We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Noisy Air Conditioning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seattle Marriott Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel But Noisy Air Conditioning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2005

We stayed at this hotel over July 4th. Check-in was fast and pleasant. I had wanted a room with a direct waterfront view but the only one they had available had only 1 bed (there were 3 of us) and connected to another room (not a good idea I've found). We reserved a Concierge Level room and it was very nice. Almost all the rooms in the hotel have a partial water view. Our only complaint with the room was the noisy air conditioning. As it was warm in Seattle over the weekend, the air conditioning went on and off all night. There was a vibration and it kept us awake almost all night. In the end I don't think we would have wanted one of the direct waterfront rooms. There is an old streetcar which runs right in front of the hotel (like 10 feet from these rooms) and it rings its bell or blows its horn as it passes the hotel. It runs until very late at night.

The Concierge Lounge was nicely stocked and the evening appetizers included hot and cold dishes. They also had a hot buffet in the Concierge Lounge in the morning, consisting of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage as well as all the other stand buffet items.

I am surprised by the earlier posting by some folks who also stayed there over the 4th of July. I know the General Manager was on duty as he came into the Concierge Lounge to greet everyone. "Oliver" may have thought he was "IT", but he wasn't. There was a fellow at the front desk who seemed to have an attitude, but I don't know if his name was Oliver.

Other than the vibrating noise (which we reported on checkout), we had an enjoyable stay and would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JIMCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    600
    212
    100
    35
See reviews for
361
553
60
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NM, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2005

We loved our stay at the Marriott Waterfront. When we booked our room we choose to upgrade to the conciergers level which included a view of Elliotts Bay. I believe it was a $25 upgade. After we checked in our kids were diappointed our room didn't have a balcony. One call down to the lobby and we were easily moved to a different room with a balcony. The upgrade also included the conciergers lounge which was awesome. The four of us enjoyed a generous breakfast, which was more like a full breakfast, not continental which it had been listed. We had access throughout the day to a frig. stocked with water, milk and sodas. Starbucks coffee was also always avaliable. In the evening nice appetizers were put out and drinks could be purchased for a reasonable rate and to top it off fresh baked cookies were always out around 8:00. Our teenage boys were in heaven. The concierge was always in the lounge to help with any questions we might have and make necessary arrangements. Margo is who we worked with the most and we couldn't say enough good things about her. I'm sure our upgrade had a lot to do with our experience but the benefits far out weighed the cost. Breakfast alone would have cost at least $25 for a family of four. We also took advantage of the business center, which is avaliable to anyone.
The hotel in general was very clean, nicely decorated and the location is great. Everyone we dealt with was extremely pleasant. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank danzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2005

Not much to write home about.. except for the views.. Its traditional Marriott: Bland and boring.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2005

We just returned from a 2-night stay at the Marriott Waterfront and likely will not return. We have stayed before and enjoyed the comfortable rooms and views, but this time we requested a room next to the pool to enjoy over the 4th of July holiday. As soon as we arrived and settled in, we went out to get in the pool and were shocked to see at least 3 young babies in the rather small pool, with diapers! We immediately called down to the front desk to ask their policy on this, and were told that someone would be up to our room to see us.

Oliver, Front Desk Manager, arrived at our room saying they have no pool rules and that he saw nothing wrong with diapers in the pool. He was quite disagreeable and also said that whatever comes out of diapers is taken care of by chlorine, and that their paying guests were very important to them. We reminded him that we were also paying guests, to which he had no response. We asked to be able to speak to someone else, and he said he was IT. That was pretty much the end of the discussion.

Needless to say, we had no desire to swim from then on and found the attitude disturbing, especially considering the potential health risks.

We specifically chose to stay at this hotel for the holiday weekend for some sun, swimming and relaxing and left this hotel feeling no one even cared to hear our concerns or disappointment in not being able to use the pool. We are definitely not likely to return.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TudsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2005

In the lobby, this hotel may seem pretty elegant. Actually it isn't! My family and I had asked for a suite with two twins in one room and a king in the other. What we got was two kings. The mistake they made resulted with my young child sleeping with my wife, my teenager sleeping on the king and me sleeping on a pullout. It was extremely uncomfortable. Then when we had breakfast I found hair in my eggs. It was very unhygenic! I was discusted. From then on we ate out. I recommend this hotel if you're only staying for a couple days.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2005

I really enjoyed my stay at the Seattle Waterfront Marriott. The location is great, right along the water and very close to the market. I enjoyed taking walks/runs along the waterfront. The hotel itself is very pleasent and is nicely decorated. An added bonus is that the hotel has a business center where you can use their computers with unlimited completely free access to the internet. What a nice amenity to have when traveling! I had a great experience and would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#19 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#46 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seattle Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seattle Marriott Waterfront

Property: Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Address: 2100 Alaskan Way, Seattle, WA 98121-3139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#36 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seattle Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seattle Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waterfront Seattle Hotel Seattle
Marriott Seattle
Seattle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing