We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stay To Remember”
Review of Ballard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballard Inn
Ranked #16 of 27 Seattle B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights when I had surgery at the nearby hospital. We arrived late in the evening after work. As I recall we had a room with an entrance off the street. The desk clerk led us to the entrance, let us in, showed us the room, and how to adjust the wall mounted heater then left. The room was not large enough for a closet. There was only a hook on the back of the bathroom door and a chair to hang up clothes. We later found out a package of earplugs on the single night table was there for a good reason; a late night gym and several bars next to the hotel. The room was ice cold. We tried to turn on the heater but it was broken. We called the desk and a portable electric heater was delivered. The next day during my surgery my wife complained about the room and got a modest discount off the insane $180 rate. That next night I stayed in a recovery room. My wife walked the 3 blocks back from the hospital and saw where one of the local urbanite progressives had left a steamer with TP on the sidewalk within a dozen yards of the hotel to top off the ambiance.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank BrianDMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place looked nice online.. It couldn't have been more different the toilet had bodily fluids all over the bed had hair in it and the remote was greasy and dirty.. The room was $200 which is a complete rip off for staying in a place where you feel like you can get a disease!! Not to mention there were sticks in the window to lock them.. Save your money your money the streets are cleaner.. Almost slept in the car! Also the staff has no idea what they are doing!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maliadurfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent two night at The Ballard Inn in room 202. This room is located at the front of the building, has a king size bed, and includes its own bathroom. We found the room to be very noisy (the inn did provide earplugs) throughout the evening/night and even in the early morning as the trash was picked up followed by the farmers market being set up under our window (an excellent farmers market by the way). There were no screens on the window and no air conditioner in the room. We visited in July during a heat wave and had to set up a fan in the room to blow directly on us so we could sleep.

There were nice, fluffy towels. The bathroom only had a shower, but that was fine with us. Body wash, shampoo, and conditioner were of good quality but only accessed by a pump dispenser in the shower. A bar of soap at the sink would have been nice.

The front desk staff members were extremely pleasant and helpful.

The inn is cute, and it is centrally located in Ballard. There is a fitness club next door that sounds great, but we did not have the opportunity to use it.

The inn is nice, but be advised that it is not a Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

These itsy-bitsy street-level rooms are not soundproofed. The proximity to a great and lively neighborhood means that the noise is substantial. the sound comes right through the windows. It's not only outside noise: hallway sounds are not muffled at all by soundproofing. Even the door locks are loud. The white metal blinds do not keep out the light from outside, and the hallway illumination is like a spotlight into the room - all night long. Sleeping is a challenge.

However, the staff is friendly, and helpful, and the communal bathrooms are kept mostly clean.

It's like a very expensive hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmur6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This place is clean, affordable and in a fun area, walking distance to great shops and a cool craft beer bar called The Noble Fir. The Olympic Athletic club next door has the best steam room in the United States of America. Could be considered a very up scalse Hostel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank supcoronado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The other recent reviews say it all. I will just add that I lucked out since the upper king room we got had the bathroom right across the hall, and only one or two other rooms booked. The owners of this place also own the upscale Olympic Athletic Club next door and the new upscale Hotel Ballard adjoining the athletic club. You may feel the snootiness of the management because they own the other properties. Also, there are no other hotels in tiny Ballard. Unless you are in a "luxury suite" the bathroom is down the hall baby. I easily Pricelined a water view parking free hotel closer to downtown Seattle for less.

Room Tip: I easily Pricelined a water view parking free hotel closer to downtown Seattle for less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorAlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I think that the only way we would stay again is if we were to stay in one of the king rooms. We stayed in a street level room that was very cramped and without a bathroom. Not having an en suite was not so much an issue but we had no idea that was the case when we booked our room online. Also, there's a $10 charge to use the pool, which is located in another building-still not that big of a deal, but we weren't aware until check in. From the looks of others photos, the king rooms look like they might be a better option. The noise at street level was too much and people could literally see right into our room.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Ballard
Hotel Ballard
Hotel Ballard
#19 of 103 in Seattle
280 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 103 in Seattle
1,558 reviews
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard Inn

Address: 5300 Ballard Ave NW, Seattle, WA 98107-4060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Ballard
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: $98 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ballard Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballard Inn is a newly remodeled, vintage, boutique hotel, located in the heart of Ballard. Accommodations showcase vintage decor combined with old world charm. Completely renovated and restored to its 1902 elegance, Ballard Inn features 16 intimate rooms with 21st century amenities. Built in 1902, the building was originally commissioned and occupied by the American-Scandinavian Bank. And, later converted to a hotel, which served the city of Ballard and the neighboring communities of Magnolia, Fremont, and Wallingford for over 100 years. Amenities Include: Complimentary WIFI, Flat Screen TVs & cable, Bathrobes, Hairdryers, Access to 50,000 sqft Gym, including sauna, pool &whirlpool hot-tub, 24 hour front desk service, & Parking. Seattle's hottest neighborhood is waiting for you to explore just outside the Inn. Ask our front desk about area restaurants, bars, shopping and sight-seeing. Points of Interest: Walking distance to Ballard Locks, Golden Gardens park, local beaches and a 10 minute drive to downtown Seattle. Enjoy a cultural stay and rest at ease while staying at Ballard's premier boutique Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ballard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing