We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fairmont Olympic Worth a little More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Fairmont Olympic Worth a little More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The great benefit is having the hotel's sedan to drop one off and then the ability to call for a pick one up and instead of relying on the nasty taxi! With a taxi, you never know how clean or dirty they will be and if one is well dressed you have no worries with the sedan. My wife & I were headed over to an event at the Rainier Club and were pleased to use this free service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    617
    179
    69
    37
See reviews for
508
906
122
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our first overnight together away from our baby....what a treat! We loved the luxurious bed, the staff were prompt and accommodating and the best part was relaxing in the hot tub and pool in the lovely health club in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room or higher up to avoid street traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlesuzanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Fairmont Seattle is a great Hotel, being on the National Register of Historic Places is has REAL "Old World" charm. The rooms are very nice, the reception and concierge were nice however doormen and valet were outstanding!! They did not just greet our group of 4 each time went cam and left the hotel, they were genuinely interested in seeing if they could help us with anything!! Directions, restaurants, sites.... One time when we were getting ready to leave, we needed to find an address to input into our GPS, one of the gentlemen saw we were having trouble finding the address he came over with his mobile device, looked up the address on his tabet and we were on our way...very attentive! Great location, walking distance to everything and if your a Fairmont Presidents Club Member you receive free in room wifi!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The property is grand, and what a great seafood restaurant downstairs! Service staff if attentive and hushed. The only thing that would push this one up to the level of the Grand Hyatt or Four Seasons would be to modernize the rooms. It feels like you're staying at grannie's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for taking time to write about your stay. Our hotel was built in 1924 and is on the National Register of Historic Places...and so we take great pride in preserving the history and grandeur of the hotel, while offering our guests every modern convenience and outstanding service. We are awaiting approval on a major renovation... so there will be definitely be a refresh to all furniture, and decor. We hope you come back to see our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Like many in the Fairmont chain (The Palliser, Chateau Lake Louise) this hotel's architecture is been well preserved. Staff are knowledgeable and very professional. Stayed in a suite for 2 nights - try and get a higher floor to minimize street noise. Would definitely stay again - join the President's Club; love being able to have the doorman give us our room keys - no stops for checking in!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Over my decade of visiting Seattle I've stayed at many hotels including the Marriott Waterfront, Edgewater, Silver Cloud, Marriott Residence Inn etc...but clearly The Fairmont Olympic is the grandest of them all! While few rooms have much of a view (unlike the Marriott Waterfront where most rooms have a good to great view of Elliot Bay) the Olympic is simply old-world elegant. The rooms are spacious, he halls quiet, the service excellent. The fitness club was outstanding and the coffee shop was quite good. the concierge staff was also very helpful. Best of all was the hotel's location--one block from Benaroya Hall, across the street from the Fifth Avenue Theatre, and in the heart of the downtown shopping district. Public transportation was exceptionally easy with local and express buses stopping within a block or two. The waterfront and ferries were a 10 minute walk downhill (slightly longer uphill). The Seattle Art Museum was a few blocks away as was Pikes Market. The outstanding WIng Luke Museum (an affiliate of the Smithsonian) was a few minute bus ride away (free bus rides in the downtown core) and with its location in Chinatown/The International District it is not only a great museum trip but also an eating fest. Three tips: first, if staying at this Fairmont (or any Fairmont for that matter) join the FAirmont President's Club and get free wifi access as well as free use of the health club. Second, if in Seattle visit the free Olympic Sculpture Park which is at the north end of the waterfront...a beautiful walk of about 30 minutes from the hotel. Second, visit the Wing Luke Museum--rated # 1 in Seattle and take the tenement tour (much like the west coast's answer to the NYC tenement tour). Third, use Seattle's outstanding public transportation including taking the light rail in from the SEATAC airport which de[posits you 1 block from the Olympic. Over the course of my 9 day trip I spent grand total of less than $15.00. Parking at the Olympic is very expensive ($43 per day)! If I had rented a car for this trip parking alone (with taxes) would have been over $400.00

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came for a girlfriend getaway and had a great time - close proximity to shopping, and had a good time just hanging out at the pool and spa. The room was nice, although the TV was in a weird place and didn't get great reception (although we didn't really use it so it didn't bother us too much).

Oddly, there were never any doormen at the entrance - not a huge deal, but when it's raining and crowded, it would have been nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katastrophe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel 1000
Hotel 1000
#4 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vintage - a Kimpton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#8 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#15 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing