for us. We sleep with windows open even in the middle of winter and can't stand a warm/heated room. The staff was very nice. Even though we're jeans and t-shirts kind of folks, they didn't get prissy.

We didn't do much in the hotel itself except have drinks in Shuckkers. Our waiter was quite old and very unfriendly but we didn't let that deter us. The drinks were great (although pricey) so when someone left the bar, we packed up and moved over.

I chose this hotel because I thought it was in the middle of the city. Guess, what? I guessed correctly! We saved a ton of money because we were able to take the train in from the airport and hoof it to the hotel - a scant two blocks. We must have walked 25+ miles in 3 1/2 days and that was perfect for us. Everything was close and the city is laid out so well. There is great shopping near the hotel and in the hotel but be prepared to spend an arm and a leg!

I will definitely stay here again when I return BUT be careful after dark. Every been to San Francisco? Seattle has the same issues. I spent a day by myself when my husband took the train to the aerospace museum and I did fine but the whole area gets quite seedy when the sun goes down so go hang out in the bar!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor over looking the front of the hotel. Not a great view but I wasn't the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mightymom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The great benefit is having the hotel's sedan to drop one off and then the ability to call for a pick one up and instead of relying on the nasty taxi! With a taxi, you never know how clean or dirty they will be and if one is well dressed you have no worries with the sedan. My wife & I were headed over to an event at the Rainier Club and were pleased to use this free service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our first overnight together away from our baby....what a treat! We loved the luxurious bed, the staff were prompt and accommodating and the best part was relaxing in the hot tub and pool in the lovely health club in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room or higher up to avoid street traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlesuzanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Fairmont Seattle is a great Hotel, being on the National Register of Historic Places is has REAL "Old World" charm. The rooms are very nice, the reception and concierge were nice however doormen and valet were outstanding!! They did not just greet our group of 4 each time went cam and left the hotel, they were genuinely interested in seeing if they could help us with anything!! Directions, restaurants, sites.... One time when we were getting ready to leave, we needed to find an address to input into our GPS, one of the gentlemen saw we were having trouble finding the address he came over with his mobile device, looked up the address on his tabet and we were on our way...very attentive! Great location, walking distance to everything and if your a Fairmont Presidents Club Member you receive free in room wifi!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The property is grand, and what a great seafood restaurant downstairs! Service staff if attentive and hushed. The only thing that would push this one up to the level of the Grand Hyatt or Four Seasons would be to modernize the rooms. It feels like you're staying at grannie's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for taking time to write about your stay. Our hotel was built in 1924 and is on the National Register of Historic Places...and so we take great pride in preserving the history and grandeur of the hotel, while offering our guests every modern convenience and outstanding service. We are awaiting approval on a major renovation... so there will be definitely be a refresh to all furniture, and decor. We hope you come back to see our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Like many in the Fairmont chain (The Palliser, Chateau Lake Louise) this hotel's architecture is been well preserved. Staff are knowledgeable and very professional. Stayed in a suite for 2 nights - try and get a higher floor to minimize street noise. Would definitely stay again - join the President's Club; love being able to have the doorman give us our room keys - no stops for checking in!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing