We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tips for having a great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 5th Avenue Theatre

5th Avenue Theatre
Ranked #32 of 434 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tips for having a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We saw Pirates of Penzance tonight and we were blown away by the production... there are lots of professional reviews out there for those interested. For some who have had bad experiences involving being able to see, or hear things clearly, here is some advice... for those who are short, please pick up one of the cushions in the lobby. I suggested that to the young (10 yo?) boy sitting behind me before the show and it made a huge difference to his enjoyment of the show. If you are seated behind someone who is very tall, or have other difficulties with seeing the stage, one of the house managers may be able to reseat you. I've asked for this at intermission once in the past and was moved to even better seats. Tonight I was with my elderly mom who is very heard of hearing. An audiologist recently recommended that she try the infrared headphones that are available, and boy oh boy did they make a difference for her. I tried them too and loved the sound quality. They do away with any sound distortion and I was able to appreciate the rapid patter songs of Pirates of Penzance. It's a beautiful theater. Go and enjoy! Parking is available for $6 at the City Centre parking garage, enter on Union or 6th, for parking after 5 PM and all day on the weekends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    78
    15
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennett, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Standing Ovation!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

How we love Gilbert & Sullivan and this musical!! It's always been one of our favorites and this cast and orchestra are top rated. Get your tickets before August 5, 2013. It's a must see. The 5th Avenue Theater is beautiful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bbx9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
172 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The Pirates of Penzance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We saw the opening night show of The Pirates of Penzance. It was well done and fun to see, a little more camp than expected, though. The acting was excellent and the singing voices mostly superb. There really only two stage sets for the show, but they were adequate. The orchestra sounded very good. This is an old and fairly large theater with seating for about 2,100 and at this showing the theatre seemed fairly full. The air condition kept the theatre comfortable throughout the show. The seats were a bit hard and the aisle carpets worn and wrinkled. The sound system was adequate, in that it was easy to hear the performers throughout the theater, however it was hard to distinguish the lyrics of the songs, especially the fast-paced ones. Perhaps partly due to the microphones or the cast not "projecting" or clearly enunciating. I wouldn't suggest seats further back than row T unless you want to use opera glasses or binoculars to see the actors. Seating on the leftmost isle still provided for a decent and unobstructed view of the stage. Parking was a sore point as the nearby parking garage at the Olympic, and others nearby were horrendously expensive. We passed several that didn't specify the hourly rate for the evening on a sigh that could be read from the street and didn't say how late they were open. I was told that we could have gotten discounted parking through the box office, but since we were from out of town and already parked and the box office didn't open early enough, we couldn't take advantage of it. I wouldn't recommend the show to anyone travelling from far enough away that a hotel room for the night is necessary. The cost of parking, a meal for two and a modest room for the night in Seattle could easily exceed $300, not counting the show tickets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynden-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THE Venue for theater in Seattle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family saw RENT at this theater. It is big but doesn't make you feel like you're miles away from the stage. Sightlines are good from most seats and the stage is big enough for even the largest of productions. The restoration of this historic theater must have cost a lot because the old hand carvings and gold infill make it a one-of-a-kind location.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gatordant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Love this venue and the shows that play. It is ALWAYS such a great time!!! Love going here for special occasions and the music sounds fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbdorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5th Avenue Theatre also viewed

 

Been to 5th Avenue Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing