We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing”
Review of A Terrible Beauty - CLOSED

A Terrible Beauty
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I ate brunch here on Sunday July 22nd. We were seated quickly and the waitress quickly took our drink order and then returned to take our food order. We were starved and happy that the order was taken so quickly, the waitress even returned minutes later to confirm that one of the items on the menu was gluten free.

After another round of drinks....she made a comment that she was going to check on our food, and returned to say that the kitchen was running behind and would try and hurry them up, we weren't impressed that she seemed to be blaming the kitchen rather then supporting her team.

When the food finally arrived, two of our three meals were cold, and none of them tasted any good. We were starving by this point, so we ate it quickly.

One of the plates came with two pieces of canteloupe which looked as though they had already been eated, the server did pick them off the plate and offered new pieces, which my friend declined.

The server asked how our drinks were a few times, but never asked how the food was.

When paying the bill we let her know that we were not impressed with food quality, the server offered to get the manager to see if they could give us a gift certifiate, or if we wanted some food to go that was hot - we declined as we just wanted out of there.

Maybe they were just having an off day?

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gbwhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    0
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A terrible meal”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have eaten here twice. The first time we thought, 'Not so great' and hadn't planned to return until we found ourselves restaurantless on Christmas Eve. Terrible Beauty was the only place open in our neighborhood so we decided to give it a try. Terrible. Terrible. Terrible. Just terrible. I have had better food from vending machines. This time we mean it: never again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ELBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eager to return in the evening for the music”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great selection of beer and outstanding grub and a reasonable facsimile of an idealized Irish pub decor. If the music meets these standards, I gonna love this place. As it is, a great place for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go Irish!”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The Terrible Beauty is a relatively new addition to the West Seattle Junction and in the same block as ArtsWest Theatre. The restaurant name is taken from Irish poet William Butler Yeats work "Easter 1916". The restaurant is pure Irish...filled with a great time, laughter and friendly staff and clients. Sometimes, you'd think it was poetry itself. Excellent selection of Irish food, beer, wine etc. Service is excellent. Prices modest. Come on a weeknight and there's live music.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oregon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazingly good and family friendly - for real!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

A great addition to West Seattle! Everyone that worked there was so accomodating and friendly. We had a newborn baby and they were helpful in seating us off of the main walkway. The food is as the Renton location - the best! The live music is a plus! I would recommend this place to anyone with family and friends in town, a small group "pre-funking" or a nice dinner for two (and a newborn!).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travlnfromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing