We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool to visit”

Elliott Bay Book Company
Ranked #10 of 187 Shopping in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This book store is popular among caffeine-addicted Seattleites for its in-store coffee shop.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cool to visit”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Cool to visit if you're in the neighborhood, not a must see. My wife loved it, in the end it's still just a bookstore - though this place was very busy despite the amazon gorilla in the room for book sales. The include reviews from the staff under books they've read (a nice touch and interesting way to compete with Amazon). Try vivace for lattes nearby.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Devon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Simply essential for any, every, trip to Seattle”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

In a crazy world where not even the big box bookstores can make it and we are facing a future compsed of virtual books (an oxymoron), we must all continue to support Elliott Bay, an independent store where you will find things you don't know existed on the internet (and many of them do not). Visit the wonderful cafe to take a break, but stay and browse and buy. Don't forget the amazing card selection -- yes, people still need and want to get cards in the mail sometimes. Visit the store every time you are in Seattle and don't walk away empty handed. If stores like this go away, it will be like a lobotomy for the human race.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Bibliophiles Delight - HOORAY!!!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A marvelous bibliophile experience. This setting with open, industrial woodwork, plank floors and minimalist decor reminds me a lot of the iconic Tattered Cover Bookstore in Denver or a miniature Powell's from Portland. Great book selection and well organized categories. When you visit, be certain to have plenty of time to browse and explore. Lots of marvelous titles to ogle over. Something for everyone!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,277 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
“Independent Bookstores Don't Get Better!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

If you're a book lover, and, in particular, a lover of independent bookstores, a stop at Elliot Bay during your visit to Seattle is a must. It's in Capitol Hill, a trendy neighborhood that's worth exploring, and it's surrounded by lots of great places to eat and shop, so plan an afternoon in the area.

The store is great -- a big, open, loft-like space with great light. There's a small cafe in back and several places to sit down and read a book that you pick up. The selection of books was very wide. What I especially appreciated, as one is apt to do at independent bookstores, is how the staff had curated the selections; the place was filled with books that I wanted to read! Even in the regular shelves (i.e., not special displays), various books were called out with staff recommendation cards. Best yet, all staff were very nice and anxious to help.

Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Liked the old location better, but still love the book recommendations”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was saddened to find out that Elliott Bay had moved, but we made the trek to Capitol Hill to see the new location. We were rewarded with their fantastic selection and informative employee reviews. Makes me hope that independent booksellers have a future!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kdec_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elliott Bay Book Company also viewed

 

Been to Elliott Bay Book Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing