We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you wanna eat-go here. If you wanna chat-keep looking”
Review of Bar del Corso

Bar del Corso
Ranked #286 of 4,132 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you wanna eat-go here. If you wanna chat-keep looking”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place is wonderful.
Food-amazing
Atmosphere-Lovely
Not a good place for an engaging or intimate conversation.
It is very loud inside ( plus the place is always packed cause the food is so good) so if you wanna really chat, keeping looking.
Get here early, there will be a line up.
There is now outside seating.
Short walk from the light rail station.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank checkers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PIZZA and seasonal small plates”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Best thing to happen to Beacon Hill ever!!! Amazing, uniquely topped thin crispy crust pizzas. Menu changes frequently to offer seasonal items. They dont take reservations, you will most likely have to wait a bit....but soooooo worth it! Order a beer or special cocktail while you wait.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beacon Hill has some nice restaurants!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have lived on Beacon Hill for 12 years. It is incredible that for being so close to downtown, the neighborhood is still rather sleepy. When I moved here we had one coffee shop (Java Love - now called Baja Bistro), a Mexican Restaurant (La Cabaña) and a couple Filipino restaurants. (Thankfully Baja Bistro was born and started making a bit more adventurous Mexican food and now serve drinks!)

With the LINK light-rail station arriving a couple years ago, some entrepreneurs have started to brave this residential neighborhood. In my opinion, the standout is Bar del Corso. I still have a very warm place in my heart for the Beacon Tavern, however Bar del Corso transformed that space into a destination - not just for Be-Hi residents. I assume this is the case because on nearly every night of the week there is a line and a wait to get a table starting practically when they open. Being a pizza restaurant, you would hope the pizza is good - it is, especially the ones you can add Water Buffalo Mozzarella to. What stands out about Corso is the creative and delicious side dishes. I have always gone light on the pizza and ordered plenty of sides. When I'm not hungry but just need some booze, you can sit at the bar and order some decent cocktails. Usually not much of a wait to do that, especially later in the evening.

Beacon Hill is an amazing neighborhood and I appreciate that we are slowly getting some quality restaurants - at a good pace capable of maintaining the charm of the neighborhood. Until Corso gets a little more competition (Quetzal, Baja Bistro and Travelers are the other anchors in the hood), plan to arrive early and be okay with waiting a while for a table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DintyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wasn't Disappointed”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Being an "eastsider" I had never been to the Beacon Hill area and was most interested in discovering a new area. I was surprised to find that arriving early to do a little window shopping before our meal was not possible, because Bar del Corso is in a very residential area. The positive side of that is parking is very accessible.

As was mentioned by the previous reviewer, the pizzas at Bar del Corso are is extremely good. A perfectly done thin crust, dusted with olive oil, mushrooms, pancetta and Walla Walla sweets. Yum! The waxed bean salad with a variety of cherry tomatoes topped with a cheese that I missed the name of was enjoyed by all. The crispy cauliflower with pesto and thin slivers of Parmesan was delicious (didn't catch the name, and it doesn't appear to be on the online menu.)

They do not cut the pizzas for you, so that's a bit tricky. Not something any of us thought was a positive thing, as pizza cutters do a much better job than a steak knife at cutting pizzas, especially for the variety that has big pieces of mozzarella on them.

Reservations are not taken. Seating is not done until most of your party has arrived. There are a few seats at the bar, but those are only for people having food. So don't plan to arrive early and shop, or sit at the bar and wait for the rest of your party, because it isn't going to happen.

But you are going to have great food once you do get to your table.
And the service is also quite good! Always important.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank got2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip to Beacon Hill”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent dinner at Bar del Corso in the Beacon Hill neighborhood in Seattle. The pizza was absolutely delicious -- wild nettle pesto and mushroom -- with that thin but chewy, charred crust that the wood oven produces. The selection of small plates was appetizing and interesting, and I haven't seen such a good selection of wines under $30 in a restaurant for a long time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smilingwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar del Corso also viewed

 

Been to Bar del Corso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing