We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable, clean”
Review of Mediterranean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranean Inn
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from weekend in Seattle, staying at Mediterranean Hotel. Very satisfied, as we found the hotel just what we wanted. We traveled from Portland, OR, on Bolt Bus and easily connected to city bus to a block from hotel (downtown-bound bus stops half a block from hotel). We arrived before check-in time, but were given a room right away. Asked for a quiet room and had one facing an apartment building--no view but very quiet. The room seemed to have been recently redecorated and was clean and comfortable: two double beds, desk with chair, ample drawer space (but a rather small alcove for hanging clothes), clean new carpet, new TV and DVD player, small but useful kitchenette (sink, fridge, microwave, coffee maker), and bathroom with new-looking fixtures. The desk staff were really helpful, efficient, and friendly, and even gave us a "cheat sheet" (their term) listing bus routes. We liked the neighborhood, and there are more than a dozen restaurants, cafes, and bars within two blocks, plus a Safeway, a large drugstore, movie theater, and various stores. One block to Seattle Center (Key Arena), and a short walk to Space Needle, Chihuly museum, etc. Bus ride to downtown Seattle took us to a couple of blocks from the Seattle Art Museum and Pike Place Market. The hotel is at the edge of the Queen Anne neighborhood, which was safe to walk around in, even late at night. We thought it very good value for money in a large city. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We read all the reviews on Trip Advisor, which helped us decide a quiet room was our priority--in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Director of Sales at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Greetings from the Mediterranean Inn!
Thanks so much for your nice review of the hotel and how convenient it is to everything. You mentioned the Chihuly Garden and Glass, I was there again this week, I see something new each time, it’s amazing isn’t it? We look forward to welcoming you back, we appreciate your business and as we say – “it’s all in the neighborhood!”
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

I checked in to the Mediterranean Inn on Queen Anne after a three hour battle with expedia and a reservation that had more than one problem ending with a delayed full refund and my exhausted wife and 6month old son with out a room in Seattle at 3 o'clock in the morning. I made a phone call to the Mediterranean Inn and was pleasantly greeted by Troy who quickly assured me that we would be taken care of. Troy and the rest of the staff were fabulous, and in short order my wife and I had forgotten that our trip had begun so poorly. Great place, perfect location we could have spent the entire vacation getting to know the Queen Anne neighborhood, but we drove all over Seattle and had no trouble getting around and it was pretty easy getting back " if you can see the space needle you can find the hotel, it's right up the street.". My family will be back.
Zak

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Director of Sales at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Greetings from the Mediterranean Inn!
Wow! What a night, you poor things! I am so glad we had the opportunity to help you, Troy did a great job and I have passed along your nice comments about him and to our staff. You are right, the “Symbol of Seattle” is pretty much at our front door, we love that, and never tire of looking at it. The best view of it is on our beautiful rooftop deck; hope you had a chance to go up there, you can see all of Seattle. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the “Med”, we appreciate your business and as we say – “it’s all in the neighborhood!”
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've stayed in several Seattle hotels, particularly north of downtown. I was a little wary of this place based on star rating and (for whatever reason) a fixation on negative reviews, but I was pretty impressed.
First impression of the room: smells good, carpet is new. The room was cozy but not at all cramped, and the bathroom was roomy, simple, and modern. The linens and towels weren't my favorite but at our January rate, staying here was a no-brainer and I'd definitely stay again. The neighborhood is wonderful and I highly recommend it if you don't mind a ten-minute bus or cab ride downtown; it IS very close to the Space Needle and Sculpture Park.
To save a few dollars: our room was a few floors directly above the Starbucks so we were usually able to tap into their wi-fi for free. And on weekends/overnight, you may be able to find free street parking a block or two away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank srs-seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Director of Sales at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Greetings from the Mediterranean Inn!
Thank-you so much for your nice review, we are a really good value, glad you were impressed! We consistently update our property; we just re-carpeted the entire property, updated the bathrooms in each room, and created a new larger business center on the first floor with free internet.

We recently updated the Wi-Fi so each room can have multiple devices going, you can walk all over the property to include the roof-top deck and not lose the signal. We do charge a small fee for this, you can sign up at the front desk, it’s very convenient.

You are right - the “Symbol of Seattle” the Space Needle is so close – we love that! We look forward to welcoming you back to the “Med”, we appreciate your business and remember – “it’s all in the neighborhood!”
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel. I've noticed a number of improvements with the renovation; It looks more up to date & tidy. We had a budget double room. So if you are not going to pay top dollar, will most likely get a view of old apt. building to south. Room has large bathroom and all amenities I'd consider standard.....coffeemaker/sink/fridge/microwave/flat screen TV. They charge for WiFi, but have a "Business Center" with a number of desktop computers for guests usage. Nice feature is door right beside computer room that leads right to Starbucks without having to go outside.
The neighbourhood (Queen Anne) is pretty decent coinsidering it's so close to the city (next to Belltown). Number of good restaurants near by, SIFF Cinema, Seattle Center, Monorail, 24hr supermarkets, and 24hr. Bartell Drugs. Only criticism doors take a long time to close behind in underground parking and I coinsider this a security issue.
P.S. Also rent bikes & helmuts and have gym.

Room Tip: Ask for North facing room, East faces busy road in morning, West faces parking lot across alley. Sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I really liked this hotel. It is a bit off the beaten track in Lower Queen Anne. But, as others have noted, it is on several bus lines directly downtown. Also, if you have a car, there is a parking garage ($50/week). Only a few blocks from the Seattle Center. my room was on the small side. And the "kitchenette" consisted of merely a tiny sink, small fridge, and a microwave - not close to a full kitchen. However, the staff provided a hot plate on request. Rooms on the top floor at the rear of the hotel (extra charge) do have a nice view of Eliot Bay and the Sound. No onsite restaurant (except for a Starbucks), but many in the area. All in all, a nice hotel in a safe and busy neighborhood at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwpColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Director of Sales at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Greetings from the Med!
Thanks so much for your nice review; I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It is convenient to have the kitchenette, everyone really likes it and you are correct you can ask for items at the front desk that you can utilize during your stay, especially if you are an extended stay or relocating into the area. We love our neighborhood too, it’s easy to walk everywhere, we have a Walk Score of 92, a Transit Score of 74 and a Bike Score of 76 – when it’s a little better weather come back and try out one of our city cruiser bikes. Thanks for staying with us, hope to see you again soon!
Kindly,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and has quite a good selection of restaurants close by. Also bus services etc are just a few blocks away and the monorail from the spaceneedle can be reached on foot in less than 15 minutes.
The hotel room was clean and the bed and pillows were great. However, the guest service was not as it should be for the amount it costs to stay there. Check in is at 4pm, but our room wasn't finished yet (check out is at 12, so it should be possible to clean the rooms in off season). We were waiting until 4.30 and then I asked if there is a status update on the room, and found out that she forgot all about us, even though were were standing right in front of the reception area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SQ345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediterranean-Sea206, Director of Sales at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Greetings from the Med!
Thanks so much for your feedback and comments. Oh my, I am so sorry that you were unable to get into your room until 4:30, you are correct, check in is at 4PM and we do our utmost to make that happen.

Unlike most hotels we are lucky that we are very busy year-round, and it could have been that we were sold out the night before due to an event and had some late check-outs that prevented us from getting into the rooms on a timely manner. None the less, our policy is to check your bags, offer a solution (Starbucks in the Lobby to have a coffee and wait, or other venues in the area to take a brief refreshing walk or grab a bite, and to get your cell phone number so we can contact you when the room is ready, or if you are waiting in the Lobby follow up with personal updates).

I apologize that we didn’t follow through with our usual friendly service and attentiveness. We will use this review as a tool to improve; we are always striving to do our best for our guests. If you do have a concern don’t hesitate to ask for a Supervisor or Front Office Manager, we take our guest concerns seriously, we appreciate your business and want you to have a pleasurable stay in Seattle. I hope that you allow us another opportunity to earn your business.
Kindly,
Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Grandma watched the kids and wife and I spent the day in Seattle. Booked the Mediterranean Inn because it was in a good location at a really good price and had solid reviews. The hotel had nice decor, the rooms where clean and well decorated, staff was friendly and the location was great. We did some bar hopping and then went to dinner at a great cajun/french restaurant down the street. Lots to do in the neighborhood. The wife and I would definately go back here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have some great views. Lots of fun restaurants within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,091 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Inn

Address: 425 Queen Anne Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109-4517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#28 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#52 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $105 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for business or pleasure in the vibrant Queen Anne neighborhood of Seattle. The Space Needle, Key Arena and downtown Seattle are just moments away and for our coffee lovers we feature a Starbucks(R) Cafe off the lobby. The hotel is beautifully appointed with the look of the Mediterranean that embraces you with a comfortable and relaxed feeling. Each guest room features a kitchenette and the entire hotel is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterranean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Seattle
Mediterranean Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing