We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One problem after another”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“One problem after another”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

None of the problems we had were, by themselves, terrible--but everything seemed to be a problem. We were staying there because it was the hotel selected by the bride and groom. We called from just a few blocks away because we were having trouble figuring out how to get to the hotel; the clerk gave us incorrect directions, which were impossible to follow.

When we pulled up, the valet parker told us that the "off-site" parking next door didn't have in & out privileges (that was incorrect) and it would cost us more than the $36 valet parking. So, we reluctantly agreed to the $36. As we checked in, we mentioned this, and were told that the valet parking was $38, and they wouldn't honor the price their employee had given us.

The room was nice enough, but nothing special--but if everything else went well, that would have been fine.

We only had one bath towel (there were two of us), and when we called down to request another, the employee argued with us about how many towels were in the room. The additional towel wasn't delivered, so we requested it again as we were leaving for dinner.

We wanted additional coffee for the coffee maker, asked at the desk for more regular, but were given decaf, which we didn't notice until we got back to the room. Our fault for not checking.

Our Internet access died.

The sink in the bathroom didn't drain properly.

We called down 15 minutes in advance to get our car, which wasn't there when we wanted it to get to the wedding. The supervisor of the parkers was rude, saying that the instructions told us to give 10-15 minutes notice--and he wasn't very nice when we told him that we had called down 20 minutes ago.

We asked for a suggestion of someplace close to have breakfast; the clerk gave us the name of a restaurant he said was 3 blocks away. It was almost triple that, which would have been fine with the fit ones among us, but the clerk could see that one of us was in a wheelchair--and it made her very uncomfortable to have to be pushed that long a distance.

Our bill was wrong, and the desk clerk seemed put out that we wanted a copy of the corrected bill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andee110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    610
    213
    101
    36
See reviews for
364
559
60
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visited Seattle for the weekend while in the area. The location is great. Just a few blocks from Pikes Place and right on the waterfront. First disappointment was was the parking. They only offer valet parking for $38. I asked the front desk if there were any self-park locations nearby, but they weren't exactly sure where. There is $10 parking in the parking garage right next to the hotel in the convention center but you need to move by 7am. Next closest I found that offered overnight parking was the Marketplace Parking garage. There was a elevator right next to the hotel and the garage was right there ($21 daily). The rooms were on par with all the other hotels I've stayed at, clean and average sized. Don't get excited by the "balcony." It is literally a small walkout for one person to stand. Another disappointment was the lack of free WI-FI beyond the lobby. We live in a digital age where offering free WI-FI is now the par. They did however have complimentary hot cider in the lobby. So overall, average room conveniently located, but no frills.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a great location near Pikes Place and waterfront attractions. Rooms are well appointed and the common areas are very nice as well. The main issue I had with the hotel was that there was no free wireless internet in the rooms. For $250 a night, I don't expect to have to pay extra to check my email in my room. Parking is also problematic. You can pay $40+ a day to valet, $20 a day to park in the attached underground lot but you pay in advance without in/out privileges, or pay as you go park in the nearby Pier 66 lot (max $21 a day). If you park in the Pier 66 lot, make sure you park on the fifth level so you don't have to schlep luggage up stairs to the skywalk. Other than these annoyances, the Marriott is a nice place to stay.

If you like BBQ, the Frontier Inn on Second is a short walk with very good food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Overall, the location was great downtown. Easy access to the waterfront and pikes market. You have to pay for valet parking, almost $30 a night. Also, the front desk person was not very friendly. When we were there they were repainting the gym. They offered to bill us extra if we wanted to go to a gym up the street... The heater in the room also makes lots of noise. So all in all I wouldn't, stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've stayed at the three premier Marriott properties (Renaissance downtown, and the Marriott by Sea-Tac) in Seattle and this one is the one I'll probably stay at on my next trip.

Put simply - can't beat the location. While the Renaissance is also centrally located, it's in the "mountainous" part of town and just to even walk two blocks is a hike. At the Waterfront, to get to Pike's there is actually an elevator for a parking lot and then it's an easy couple level blocks. Easy walk to the Great Wheel ride and all the restaurants on the water. Very easy to travel south along 99; we had business at the Boeing Field and it took a total of 15min max, 25min to Sea-Tac.

Most of the rooms have at least partial water views.

Parking is tricky - $50 a day to valet or you can walk over to one of the garages which aren't too far which are $25 a day.

As a Platinum member, the concierge lounge isn't too big but they've got a weekly app menu on the chalk board which is really nice when you're trying to decide to have a light dinner there or not. Heads up, the In-Room dining menu was extremely abbreviated (one of the shortest I've seen). There is a full Starbucks right next door, which was great to grab before work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank CostalCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location with very nice views. This hotel is in walking distance to everything. This Marriott has the best concierge lounge i have been to yet! My only complaint is the mattresses were a little hard for me, but otherwise the stay was perfect! Customer service was also excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsnobCRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a great trip here, I was persuaded to stay here after reading some of the reviews. Been meaning to write one again for a while now as a 'giving back,' lol. Close to the Market and the water, which was great. The ocean views!!!!! And the Market is so fun! So close to the art museum as well. We were here for 3 nights, and the hotel itself was great! Clean rooms and good service, which is all I really care about, and has been my experience with the two other Marriotts I have stayed at.
Overall just really good, and I'm grateful I checked out the reviews beforehand.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view, lol! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#46 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Thompson Seattle
#17 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seattle Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seattle Marriott Waterfront

Property: Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Address: 2100 Alaskan Way, Seattle, WA 98121-3139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#36 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seattle Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seattle Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waterfront Seattle Hotel Seattle
Marriott Seattle
Seattle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing