We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience - great location and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Wow, right from our arrival at the Fairmont it wa top notch. The location is great for down town Seattle. The valet parking was great and these guys are first class. The rooms are spacious and very clean and comfortable. All the bedding and toiletries are good. This is a place where every attention has been paid to detail. All the staff act like they own a piece of the hotel, they were friendly and helpful. The gym was very good with good equipment. There was a nice pool, hot tub and sauna and the change rooms had were stocked with everything you'd need. Nice touch in the gym with all the towels and bottled water. The breakfast was superb. The buffet had lots of fresh fruit, blackberries, blueberries, mango, raspberries, papaya and cereals, yogurts and hot breakfast. The ambience and elegance of this hotel is worth experiencing. I can't say enough about the staff who are exceptionally well trained and attentive. Very serene, classy and elegant without being stuffy. Congrats fairmont Seattle! I'd defintely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay to visit Seattle, or have a great getaway. Shuckers restaurant was also good. Well prepared food and good ambience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHarris_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,496 - 2,502 of 3,075 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

I am a frequent business traveler and stayed at the Fairmont Olympic 2 nights Feb 29 and Mar 1. The rooms were very big with a superbly comfortable bed. My view wasn't great, but I wasn't there for that (view of buildings across the way, no water from my room at least). The work desk was okay - not huge, but decent with one plug nearby. The room had an armchair with a little table as well, a minibar, coffee and such, a big closet with hooks and a small safe (in which I couldn't fit my big laptop). The bathroom was a big size with a separate room/door for shower and toilet. The toiletries were nice and there was a bathrobe, and a nice extra of two sets of slippers - that's very rare.

Room service was quick and good - I had a turkey club with fries and all was hot/cold where supposed to be; it came delivered on a rolling table instead of a tray, which I always think is a nice touch.

Everyone was extremely helpful - fast check-in, email my check-out folio, called a cab quickly, directed me on the walk to my business meeting, etc. Capitol Grille is right across the street for finer dining, and there seemed to be some places nearby for quicker and less expensive meals.

All in all, I thought it was a great hotel and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oahulady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

we stayed and enjoyed, service was above and beyond. if you are a novice traveler, it's nice to have know that that some places are just outstanding, when we travel back to seattle, it's the only place we will stay

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed to be very quiet great for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

All was perfect for our overnight musical get-away! The hotel is so lovely! The dessert in the restaurant was over the top! The thermostat/heat made sleep tough for me but all else was PERFECT!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor. Elevators are speedy & many!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crisjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary here this weekend. The hotel propertyis beautiful & grand and on the National Historic Registry. It's also very centrally located in Seattle, where you can walk to many of the attactions and shopping. The price was very fair and comparable to the Sheraton (where we usually stay). The service was top notch. There is even a hotel car to take you where you need to go. On the downside, there is no view, because all the buildings around it are much taller and block and view that there maybe was when it was built. The rooms and suites are small, the windows are very old and leaky, the paint was even peeling off on our window sills. There was no coffee maker in our room, or mirowave, so we had to order up coffee service, which was over $22!!!! The flat screen tv's in the rooms were fine, but they only basic cable, and the pictures was snowy. Also, there is no wireless internet, at least in the rooms. It's the old plug in cable type. I used the signal from Starbucks across the street. The brunch buffet in the main restaurant, The Georgian Room, was very expensive ($25.00) for the limited selection they offerred. We expected perhaps a carving station, omeletes, some seafood choices, etc. There was none of that. Just eggs, sausage, potatoes, fruits and pastries and assorted cereals.
All and all, It is an elegant hotel with top of the line everything, and we would definitely stay there again. But seriously, get those windows replaced!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marguerite M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisClark, General Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Marguerite M, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your observations. We are constantly evaluating our guest priorities as we invest in our product and service. Your input is very valuable. In fact, on your next visit you will find coffee makers in all our rooms as part of our guest room plan. Also I'd like you to know that if you choose to sign up as a Presidents Club member, you are entitled to some very nice benefits including free wireless connection in your guest room. We hope to see you again. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

It was my moms 60th Birthday and I flew her out from Brazil to Vancouver, and took a trip to Seattle. We decided to stay at the Fairmont as they have great service ( I stayed in other Fairmont Hotels and it was amazing)

The service starting from the Vallet to the front desk and room service is just amazing. You feel like home and I didn't want to leave the place.. They called me by my name and that is HUGE for me ; ) The concierge was so pleased and happy to help. Thanks to William and Mario you guys made a HUGE difference on my trip...

I can't thank you enough!

Room Tip: Follow William's advice and go to Metropolitan Grill for an amazing steak.. then Cafe Camganha f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DennisClark, General Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Eduardo. Thank you very much for the kind words. Our goal is to provide our guest with fond and memorable experiences; especially on special occasions. We are please that you enjoyed yourself and will pass your comments on to our staff. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My cousin and stayed here to celebrate our 50th Birthdays and the hotel service was above and beyond my expectations (and I stay in Fairmonts frequently)!. The front desk staff were incredible in helping us select the perfect executive suite and even sent us a tray of chocolate dipped strawberries to mark the occasion! We enjoyed riding in the chauffeur driven Jaguar and the professional chauffeurs and doormen who consistently made us feel like royalty. We went swimming and enjoyed a pool long enough to swim lengths as well as a fantastic hot tub. The locker rooms were very nicely appointed and clean. Our room was very pretty with a pretty light green colour scheme and crystal lamps. Joining the President's Club provides you with many benefits including complementary internet and the loan of work out runners and clothes. Lovely stay - we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,169 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 103 in Seattle
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $235 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing