We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“way too hot at the Mediterraean Inn in Seattle”
Review of Mediterranean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mediterranean Inn
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“way too hot at the Mediterraean Inn in Seattle”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We arrived at 345pm check in time was 4. Our room was not ready and we had to wait to so they could make sure it had been cleaned. The hotel lobby was nice and air conditioned. However no rooms were they said some rooms have air conditioning but all guests I spoke to did not have it. It was 98 outside and our room was too hot to even get ready for the baseball game we had come to Seattle for. But upon returning to the hotel the fan they had provided did nothing and the room was litterlly to hot to sleep in. I do not reccomemed this hotel in the summer Im sure it would be OK(just OK) if it wasnt hot outside.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyinvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a comfortable time with us. We had one day this year so far where the temperature was grossly out of proportion for Seattle. We know that when those rare 90+ days hit, we are more challenged to help our guests stay comfortable. We are working to change this however. Currently only about 15% of our rooms have A/C. The rest will begin to be converted starting next month. We all wish it could have come sooner, but we are excited about the change. We hope you'll consider returning to us when that addition is completed.

As for the check-in time - we guarantee it at 4pm to ensure that our Housekeeping staff has enough time to turn the rooms after our check-out time of noon. It is often that we have rooms ready sooner and we are always willing and able to check people in early in those cases. I hope that you and your party was not too hindered by any delay.

Thank you again for the feedback, and I hope that you enjoyed the baseball game.

Kindly,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    665
    187
    62
    35
See reviews for
275
611
141
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Enjoyed our stay and the location was wonderful! Recently priced in comparison to other hotels in Seattle. The lobby, staff, mint water, Starbucks at the main entrances are all major pluses!
Walking distance to the attractions made it easy to enjoy all the touristy fun!
The only downside are the beds are very small. We prefer a king or even a queen bed, the double is tough with two adults! Overall we were pleased with our stay!
Check out the rooftop for the view with a coffee or wine! Very nice and we wish we had checked it our earlier in our stay to enjoy it!

Room Tip: The street side of the hotel is noisy. There are courtyard rooms that are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Karina,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you found the bed type too small for you. We do have options of both Queens or Kings for our guests. It's possible that when you booked, only a Full was available, or that you used a site that doesn't guarantee room type. If ever you want to be sure, feel free to give us a call directly. We are happy to answer any questions, especially to help our guests avoid any surprises before arriving.

Thanks again and we hope to have you back soon!

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and it was perfect. Location was great - loved the Queen Anne neighbourhood and it was only a 20 min (ish) walk to downtown. The desk staff were great - very friendly with great recommendations for things to do and great places to eat. Close hike to Kerry Park for best view of the city (but be prepared for a biiiiiig hill). Super close to Space Needle, EMP museum and monorail to downtown (if you're not up for the walk). Room was clean and very comfortable. Starbucks downstairs was handy too (although you won't have trouble finding coffee on any corner in Seattle). Would definitely stay again! Only concern was value - was pretty pricey, but actually lower range of most hotels available in Seattle at the time (mid July was about $180/night).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Yes, prices are definitely high throughout the city during the summer season. We always aim to be at an affordable spot in the market, but "affordable" definitely means something far different in January than it does in August. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us though! The location is great, and as you mentioned for those that don't want to walk everywhere, easily accessible by public transportation.

We hope to have you back with us soon! Give us a call next time as well - we can always match or beat any prices online.

Sincerely,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed for a week in late April while visiting Seattle and deciding whether we wanted to move across country. It was a great location. A short walk from the space needle and many awesome restaurants in Queen Anne. It was right next door to a Safeway for groceries and SIFF cinema which is a neat little independent cinema. It is also walking distance to places like west lake (15-20 min), bell town (10-15 min) and if you do not mind a nice brisk walk to pike place is manageable. The price was perfect, and the staff was wonderful.The roof deck view and Starbucks being connected to the lobby were additional perks. Do not have a single complaint and would definitely recommend this place to someone visiting Seattle. The staff was extremely welcoming and always smiling and seemed to genuinely care about the guests. In the end it was an extremely comfortable stay that helped us decide Seattle was the right spot for us!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travj1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us this past April. The neighborhood is just fantastic for restaurants, grocery stores, and being in close proximity to many main attractions of Seattle. Please come visit us again soon!

Best Wishes,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I think they say they are the hotel for the budget-minded, yet they charge for Internet access. Maybe that is because they have a Starbucks near the lobby and they don't want folks mooching off of a free WiFi all day, who knows. They did have free water (plain and cucumber-lemon) in the lobby. The front desk staff was very nice and I liked their name tags, which have a little "fact" under their names (i.e., "Robert" the guy with chickens). There is no AC in the rooms so in August, that makes for a noisy night with the windows open on street side. I'm not sure if courtyard rooms would be better as there probably wouldn't be much of a breeze and you'd get an echo up the walls from other rooms. Anyway, there was a nice window seat in our room and I could see my friend's apartment building from it. Location was great!

Which is why their parking policy kinda sucked. Lady Gaga happened to be in town one of the nights we were. According to their event parking, it is first-come, first-served, meaning we could not take the car anywhere after 3 pm the night of the concert in case we came back and the hotel was sold out of spaces by patrons who were going to Key Arena. At first I thought they sold parking to the outside but I think it was just hotel patrons who happened to drive in. In any case, even with an "oversell" warning, we did not want to risk losing our space in the garage and thus, could not venture out to see another friend during our stay. That was very disappointing. Their policy should be first-come, first served based on who checked in first. After all, they take down the car info for what purpose if not to track who is staying at the hotel? Plus, the garage ceilings were LOOOOOOW.

We might stay here again (location was key) but maybe not if we have a car and there is an event going on.

Room Tip: Try for atrium/center room. You hear a lot of foot and street traffic otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorigirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are definitely in a great location, especially ideal for Key Arena events, and so I'm glad you enjoyed that for the Lady Gaga concert.

Our parking policy is first-come, first-served as you mentioned. Though we take down guest information, we do not assign specific spaces and having staff to only monitor the parking garage is not feasible for us at this time. On Key Arena concert nights, with so many folks driving from nearby, it does mean that the demand is higher. We never would prevent anyone from coming or going from the garage, but we do remind everyone at check-in that we will most likely sell out of parking, and recommend that they consider leaving their car and walking/busing/grabbing a taxi to other locations so that no issues occur.

Regarding the A/C, I'm sorry if you were disturbed at all by any noise. We do have quite a few rooms that face our interior courtyard, providing a quiet option away from the streets. We are, however, also planning to begin a project this fall to convert the rest of our rooms to also have A/C! We are looking forward to the added comfort this will bring to our guests in any season.

Thank you again for your patronage and feedback. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

The Mediterranean is in a great location. My husband and I walked everywhere we wanted in downtown Seattle straight from the hotel and stayed 4 nights. If you don't like walking, you can always take the monorail but the weather was amazing so... we walked. Hotel staff was super friendly, especially the nice young lady from Lawrenceville, GA. I think her name was Marianna? Rooftop patio was great and I even enjoyed a little solo yoga up there one morning. The room was comfortable, nice bed and great shower. Thought the window seat was a bit odd but having our own fridge and microwave was nice. Overall, I'd definitely recommend to my fellow travelers as a great option in Seattle at the right price.

Also, if you like Indian food, the Roti a couple doors down is excellent.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Elizabeth,

Thank you for your feedback! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! Walking around everywhere as you did is definitely feasible for those that don't mind taking their time. And if not, as you mentioned, the Seattle Monorail is nearby and we're also on a major bus line - both of which will take one into the heart of downtown.

We hope to have you back with us soon!

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
232 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My family and I really enjoyed this hotel. We reserved 2 rooms with AC as it is important to us. The staff is amazing! They were friendly and extremely helpful. The location is great. It is very near the space needle and monorail. One of our favorite pieces of the hotel was the roof. It offers an incredible view with chairs to relax. I would stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you need AC, be sure to request it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Though you did reserve an A/C unit, we want all of our guests to know that we will begin a project converting the rest of our rooms to A/C starting this fall. Needing to request it with us should soon be a thing of the past, and we're very excited about this.

Aside from that, thank you for the compliments regarding the accommodations and staff! It's great to hear, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at Queen Anne
#73 of 100 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#49 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Inn

Property: Mediterranean Inn
Address: 425 Queen Anne Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109-4517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#40 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#52 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for business or pleasure in the vibrant Queen Anne neighborhood of Seattle. The Space Needle, Key Arena and downtown Seattle are just moments away and for our coffee lovers we feature a Starbucks(R) Cafe off the lobby. The hotel is beautifully appointed with the look of the Mediterranean that embraces you with a comfortable and relaxed feeling. Each guest room features a kitchenette and the entire hotel is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Seattle
Mediterranean Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing