We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love Affair With Fairmont is Over” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love Affair With Fairmont is Over”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

As much as I hate to say it my long time love affair with The Fairmont Olympic is over. I've really loved this beautiful historic hotel since the first time I stayed here, but after my last trip, we are breaking up. I had a room on the 2nd floor facing the street. It was so noisy it was unbearable. I went to the front desk in the morning and left a hand written note personally addressed to the guest relations manager. I left a business card and a cell phone number where I could be contacted. No one bothered to contact me. For my next trip, I'll choose a hotel with more concern for guest satisfaction.

I will say breakfast at the Georgian was delicious and the pool/spa are was fantastic (especially Dennise).

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear FromAlaska,
Thank you for taking time to write to us about your experience. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the service-- something we take great pride in. We did want to note that we are in the process of replacing all of our guest room windows-- the source of the majority of the street noise. As part of our effort to save energy and operate an eco frienly hotel, we are in the process of replacing our guest room windows with insulated triple panes. Please feel free to email me about your other concerns- kristin.gladfelter@fairmont.com and I will ensure that they are addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,720
    658
    185
    76
    39
See reviews for
561
993
135
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Faimont in Seattle. I reaaly liked the stuff and the way they treated me. The restaurant was very good, everybody was very helpfull. The frontdesk desk was fast and effcient and the hostess Donna at the Georgian was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've stayed here now on quite a number of occasions so am now in a position to give a detailed review. First the bad news. The front check in staff while polite and businesslike are much too cool to be truly welcoming. They always seem to spend more time verifying my identity than welcoming me to the hotel or trying to ensure my needs were met. During my last recent visit, they didn't explain the details/exceptions/features of my special package deal which let to problems later with the bill when there was confusion over a food and beverage charge. I'm a Premier Member of the Fairmont President's Club but not once has this ever been acknowledged by the front desk despite multiple stays here. No upgrades have ever been offered either. No effort is made to ask if I have a preference for a particular floor or room type. This has been a consistent pattern no matter who the front desk clerk is. Let's just say that when the US Homeland Security Border Guard at the Canadian/US border gave me a warmer welcome during my last trip down to the Seattle, you need to work on your approach to customers. Maybe the infamous "Seattle Freeze" permeates through the walls of the Olympic into the elegant lobby?

Fortunately, the chilly front desk is always countered by the excellent, superb housekeeping staff here. Consistently, during multiple visits they ensure the rooms are cleaned to the highest standards and their turn down service is excellent. The maid came around with complimentary water, drew the drapes and asked if she could do anything to make my stay better. The cleaning staff is also very warm and friendly. They seem mainly to be Hispanic and Asian-American immigrants and always are very friendly and efficient. This Fairmont gets top marks for housekeeping compared even to other Fairmonts which are usually pretty good. Great work!

The room service waiters are also extremely polite, warm and efficient as well. The food quality was excellent.

Lunch at Shuckers was also very good and consistently so. The Georgian Room is a lovely dining room although the breakfast was good but not amazing.

The rooms are usually quite spacious but vary considerably in terms of lay out and style. It would be nice for a better explanation in terms of the room layout at booking or at check-in. Even within room categories, it seems the lay outs vary quite considerably and the photos on the website reservation area don't show all of the lay outs. The elegant lobby is grand and the bar there has very good drinks. The fitness room is great.

The bill was problematic. The 20% special discount for my package was not applied to room service but this wasn't explained at check-in. When I pointed that out to the front desk clerk upon check out, I was told that the discount doesn't apply to room service but this exception was never explained and the Georgian Room was shut down the evening so I ordered the room service. Again, no effort was made to inquire about that or apologize when I brought that up. Instead, the clerk went on the defensive.

Later that day after I returned home, I brought this problem up with the front desk manager by phone and he politely reversed the charge and apologized.

All in all, excellent except for the "vibe" of the front desk. I should also say that if the manager hadn't dealt with the bill issue correctly, the "five star" rating would have been lost.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guest1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontOlympic, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to say that your experience with the front desk was less than satisfactory. May I ask that you contact me offline to ensure that we have your Fairmont President's Club profile up to date to ensure our information is up to date and accurate. My email is kristin.gladfelter@fairmont.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great Hotel! I travel a lot and it takes a bit to impress me. The hotel could do with a few upgrades in decor however everything was super clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is very centrally located to all tourist attractions, restaurants and shopping. I hired a car while visiting and it's really easy to access the freeway from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Seattle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ_Traveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Everything was perfect. Very good service, everyone was more than helpful. We had a large, beautiful room. The breakfast was the best we ever had, everything was fresh and of best quality. The training room and swimmingpool had everything we needed and were very luxerious. I know were to stay the next time I go back to Seattle. The hotel is situated in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larseninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great hotel. My husband and I arrived a few days before his scheduled conference. The staff was very accomodating by allowing us to stay in the same room the entire time. The room are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Located just a short walk from Pikes Market Place, and very close to excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KYWnVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We got a great rate by enrolling for free in the Fairmont President's Club. Our room was nicely appointed and quiet, with a super comfy queen bed attached to a cozy living room, separated by French doors. The living area and bedroom both had large flat-screen TVs. We loved the free slippers to go with the robes, the phone in the large mostly marble bathroom, and the complimentary extras we requested: CD/radio, ice bucket, and personal pillow choices, all waiting in our room upon arrival. A lovely surprise was the complimentary FRESH STRAWBERRIES DIPPED IN CHOCOLATE from the manager for our anniversary!

We took advantage of the free shoe polishing service, enjoyed the great little pool, and were impressed by the quality of the serving pieces, such as the heavy silver teapot, flatware & salt shakers. The holiday decorations were beyond fabulous. The room service was prompt and delicious. The overall attention to detail was superb. We hope to make this an annual tradition. Next month, we'll try the spa and restaurants in the hotel, and go to the famous 5th Ave Theater just around the corner.

If you're looking for a great view, this is not the place, but for traditional excellence, you'll be very satisfied. One caveat: there were no subtitles available on the paid in-room movies for those who are hearing-impaired.

Room Tip: Enroll in the President's Club to get emails with great rates specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solo-Sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#6 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#5 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,617 reviews
Hotel 1000
#11 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#14 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing