We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Overdue and Worth the Jaunt”
Review of Bar del Corso

Bar del Corso
Ranked #265 of 4,110 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Long Overdue and Worth the Jaunt”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Beacon Hill has never been a destination for me or anyone I know until now. Jerry and Gina really have pulled together something worth the short drive from downtown away from the usual suspects. The atmosphere is pleasant and warm without being too much of anything. The menu has four-five smart options in each category so you know the kitchen can focus on quality production and not volume cranking out passable food. This place really does focus on quality and keeping things reasonably priced so it remains a great neighborhood restaurant and a destination all onto itself.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BluYooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great pizza and seasonal small plates.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a great neighborhood restaurant! We stopped by on our way back into Seattle from hiking at Mt. Rainier. Parking was plentiful on the street. I was a little nervous about not being able to make a reservation on a Sat night. It WAS very busy, but we were able to be seated right away at the bar. We thought this was great! We sat right in front of the main chef and watched him make all the plates for the night (except for the pizza). He chatted with us, answered a few questions and handed us all our meals, almost immediately after assembling them. It was like our own personal chef’s table!
It is a busy, crowded and loud restaurant. Initially we waited for the bartender to help us, but once she acknowledged us service was efficient and pleasant. It has 4-5 pizzas and then a number of seasonal small plates. We shared the risotto and the meatballs. They were delicious! Not heavy at all with lots of flavor. The pizza may not please everyone—very thin crust so it got a little soggy in the middle. We thought it was great—very flavorful. We kept seeing a dessert come in and out of the oven all night and determined we wanted to have whatever it was. It was a polenta cake, which I was initially a little concerned about. (corn? For dessert). It was by far the.best.dessert I have ever had. Warm and gooey with a sweet flavor and fresh berries. I thought the cost for all this was a downright steal. Definitely check this place out

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero, Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza, friendly and efficient staff”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a fun evening we had at this lively neighborhood restaurant! Loved the pizza and the excellent appetizers including the stuffed squash blossoms. This restaurant reminded me of the "good ole days" when you could eat a great meal for a reasonable prize in a cozy, relaxed atmosphere. You can get pizza in a lot of cookie-cutter box restaurants but this really felt like your Italian friend was whipping up specialty pizzas in his kitchen just for your pleasure!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you wanna eat-go here. If you wanna chat-keep looking”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place is wonderful.
Food-amazing
Atmosphere-Lovely
Not a good place for an engaging or intimate conversation.
It is very loud inside ( plus the place is always packed cause the food is so good) so if you wanna really chat, keeping looking.
Get here early, there will be a line up.
There is now outside seating.
Short walk from the light rail station.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank checkers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PIZZA and seasonal small plates”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Best thing to happen to Beacon Hill ever!!! Amazing, uniquely topped thin crispy crust pizzas. Menu changes frequently to offer seasonal items. They dont take reservations, you will most likely have to wait a bit....but soooooo worth it! Order a beer or special cocktail while you wait.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar del Corso also viewed

 

Been to Bar del Corso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing