We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome introduction to Seattle”

Seattle Free Walking Tours
Ranked #3 of 147 Tours in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Seattle's only "Pay what you feel" tours! The Market Experience (1.25 hours, register online) Our whirlwind tour of Pike Place Market including samples and vender interaction. Seattle 101(2 hours, register online) Our world renowned city tour sharing all of our favorite ways to engage the Emerald City. You can do both tours the same day! Both tours meet at Victor Steinbrueck Park (2001 Western Ave) in between the 2 totem poles. Look for the guide with an SFWT flag. All tours run rain or shine, dress to impress Mother Nature. Contact us directly to book private group tours for your business, school, convention, or family gathering.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome introduction to Seattle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We did the Market Experience tour with Molly and had a great time. So much history to the area and Seattle that we had no idea about. I would definitely recommend this tour to others. You get free samples too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessicax0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    51
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Jake's the man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We did 2 the Pike Market and the 101 tours. (beware of copycats) Jake's humour and information was brilliant and the free food tasters were great. Excellent. Check him out, it's free you donate what you feel, can't say fairer than that.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank worksopgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best way to learn about the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It is free however you pay what you feel, and with the amount of freebies you get along the market place, the large amount of history you're taught about the city, it is well worth any money spent! Jake the tour guide is very passionate about his job and his city which is quite infectious and you too will fall in love with Seattle! He also gives you fantastic tips on places to eat or drink for a budget - which suited me very well!
It was also an excellent way to meet other travellers :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
237 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Informative and interesting tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

On our first visit to Seattle, my husband and I had arranged to do three tours in one day, to learn as much as we could in a short space of time. We're not big on shopping and only took the first tour, the Market Experience, because of its timing, commencing at 9.30am. It was great fun, we learnt a lot about Pike Place Market, its history and organisation as well as meeting lots of interesting stall holders and sampling their produce. And although we're not big on shopping, we returned to make a good number of purchases, enjoying the discounts Jake our tour guide had negotiated. The second tour covered downtown and general history as well as advice for getting the best value from our visit. The afternoon tour was of Seattle Centre. Just over 24 hours later and we have already benefitted greatly from the information and advice, such as enjoying a coffee on the 40th floor of the Columbia building to enjoy the view, first Thursday of the month for free admissions etc. More importantly, the tours themselves were entertaining and enjoyable, quite an achievement given that it rained steadily all morning. We are a British couple who have taken walking tours in most major US cities and this ranks with the best of them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, ny
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Way to See Seattle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Jake runs a great walking tour -it's amazing how much you can learn in 2 hrs. I took the Seattle 101 tour and enjoined it very much. Altho Seattle can be quite hilly, Jake has his tour set up to minimize walking uphill(I am a senior citizen). Jake gives you an excellent introduction to the highlights of downtown Seattle, and indicates cost-effective ways to enjoy Seattle attractions. Definitely recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seattle Free Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Seattle Free Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing