We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special for the $$$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Ranked #48 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We just returned home from our Seattle vacation and our last night was spent at the Marriott, based largely in part because of other members' recommendations. While the hotel itself was okay, we expected more, especially since we'd just stayed in another really lovely hotel in Seattle earlier in the week for less money. I tend to be pretty particular about hotels, but can forgive certain things if the place is clean. We noticed that the towels had a funky odor to them, which was kind of nasty, and that the bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have hoped for. Also, when we made the reservations, we were informed that our breakfast would be included in the price of the room, which was a nice bonus. However, upon checking in and being told that we'd been given a room on the concierge level, we learned that whatever amenities came with the concierge level didn't extend into past Thursday...and we happened to be staying over on a Friday. Kind of a bummer. Also, the hotel info book in our room listed the hours that breakfast is served, and from that, we learned that our free continental breakfast wasn't offered on the weekend. My husband happened to wander down to the concierge lounge this morning, just to see what was happening, and lo and behold - we'd just missed the breakfast that wasn't supposed to be happening. Oh, well. On the plus side, we were very close to Pike Market - just a short walk from the elevator and then another couple of blocks to the market itself. The bellhops were attentive and offered us water every time we left the building and we were able to secure a taxi back to the airport in a matter of seconds. It was a decent hotel, but for nearly $400 for one night, I would have expected much more.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexthreekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,574 - 1,580 of 1,782 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2008

We loved this hotel. The location was ideal - walking to Pike Place Mkt, Aquarium, downtown. The lobby is beautiful, water-themed. The beds extremely comfortable. Showers are strong. Bellmen are super attentive. I commented to my daughter going into the hotel that we needed to get some water and a bellman came over and handed us two bottles of water. The concierges are extremely helpful. One emailed us before the trip and called with information. On site, another helped us plan kayaking on Lake Union. The designers of this hotel planned well -- little touches like quaint rugs in the elevators, candles on the front desk at night, generally lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Stayed here for two nights with our 4 and 6 year old kids. They had no problem going "up the hill" to Pike Place Market. There were some great restaurants nearby, and it was very convenient to the cruise ship terminal. We carried our luggage across the street.

Really no big problems at all - kids loved the pool, lobby was nice, breakfast was expensive for a buffet, so we walked to Pike Place.

Concierge was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wilross3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

I stay here often, as in every month or so. I am either with children and a nanny in a suite which is ultimately luxe or I stay in a single room because I am adjacent to night life but without the noise. BAR staff is top of the line. Brown haired barmaid is always at your service and food is great no matter what the hour.
Keep in mind I love this place with 2 boys under the age of 6, or with my husband, or sans any accompaniment at all.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lovinlife421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

After researching and reading reviews for this property, for the most part, I felt accounts were accurate. On the other hand, for those seeking a realistic account of this property, please read on.
1. Good location if: You are departing/arriving for an Alaskan cruise, interested in exploring Belltown, love being in a "wharf" type atmosphere.
2. Previous accounts and hotel website act as if Pike Place Market is merely an elevator lift away.....not exactly. You have a bit of a walk (uphill) so keep it mind if you have a elderly guest or child in your party. (We did not, but as a mother of two small ones, I could imagine the hike would have been an issue.)
3. We were guests of an upgraded room with a balcony (#674) We did indeed have a more spacious balcony than others, but with that "perk" came a consistant group of drunken, foul mouthed local (perhaps homeless) individuals peering directly into our room from the elevator leading to Pike Place. So, with the audience, we didn't spend much time on the balcony.
4. On a good note: Friendly staff as you would always expect at our beloved Marriott.
5. My local favorites: Metropolitan Grill if you are looking for a special night. Just know going in $$$$$
Belltown Pizza has a jerk of a bartender (possibly owner) but sweet waitress & amazing pizza (very close to Marriott)
88 Keys is a dueling piano bar in Pioneer Square (easy walk if your tipsy) and tons of fun.
Salish Lodge is great for a massage!!!!!
Red Hook & Chatuea St Michelle in Woodenville make for an easy daytrip....beautiful drive.
Have fun in this wonderful city :)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsClanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

The Marriott was beautiful from the moment you stepped in the lobby. The front desk staff was extremely kind and helpful. However, the concierge desk was empty 5 out of six times that I walked by over two days. Finally there was someone there but her phone was rining off the wall and she wasn't very helpful due to how busy she was.

The room was spacious and clean. We had a balcony. It was small but it was very nice to be able to open the door and get some fresh air!

We had drinks in the lobby bar both nights. They were delicious and priced reasonably. They are only open for a few hours in the early evening though. We did order room service one morning. The food was delivered right on time and it was nice and hot!

The Hotel is in a great location for shopping and sight seeing. To get to Pike's Market and to the shopping district you do have to walk up a steep hill, but the hotel does have a street elevator that takes you up part of it.

This is a great place to stay before or after a cruise since it is directly across from the cruise port! I would definitely stay here again if the rate was a bit lower. We paid $250.00 per night and I felt that was a bit high for the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taralynn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

My family and I stayed at this Marriot for two days before a Holland America cruise (which was beyond fantastic by the way!). The hotel was well-appointed, clean, helpful, had great amenities and had a perfect location. It is a five minute walk from the Pike Place market, a short walk from the aquarium, and a few minutes from many great restaurants. As to the room, the beds were wonderfully comfortable and the bathrooms were perfectly adequate.
On a side note, I would suggest a stay here especially if you are heading out on a cruise. the piers are right outside the hotel for Celebrity and Norwegian cruise lines and a five minute cab ride for Holland America and Royal Caribbean.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Smitty7532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#44 of 104 in Seattle
2,745 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#15 of 104 in Seattle
1,609 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seattle Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seattle Marriott Waterfront

Address: 2100 Alaskan Way, Seattle, WA 98121-3139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#29 Family Hotel in Seattle
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#36 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $193 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seattle Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in waterfront views and easy access to Seattle's top destinations while staying at Seattle Marriott Waterfront. Our hotel in downtown, Seattle Washington offers luxurious accommodations near Pike Place Market, Westlake Center shopping and the iconic Space Needle. Pier 91 is just 2 miles away and Seattle-Tacoma International Airport is a short 25-minute drive from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Seattle Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waterfront Seattle Hotel Seattle
Marriott Seattle
Seattle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing