We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UW District convenience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“UW District convenience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Watertown Hotel is convenient to the university district, with easy access to the center of Seattle as well as the wine district to the northeast (Woodinville). Parking is easy and secure, and there is a great cafe in the nearby University Inn, which is operated by the same company, as well as a basic breakfast option in the Watertown itself. We had a "studio," which was a spacious room to which was attached a kitchenette (small fridge and microwave), and beyond that a private bath. The hotel is small and very clean, the elevators prompt, and the staff responsive. The farmers' market a few blocks walk is a fun Saturday morning excursion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers46654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your well written review about your experience at Watertown Hotel. I am so happy you had the chance to explore the University Farmers Market which happens every Saturday and is only a few minutes walk away! I am also pleased that you enjoyed many other aspects of your stay at Watertown. We aim to please every guest and we are delighted to learn we did just that with you. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to take care of you when you return to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    292
    67
    24
    16
See reviews for
304
233
52
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Watertown Hotel is a wonderful hotel located in the university district. It offers free shuttle service to the downtown, university, and Seattle Center areas. Parking is also free. Small cute cafe in the north lobby. Daily mini pineapple cupcakes, coffee, and tea in the late afternoon to early night. Filtered water in the bathroom sink. Trader Joe's is just two blocks away.

Tip: book your shuttle times early as it fills up quickly on the weekends. Departs at the top of the hour and pick ups are on the half hour. Tommy Bahama shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap, and lotion are all provided free. Also, water bottles, keurig coffee, and tea replenished daily. Trinity Market is right across the street and Trader Joe's is 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiBorn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your thorough review and insider tips of Watertown Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of all the amenities we offer to everybody. It's good to know Watertown was a good match for your trip to Seattle. We look forward to taking care of you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here a little over a year ago as a family group with 3 rooms, and we especially enjoyed breakfast together. Our return trip this June was fine, just 2 of us, but we missed the breakfast buffet. Still many good reasons to stay, though, like the location and the free parking. I echo the remarks about the slippery linens.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Watertown Hotel with your fellow travelers. We are happy you chose to stay with us one year after your first visit. Breakfast is still available to you as we have opened our Pineapple Cafe in our North Lobby. We have an extended menu, including full espresso bar, as well as operating hours (closing at 5pm). Hotel guests always receive 15% off. I am happy to hear you took advantage of our location and free parking! Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you on your next trip to Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

My family of three spent six nights on holiday at the Watertown and LOVED it. My teen thought it should be a 5 star property because of the freebies: bikes, helmets and locks to use since the hotel is by the University, just a few blocks from the wonderful bike paths that surround the city. In addition there was: free popcorn and pineapple cupcakes, tea and coffee, water bottles, parking, laundry and wifi. The room's layout feels so spacious; the location is wonderful with LOADS of well priced restaurants, movie theatres and even a Safeway, Walgreens and Trader Joe's within a few block. As vegetarians, the food choices were limitless. There was a vegan and vegetarian restaurant very close by. The shuttle to downtown and the Seattle Center were great. We had a blast and enjoyed the clean, nice rooms and comfy beds. The staff did there best to make the price right as we extended our stay. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEdwardsLosGatos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Watertown Hotel. We are very happy to read you found our customer service and hotel amenities to be of 5 star quality. We believe the customer service level we offer can compete and often exceed that of your regular chain hotels. As you mentioned we do have a long list of freebies we offer to every guest and I'm glad you had the time to take advantage of just about all of them. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Seattle. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was again a superb experience: the booking agent, front desk help, clean room, comfortable bed, parking, proximity to places on our plan of destiny in Seattle. I wish all hotels worldwide could be similar to how wonderful I feel when I stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at Watertown Hotel again. We are excited you came back and found our level of service and amenities to be equal of your stay in 2009! We pride ourselves on creating a "home away from home" to all of our guests and it's good to know we are doing things right! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dothan, al
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rooms were clean and neat. Studio is larger than a normal room but not by much. Good place if you are looking to be close to seattle attractions without being downtown. Very close to UW. I would stay again. Cafe in the lobby area is limited. Underground parking deck was big plus. Booking in advance can save you some money if you have a multi day stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sechoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that after your recent stay at Watertown Hotel you have decided you would stay again. As you said Watertown Hotel is a very convenient alternative for guests who want to be close to major Seattle attractions without staying downtown. Our free local shuttle is available to transport you between the two! Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I don't usually stay at expensive places on vacation because I don't plan on being in the hotel more then to recover for the next day of running around! Watertown looked like a fair price for the area so we took a chance. Were we pleasantly suprised!After 4 days the only complaint I had was the pop machine ate my money once for 1 soda, but the nice man at the front desk wouldnt let me leave without taking 3! Free parking "thats HUGE in Seattle!!" nearby freeways and stores,the college and parks. Super clean and they run a great place...kicked butt on any chain type joint I usually go with! Thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio G, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Watertown Hotel. I'm happy you took a chance on us and found out first hand the value Watertown has to offer every guest. We pride ourselves on offering a positive but different type of experience when compared with a big hotel chain. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#59 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing