We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here on honeymoon. What a beautiful hotel. Executive suite is very nicely furnished. Bed v. comfy. 2 big tvs in suite with coffee maker and lovely robes. Had a gorgeous lunch in the Georgian restaurant and great cocktails in the bar in the evening. We also enjoyed a super meal in shuckers - food is great here. Breakfast may be quite pricey but the food is super and extremely well presented. Spa is very nice too as is the fitness area. This really is a grand hotel and staff are very friendly and professional. I would stay here again in a flash and has made me want to check out more fairmont hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovestravel172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,026)
There are newer reviews for The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,277 - 2,283 of 3,026 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for two nights just to look around Seattle and check out the local attractions. Great old hotel which was in perfect condition, large rooms, excellent breakfast. Use the valet parking it has quick service and parking is a problem in the area. We were within walking distance to most everything, however the space needle is quite a hike.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night, wish it could have been longer! Service was excellent, room was spacious and clean. Really liked the fitness center and pool (which could have been a little deeper, but still able to swim laps-looked great for small children to play in). Only had breakfast in the hotel and had the buffet, which was tasty and well thought out (especially liked the fruit and berry selections like papaya and blackberries among the selections). Location is just about perfect, about 5 minutes walk to public market, just be careful after dark if you are walking as there are significantly more panhandlers around than during the day. Hotel did offer car service for downtown area, which we did not use as we were exploring the area, but would recommend using that service if you are going out later in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefeetdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here and the hotel is truly stunning. We stayed at the Waldorf in NY a couple years ago and this is 'almost' as good (but much cheaper). The staff always make you feel welcome (as all Fairmonts do). The cafes and bars are excellent and make you feel at home (even with if you have kids). Concierge really helped us plan our days out and trips around the city. Good pool and gym facilities available. Nice shop in lobby. Our suite was stunning, clean and well maintained.

Good attractions and shopping within walking distance. Kids will love the Aquarium. Have a walk over to the open market (famous fish sellers). The duct boat tours are great fun.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a symposium and enjoyed it very much. It is well-known for its name but the service and atmosphere were a bit disappointing. The lobby was lifeless as there was no music or welcoming beverage in the lobby. The room was excellent, however, clean, spacious and sound-proof. The only problem was the internet connection. It was on and off all the time. I had to call the help desk three times. It got better when I was on the phone with the technician, but the problem got back the following day. I didn't have this problem at any other hotel, be it 3 or 4 star. It wasted a lot of my time (who wants to deal with a technical problem at the end of a long day!) and really didn't meet the service of a five-star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sansan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here and enjoyed two wonderful nights in a suite on the tenth floor. We are not used to city noise and that was the only negative comment. Our rooms were beautiful[sitting room and bedroom]. We took advantage of the stay and play which included valet parking and two breakfasts in The Georgian restaurant. What a great deal ! If it were possible to get a "quiet " room, we would go back and celebrate another special event. The staff pamper their guests and The Georgian restaurant was romantic. What a special place to celebrate our anniversary!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. If you are tall,ask if there is a room with a high sink and toilet. We felt li...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandersalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

first stayed here in 1960's when it was our football team's hotel. i remember the trip to husky stadium from the hotel...the drive, the view was a memorable as playing in husky stadium.

flash forward to today. hotel has the architecture of a time that will never be replaced mixed with the technology of today. however, most important were the people... from the valet parking, front desk to the daily room-cleaners....all excellent.

we went with our two dogs but had to entertain our three children(with their two dogs-not all at the same time), and two grand children. it was done with no hassle. dog walking easily accomplished by a two block walk to a park.

epicurean bakery has cafe vita coffee with real french pastries, etc. huskers was comfortable, allowed two grand kids without any problems....food and drinks were offered by a friendly wait staff.........no hassles.

all in all, a good return visit to a hotel that has kept up with the time but still reminds one of the "way it used to be". hotel staff makes our return a certainty.

Room Tip: one bedroom suite was extra but worth it when our family met in the room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12BADGER12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 102 in Seattle
3,133 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 102 in Seattle
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $265 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing