We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean place. Nicely designed suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice clean place. Nicely designed suite”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel... the suites were tastefully designed and very comfortable. Parking was complimentary and they had bikes for us to use. It's close to UW and University Village shopping centre ... so it's very convenient to all the nice retail stores there, including, Apple :-)... and a good range of restaurants out there that serve the university crowd. Use the free shuttle service from the hotel to UVillage!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Watertown. The Studio Suite is a very popular room type at Watertown due to its tasteful design and comfortable decor. I hope you get a chance to ride one of our free bicycles on your next visit. You can even ride it to the Apple store at University Village on the Burke Gilman Trail! Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    317
    80
    28
    16
See reviews for
349
247
54
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A stone's throw from UDub (University of Washington), and you get all the benefits. Free parking, a couple of bottles of water each day, popcorn and your own personal Keurig coffer maker. We were there for a couple of nights, leaving at odd hours, always returning to a clean room. Portage Cafe is next door and has awesome food, the in-house Pineapple Cafe is convenient for breakfast or a quick snack.
The air-conditioning worked fine, had it cranked down as low as possible, the beds we inviting and cozy. The staff went out of their way to help with directions and recommendations.
A couple of blocks away is the "The Ave" a really long row of great eating places at student prices!
This isnt the Ritz but a very good deal for the price.

Room Tip: the higher the better, no real views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gl0balTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of Watertown. I love the alliteration you used in your review title! We cannot ask for a better five words to be associated with! Our Housekeeping department is dedicated to keep Watertown clean and comfortable. We are conveniently located in the walkable University District neighborhood of Seattle. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Watertown is my home away from home in Seattle. My family just spent 11 days there and were extremely happy. The staff, especially Trudy and Kanoe, are great! They offer a free shuttle service to/from U Village, The Space Needle, Pacific Place and the medical centers which we always use. They have bikes to borrow, an exercise room and complimentary coffee, tea and pineapple cupcakes in the afternoon. The parking is free and secure. They have quality amenities like Keurig coffee makers and Tommy Bahama bath products and give you bottled water and popcorn. There's even an umbrella! This is my second stay, each time in a different room type, and both were roomy, clean and comfortable.The location is an easy walk to UW and The Ave. Will stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mississibbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your stellar review and after an eleven day stay none the less! I'm very happy that you enjoyed our room ameneties so much. Trudy and Kanoe were excited to receive the well deserved praise too! Thank you again for you kind words and we can't wait to take care of you again during your next visit to Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location is ideal for anyone visiting the University and parking is free and convenient. After that, it's difficult to be positive. The service was well-meaning, but slow. The a/c was erratic. The water ran cold mid-shower. I am sure most of this can be explained by the renovations, but we weren't told about them when we booked and would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your recent stay at Watertown Hotel. I apologize for the negative experiences you had due to our renovations. We made great efforts to ensure the product we were offering did not dip too much but it looks like we failed at that during your stay. I can say that our lobby renovations are nearing completion and I would like to offer you my email so we can discuss your possible return to Watertown in the future. Please feel free to contact me at agebran@watertownseattle.com. Thank you again for your reveiw and I hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Watertown Hotel is clean, the employees were friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Some bonus features: Complimentary popcorn, coffee and water bottles are in each room. The shower has good water pressure, the sink is outside of the bathroom, so one person can use the facilities while the other brushes their teeth or washes their hands. Also, the hotel has loaner bikes.
There are quite a few restaurants (of all ethnic variety) within walking distance.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
"Clean, Friendly, and Comfortable" it's hard to improve upon that! Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Watertown Hotel and I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel. We strive to offer our guests amenities and room features that make sense. Our bicycle rental program is very popular and we love to recommend the numerous restaraunts within walking distance. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just spent three nights on the sixth floor of this well located hotel. They used to include free breakfast but they got rid of that. The air conditioning flucuates off and on creating a sleep destroyer. The staff were fundamentally indifferent. Please note that this used to be a great hotel for the money. Not so anymore.
What is really surprising is the total lack of comfort in the bed. No box spring, just a mattress.
They need to step that up. I will never stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your candid and honest review. I want to apologize for not being able to offer you a bed you thought was comfortable or an overall value that warranted a return trip. Bed comfort is a very subjective topic and is difficult to quantify. I can say that Watertown maintains our beds on a regular basis to maximize the range of comfort we offer to all our guests. We have improved our Food & Beverage offerings by opening Pineapple Cafe in our north lobby which all guest's receive 15% off. We now offer a full espresso menu and a more diverse breakfast AND lunch menu. Watertown also offers all our guests FREE wireless internet, undergroung secured parking, and shuttle service to/from downtown and other local areas. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel was great! We had 4 people in our room and never felt crowded. Staff was very friendly.
We would definitely stay there again. Great value for price.
Complimentary coffee and tea was nice too! The free parking was secure and easy to find spots.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Watertown. Having four adults in the room is a good test of comfort and I'm please that we passed! I'm also happy you enjoyed our free coffee and tea offerings as well as our free parking garage. We look forward to taking care of you upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 101 in Seattle
1,351 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 101 in Seattle
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing