We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel near university”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel near university”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We chose this hotel for the location near UW and for the underground parking as we didn't want to have to totally unload our car, including bikes, for only one night. More expensive than we would normally pay but the trip was partially business. We w
ere upgraded to a very nice, large room with sofa and comfortable chair and a workspace. Bed was comfortable except for the bottom, non-contoured sheet which of course came untucked and into a mess. Keurig coffee maker was a potentially nice touch, but ours didn't work. Easy walk to university retail district as well as campus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etb874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear etb874,

We are so glad you enjoyed out Watertown Hotel, with secured, complimentary parking, in the U-district.

We are in the process of getting an upgraded bed package, which should solve the issue with the sheets coming un-tucked, as they will be fitted!

Those pesky coffee makers can appear as though they don't work properly when in fact, they do. Please let us know when that happens and we will come right up and ensure it is working properly.

Thanks from the Watertown team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    316
    80
    27
    16
See reviews for
348
247
53
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The university area of Seattle isn't where I would typically stay when visiting, but as we were attending a performance at te nearby Neptune Theatre, it was a perfect spot! Walking distance to the theatre as well as a variety of restaurants it was very handy. The hotel itself has a funky little soul that just puts a smile on your face. Friendly check-in staff were also helpful with recommendations for the area. The decor has personality in both the public areas and the rooms themselves. I enjoyed the attention to detail in the room with coffee/tea, popcorn, water included. Tommy Bahama amenities smell yummy as well. They offer a unique 'cart service' which is basically entertainment if you are staying in - movie, kids stuff and while we didn't use it it sounded like it would be a good thing. Beds are comfy, bathroom kind of cramped and some noise in the alley ways below would be the 'concern'. Free parking a plus and bikes available to borrow! The area itself hasn't a lot to offer other than if you are visiting the university - not for a regular Seattle visit unless you plan to do a lot of driving.

Room Tip: There is some noise in the alley - higher up might help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hi Latetripper,

Thanks for all of your nice comments about the Watertown Hotel in the U-district. I agree, we are a handy location and appreciate your comments about our friendly and helpful staff. We aim to please!

I am glad you enjoyed our attention to detail as well as several of our amenities.

We appreciate your patronage!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish County, Washington, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

this is the second time we've stayed at the Watertown. First time my whole family came in from all over for my cousin's wedding. We live in Seattle area but wanted to be included in the family fun so we stayed there too. it was so fun gathering in the Pineapple Cafe. We all loved it. The shuttle is great too. We took out of towners downtown with ease. When my cousins came this last weekend from Boise we chose it again but this time brought our two Golden Retrievers. Again, it was a fabulous stay with clean and spacious rooms and great staff that made us and our Goldens feel right at home.

Room Tip: We didn't have kids or time for a swim so I can rate that. Higher south end rooms have a fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Enid K,

Thanks for choosing Watertown as your place to stay. We are delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our Pineapple Café, and partake in the complimentary shuttle amenity.

And, as you know, we are huge dog lovers so feel free to bring those Goldens back anytime!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

no problems at all, the room was clean and spacious, the hotel was quiet, and customer service was great. nice freebies like popcorn and bottled water in the room and cupcakes in the lobby. it is a few miles from downtown, but i used the shuttle and found it to be reliable. the only thing i would suggest is a little more lighting in the rooms, but even that wasn't really a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_the_puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello blue_the_puppy,

Thank you for all of your positive comments regarding the Watertown Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed our quiet hotel, spacious rooms, great freebies, to include the complimentary shuttle service, and, most importantly, great customer service!

We hope to see you again should your travels return you to Seattle!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Walking distance to UW and free parking and shuttles. Both nice in this parking and traffic plagued city. Desk service fine. Decent value. Good little market across street and close to University Ave. shops. University Medical Center shuttle passes in front of hotel.

Room Tip: Even #'s face away from street but no view on third florr--maybe on the 5th
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parker1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Parker 1328,

We appreciate your nice comments about the Watertown Hotel and value not only your comments, but your business as well!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the Watertown hotel Friday 4/5. Unfortunately I only was there to sleep so I didn't get to experience first hand everything they offer their guests. They have a lot of nice touches including free microwave popcorn in the rooms, a cupcake hour in the lobby, and the use of their bikes. I booked at a reduced rate using Hotwire. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear PDX Chick,

So glad to hear you liked our hotel and sorry you didn't have more time to enjoy our many pleasures!

We do so hope you will return and take advantage of all we have to offer!

Thanks for choosing Watertown Hotel,

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on our first-ever trip to Seattle, and we are glad that we did! We had an amazing stay at the Watertown. The hotel room was extremely clean and comfortable. It was honestly the closest that I have felt to being at home when I was staying at a hotel; I get homesick easily but I was so comfortable here that I didn't miss my own room back home for even a split second. That really says a lot about this hotel and how comfortable it is! The bedding and pillows were *super* comfortable (best hotel bedding that I have encountered--and I have stayed at 5-star hotels), and the pineapple-scented bath items (shampoo, conditioner, hand soap) smelled yummy and reminded me of my trip to the Bahamas! What a cute touch!

We *loved* the complimentary shuttle service. The friendly shuttle drivers will take you right into the heart of all of Seattle's must-see tourist attractions. Want to see Pike's Place? Not a problem. Want to see the Space Needle? Not a problem. We saved a bundle by not having to take taxis! (A savings of about $40 round-trip each day that we utilized this awesome service).

As a recent college grad, I am aware of the fact that college towns can be crazy and loud. So I was a little apprehensive about booking a hotel in the University District. But we did not have a problem with noise at all! It was so quiet...it was wonderful! No noisy craziness outside, no loud next-door neighbors inside! Also, you don't have to hear any traffic at all! Try getting that kind of tranquility if you were to stay right in downtown!

If your food budget is a bit tight and you won't be venturing into town, I highly recommend walking over to Trader Joe's and grabbing some affordable munchies to keep in your room. Trader Joe's has some great single-person entrees for like $3 that you can just heat up inside the hotel room's microwave. If you forget your utensils, the front desk has you covered. Just ask them and they will happily provide you with some forks and napkins.

Overall, a great stay and a great value. I will be back during my next trip to Seattle!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear a794,

WOW, a great big thank you to you for all of your lovely comments about our crown jewel in the u-district...the Watertown Hotel!

We are delighted you so enjoyed your stay with us. The greatest compliment you can give a hotel and its team, is that you felt comfortable here while being away from home.

Hopefully, we will see you again one day!

Cheers,
Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#62 of 101 in Seattle
1,349 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing