We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near U of Washington and U District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near U of Washington and U District”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very good value. Room was big, clean and modern. The hotel is just a few blocks from the University of Washington and in the U District. It is close to shopping and inexpensive, but tasty ethnic foods.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdb444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear jbd444,

We are glad you felt our hotel was nice, and enjoyed our big, clean, and modern rooms. We do attempt to provide good value for your stay!

Thanks for being our guest,

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    317
    80
    28
    16
See reviews for
349
247
54
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We enjoyed our stay and the Watertown Hotel in Seattle. The room was massive if a little sparsely decorated. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The underground parking is really useful and best of all was the shuttlebus downtown which we were able to arrange to pick us up in the evening. Would certainly recommend this hotel

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heathfieldd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear heathfieldd,

I always like to hear a guest say our staff is nice and that they enjoyed their stay. We are glad you appreciated the secured, undergound parking as well as our complimentary shuttle service.

Hope to see you again!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I recently stayed at the Watertown Hotel in Seattle. This facility was impeccibly maintained. It was clean, comfortable and a very good value. The hotel staff was wonderful. They were knowledgable about the surrounding area, very accommodating and eager to offer assistance. I am planning another visit to Seattle and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Ron C,

We are grateful to hear you felt our hotel was clean, comfortable, and a good value. Bravo for the accolades for a wonderful staff!

We are glad you chose our hotel and look forward to accommodating you again should your travels return you to Seattle!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanogan, WA
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The room itself was fine. I liked that they used laminate flooring instead of wall to wall carpet. The room was decent size and layout was nice. However, some other parts of our stay were not so great.

There is a very small loading/unloading area on the street to park when you check in. We missed it the first time around. As we entered, there was no one at the front desk, and we waited a while, since the person was in the office and didn't see us come in. We got to our room fairly late and had hoped to sleep in a bit the next morning. We put out the do not disturb sign on the door and tucked in. We woke up early the morning from two cleaning staff having a rather spirited (and loud) discussion directly outside our door. My Spanish is not too good, but apparently the woman was telling the man about something she didn't like on Facebook. He was not apparently getting her point because she repeated herself many many times. I had hoped it would be a short discussion, as they would move into a room and be out of earshot - it wasn't, and by the end we were all awake.

We checked out - waited again. Then went down to the hotel's parking garage to find our car had been broken into and my son's iPad mini stolen. Granted, he learned a valuable lesson about not leaving valuables in the car - even if hidden from view. The parking garage is gated, but there are signs warning the hotel is not responsible for theft, etc. Take those signs to heart. As we found out afterwards, there are no security cameras in the garage, so your chance of finding the suspect is pretty much nil.

We stay at hotels in the area fairly regularly. I wanted to like this hotel. But probably won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear KS-OK,

I am sorry there was no one to greet you at the desk. It is to be covered at all times so I will be sure and review this with the front office leadership. I have already discussed the housekeeping situation with our Housekeeping leadership team, asking them to limit the communication on the floors. I regret they woke you.

I also apologize for the loss of the iPad. We have had good luck with the security of our garage, and a car compromise is quite rare.

I understand your decision not to return, yet thank you for giving us a try, even though things were not to your satisfaction.

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for two nights around a one day meeting, so I didn't have time to explore the area. The hotel was immaculately clean and quiet, and the staff were friendly. My room was large and very well appointed, with a microwave and small refrigerator, desk, large closet, and comfortable beds. Free coffee and popcorn in every room. Hotel-wide free wifi.

There is only a small café for breakfast and lunch, and no in-house food after 4:30, but there is free coffee and some pastries in the lobby through the evening. Trinity Market across the street has a deli sandwich bar, and salads and burritos are available later in the evening. I understand there are lots of restaurants within a block or two.

This seems like an excellent pick, particularly for visits to the University of Washington area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Allen F,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel, it's friendly staff, and the Pineaple Cafe. I am glad you enjoyed some of our many amenities.

We appreciate your patronage!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal QC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I spent a week in the hotel and did not regret my choice. Everyone was extremely friendly and ready to help. The shuttle was a nice extra convenience (but you do need to plan ahead and it is not always available exactly when you might want/need it). I preferred the University location to being downtown (and my family was within a mile or so). I opted for a king room (as opposed to two queens) and so the room felt spacious. Not sure it was worth the extra $ for a "view"--the fog was the most frequent view. Would not hesitate to stay here again. And the Trinity Market across the street makes some terrific sandwiches!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear siquebec,

We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Also good know know you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service.

I happen to agree, Trinity makes a mean sandwich!

Thanks for staying with us.

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It's a nice hotel at a good location. The price was great and was sold out the first night I was there, so I ended up staying at the sister hotel for the first night. Room was good though a bit small. They have bikes that you can rent there, which was a nice addition.

The staff members in general are very nice, though some are brighter than others. We had to book and rebook several times, which was kind of frustrating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsalot1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Travelsalot1984,

Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and hope you were able to take advantage of our free bike rental.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 101 in Seattle
1,351 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 101 in Seattle
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing