We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at the Watertown Hotel before we did the Seattle-to-Portland Bike Classic. It was very close to the starting line which is why we selected it. However, next time I come to Seattle for a visit of any sort, I'll be sure to stay here. Very close to the University of Washington campus; plus the bus system in Seattle makes a trip downtown a breeze. Very stylish with a great free breakfast. The rooms are breezy & open. Really loved it. The staff as was also great & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaingeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    292
    67
    24
    16
See reviews for
304
233
52
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

Modern hotel about 20 minutes drive outside the city centre. We used the free shuttle bus to get into and out of town which was great altough it did get booked up quickly. Rooms were fresh and modern with nice coffee and microwave popcorn in room on arrival. A nice breakfast is included in room price. All round a nice place and the distance out of town was not a big issue for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horseboxhero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

Just wanted to tell all. My husband and I stayed at the Watertown in North Seattle last week for two nights. It was wonderful. It's in a great location and offers nice amenites. I used the comfy robes that were provided and all the delicious bath products by Aveda.

One afternoon my husband borrowed one of the hotel's loaner bikes and rode the Burke-Gilman Trail. He enjoyed it and I was happy. While he biked the trail, I walked and shopped on nearby University St. He rode to Ballard, through the Univ of Washington campus and then around Lake Washington. He got some awesome photos!

We didn't get to see the Troll under the Fremont bridge but we explored other things in the area....the Locks & the fish ladder (viewing windows) in Ballard, ate at Ivar's on the bayfront.

The Watertown was really nice! We ordered the complementary Spa cart. Many different carts to choose from ranging from Kid's Art carts to computer carts, music lovers, etc. We just called the front desk and the wheeled it right up.

The breakfast was ok....mainly a continental with warm eggs & bacon or sausage.

The hotel offered shuttles to various locations, however we didn't use this service as we had a rental car. Parking was free at Watertown.

I'd go back and take my daughters and stay here. Loved it, loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

We used this hotel because we needed parking and a good location. The hotel is modern, good size rooms, ok breakfast, convenient to the highway and university. Actually, if you need a car in Seattle it works out well, close to the Needle where you can park for the day and either walk or take the monorail to downtown Seattle.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Love the clean, hip, green vibe of this hotel! Beautiful, spacious, very clean room with microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, robes, comfy bed, free underground parking.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB93110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Was in Seattle for a couple of days and looking for a place to stay that wasn't in the touristy downtown areas and wasn't as low brow as the Motel 8. Prices in Seattle are on the high side and decided to take a chance on the Watertown Hotel in the University District.

New build and modern decor, the hotel is a wonderful surprise. The Room 515 is spacious, modern and with great amenities. The bathroom features separate toilet/bath/shower, very large bathroom counter an sink, tremendously large mirror and pass through wardrobe. In room safe, fridge, coffee maker, iron, ironing board and microwave features complimentary coffee & tea and popcorn.

The double queen beds were comfortable with nice linens and lots of pillows. There's also a desk and a "a la carte" service that's worth checking out.

The facility offers complimentary indoor parking, complimentary breakfast that's a nice spread (though I wish the girls had the scrambled eggs and bacon out by 7am the other morning), a friendly staff and really nice interior spaces.

Overall, I think this hotel is a winner. It's a bit removed from downtown but there is a complimentary shuttle service or you can spend $10-15 on taxi fare to whisk you into the DT area. Will be back in a few months for a trade show at the Convention Center and the Watertown is a top contender for me even with the travel considerations into downtown.

The one issue I did encounter was with the in-room WiFi. They say to just lock into the hotel's wireless but neither of my computers could do so. I didn't bother to investigate further because the desk had an active Ethernet port and I simply plugged my MacBookPro into the port and established a wireless network with that computer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BmoreTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

Watertown is a very cozy and comfortable home away from home. The rooms are very clean and the beds are firm and comfortable. The staff is extremely nice and helpful and hot cookies in the afternoon and a solid breakfast buffet always a welcome treat. Location near UW is great for visiting campus for our new Husky son! We have stayed here twice and will definitely be back again! We used the free rental bikes to tour campus and surrounding area -- a very nice amenity offered. The hotel also has various freebies to borrow while you are there (games, movies, etc). Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amerdansk_dh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#59 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing