We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but beware if you have a beard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Ranked #47 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Okay but beware if you have a beard!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Selected this hotel due to its location and the fact that we are Marriott Gold members so we try to use Marriott properties when possible. The location is great,but that is all I can say was great....

Parking in any city center is expensive, you can easily park on the street from Saturday night until 8 am Monday as parking on Sunday is free. There are also garages located nearby,

My sweetheart got up early Monday to move the car into a garage but when he returned to come back to our room, he was harassed and literally CHASED to the elevator by two front desk clerks who demanded to see his room key and threatened to call the police! They were not doing this to anyone else in the hotel lobby.. Our conclusion is that he was unfairly profiled due to the fact that he has a beard, long hair and was in pajama bottoms. They even called up to the room, waking me up, to verify that he was indeed a guest in this room, even after he showed his room card. It was ridiculous - we had already been staying there multiple nights and been through the lobby multiple times! We asked for an apology and were given one begrudgingly. If they are going to have a policy to monitor people who come through the lobby, then they need to monitor everyone or only allow elevator access with a room key -- it is NOT okay to single people out because you do not like the way they look!

Other than that, the room was your usual king-sized room, there was a mini-fridge which was nice as Marriotts usually do not offer that. We were in the middle of the building with a tiny balcony and a view of Elliott Bay.

The internet was not very reliable. There is a charge for 24-hours of access unless you are a Gold level member or above.

The concierge lounge is on the 8th floor and not open Saturday or Sunday. We ate breakfast there on Monday morning and the offerings were average scrambled eggs, bacon, oatmeal , yogurt, some fruit and some pastries/bagels/bread and juice. Instead of a regular coffee maker, they had one with a selection of cappucino, mochas, hot cocoa, etc as well as coffee, kind of like they have at gas stations. It was slow and noisy. The view from the lounge was nice though.

If you get a reasonable rate and especially if you dop not have a car to park, it is not a bad place but based on our treatment we will not return nor would we recommend it.

We did not use the pool but it was an interesting indoor/outdoor concept. No spa though.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the side, not in the center for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amusingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    636
    222
    105
    39
See reviews for
390
575
61
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a waterfront, water view king room. We had a very nice view of the harbor. All staff were pleasant and friendly. Room was nicely decorated and bed was very comfortable.
The location is perfect, right on the waterfront. The elevator/steps to the Public Market are adjacent to the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bfh195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

None of the problems we had were, by themselves, terrible--but everything seemed to be a problem. We were staying there because it was the hotel selected by the bride and groom. We called from just a few blocks away because we were having trouble figuring out how to get to the hotel; the clerk gave us incorrect directions, which were impossible to follow.

When we pulled up, the valet parker told us that the "off-site" parking next door didn't have in & out privileges (that was incorrect) and it would cost us more than the $36 valet parking. So, we reluctantly agreed to the $36. As we checked in, we mentioned this, and were told that the valet parking was $38, and they wouldn't honor the price their employee had given us.

The room was nice enough, but nothing special--but if everything else went well, that would have been fine.

We only had one bath towel (there were two of us), and when we called down to request another, the employee argued with us about how many towels were in the room. The additional towel wasn't delivered, so we requested it again as we were leaving for dinner.

We wanted additional coffee for the coffee maker, asked at the desk for more regular, but were given decaf, which we didn't notice until we got back to the room. Our fault for not checking.

Our Internet access died.

The sink in the bathroom didn't drain properly.

We called down 15 minutes in advance to get our car, which wasn't there when we wanted it to get to the wedding. The supervisor of the parkers was rude, saying that the instructions told us to give 10-15 minutes notice--and he wasn't very nice when we told him that we had called down 20 minutes ago.

We asked for a suggestion of someplace close to have breakfast; the clerk gave us the name of a restaurant he said was 3 blocks away. It was almost triple that, which would have been fine with the fit ones among us, but the clerk could see that one of us was in a wheelchair--and it made her very uncomfortable to have to be pushed that long a distance.

Our bill was wrong, and the desk clerk seemed put out that we wanted a copy of the corrected bill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andee110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visited Seattle for the weekend while in the area. The location is great. Just a few blocks from Pikes Place and right on the waterfront. First disappointment was was the parking. They only offer valet parking for $38. I asked the front desk if there were any self-park locations nearby, but they weren't exactly sure where. There is $10 parking in the parking garage right next to the hotel in the convention center but you need to move by 7am. Next closest I found that offered overnight parking was the Marketplace Parking garage. There was a elevator right next to the hotel and the garage was right there ($21 daily). The rooms were on par with all the other hotels I've stayed at, clean and average sized. Don't get excited by the "balcony." It is literally a small walkout for one person to stand. Another disappointment was the lack of free WI-FI beyond the lobby. We live in a digital age where offering free WI-FI is now the par. They did however have complimentary hot cider in the lobby. So overall, average room conveniently located, but no frills.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a great location near Pikes Place and waterfront attractions. Rooms are well appointed and the common areas are very nice as well. The main issue I had with the hotel was that there was no free wireless internet in the rooms. For $250 a night, I don't expect to have to pay extra to check my email in my room. Parking is also problematic. You can pay $40+ a day to valet, $20 a day to park in the attached underground lot but you pay in advance without in/out privileges, or pay as you go park in the nearby Pier 66 lot (max $21 a day). If you park in the Pier 66 lot, make sure you park on the fifth level so you don't have to schlep luggage up stairs to the skywalk. Other than these annoyances, the Marriott is a nice place to stay.

If you like BBQ, the Frontier Inn on Second is a short walk with very good food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Overall, the location was great downtown. Easy access to the waterfront and pikes market. You have to pay for valet parking, almost $30 a night. Also, the front desk person was not very friendly. When we were there they were repainting the gym. They offered to bill us extra if we wanted to go to a gym up the street... The heater in the room also makes lots of noise. So all in all I wouldn't, stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've stayed at the three premier Marriott properties (Renaissance downtown, and the Marriott by Sea-Tac) in Seattle and this one is the one I'll probably stay at on my next trip.

Put simply - can't beat the location. While the Renaissance is also centrally located, it's in the "mountainous" part of town and just to even walk two blocks is a hike. At the Waterfront, to get to Pike's there is actually an elevator for a parking lot and then it's an easy couple level blocks. Easy walk to the Great Wheel ride and all the restaurants on the water. Very easy to travel south along 99; we had business at the Boeing Field and it took a total of 15min max, 25min to Sea-Tac.

Most of the rooms have at least partial water views.

Parking is tricky - $50 a day to valet or you can walk over to one of the garages which aren't too far which are $25 a day.

As a Platinum member, the concierge lounge isn't too big but they've got a weekly app menu on the chalk board which is really nice when you're trying to decide to have a light dinner there or not. Heads up, the In-Room dining menu was extremely abbreviated (one of the shortest I've seen). There is a full Starbucks right next door, which was great to grab before work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank CostalCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#46 of 101 in Seattle
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#22 of 101 in Seattle
450 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,022 reviews
Thompson Seattle
#19 of 101 in Seattle
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seattle Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seattle Marriott Waterfront

Property: Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Address: 2100 Alaskan Way, Seattle, WA 98121-3139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#36 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seattle Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Seattle Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waterfront Seattle Hotel Seattle
Marriott Seattle
Seattle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing