We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but noisy”
Review of Ballard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballard Inn
Ranked #17 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
indiana
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely but noisy”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Ballard Inn/Hotel Ballard for three nights when sleeping with the windows open was necessary due to hot daytime temperatures. The bed was super-comfy, the shared bathrooms private, clean and plentiful, and the staff quite nice. However, the street noise was a problem. Our room was on a corner of the building, so our three windows overlooked an outdoor dining area for a pizza place, a gym that generated a lot of early-morning noise, and the neighborhood's main street. I can recommend the Ballard wholeheartedly--but only for very sound sleepers or people who don't mind using earplugs. And don't depend on the robes--the one in our room was almost child-sized.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizard076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
38
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ballard has so much to offer that you really do not need to spend too much time in your room. The staff is great and all of Ballard is outside your front door. The sheets and robes were so comfy that they are perfect comfort from a rainy day.
I travel here alone to visit friends and coming back in after a day out, they are always glad to see you and hear about your day.
The rooms on the outside facing the street can be noisy at night when the clubs let out so if you can, choose an interior room.

Room Tip: Try to get an interior room for a quieter night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squirreletta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Hotel Ballard is a lovely little European-style guesthouse. There are only 16 rooms and some with shared bathroom, but the beds are great, the sheets are wonderful, and the robes are delightful. The price is fair, and the staff was comfortably friendly and helpful. The hotel is just acouple blocks from Swedish Hospital---certainly closer than any other hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PT_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Hotel Ballard and the local restaurants and activities provided a great weekend getaway! The hotel is an ancient (by west coast standards) modest hotel that has been renovated. It is small & neat, very quiet. Our room used the shared bathrooms down the hall but some come with in suite facilities for those who mind mingling in your bathrobe. The hotel provides parking passes for local lots nearby. From the hotel on foot we hit dinner at a vegetarian Thai place - and we are not vegans! Jhanjay Thai Cuisine - great place. We also hit the local movie theater, window shopping & in the morning a great Bakery just accross the street. Not cheap, but a great weekend - great way to do Valentines or any occasion.

Room Tip: This is a very simple historic Hotel. Many rooms share bathrooms so if that will be uncomfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez Island, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Ballard has the feel of a European town, within Seattle, with a tree-lined avenue, brick buildings, and a huge selection of quality bars, cafes and restaurant. On the avenue itself sits the Ballard Hotel in a historic building. It has the charm of an old-world hotel, with small rooms (for American standards) but cozy - my bed was in an alcove, with a real duvet. The less expensive rooms have shared bathrooms in the corridor. I was aware of the potential level of late night noise, not unlike what you find in the Latin Quarter in Paris, and had brought earplugs (which turned out to also be standard supply in the room) - but this Tuesday night turned out to be very quiet. The hotel does not serve food of any sort, which is anything but a problem with many wonderful cafes and bakeries within a short walk - "Fresh Flour" across the street to be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plasbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with an impromptu trip to Seattle the weekend before Valentine's Day. Our stay here was so great!

The rooms were a little on the small side but absolutely gorgeous! Every little detail is so vintage-y and adorable! The sheets and robes were so comfy, I almost sent him out to get breakfast so I could lounge in the room a bit longer!

We didn't have a private bathroom, but I heard that some of the rooms do. That really didn't bother us much as the room was so close to all the baths.

Between the cozy room and the great restaurant that the front desk staff managed to get us into at the last minute, it was a fantastic way to spend Valentine's Day!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The interior decor is very nice but all the surfaces are hard so any noise anywhere echoes throughout. Some in heels walked in and then upstairs. I laid in bed and heard every single step ring out.

The windows are original, so less soundproof. I laid in bed and listened to the street party ( this is a party late kind of area. Like the Mardi Gras but colder and damp) and then when the party was over the delivery trucks and warehouse workers zoomed around. No insulation means you hear every street noise.

The first room we went into was supposed to be heated with steam via radiator, but it was turned off. The room was so cold and the steam heat would take a while so the clerk got us an electric plug in heater. This room was located directly across the hall from the shared bathrooms. I already heard the sound of someone choking or coughing in the bathroom.

The clerk decide that another room would be warmer, so we trooped over to the second room. It was just as cold, but we couldn't stay up in later so we plugged in the heater, turined up the steam heat and huddled and shivered in bed until we drifted off to sleep. Only to be awakened in about hour with the first of the bar patrons in the streets, singing and screaming.

Room Tip: Not on a weekend when the many bars and pubs are busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fullofwonder108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seattle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Ballard
Hotel Ballard
Hotel Ballard
#23 of 101 in Seattle
267 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,493 reviews
Georgetown Inn
#17 of 101 in Seattle
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 101 in Seattle
1,002 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard Inn

Property: Ballard Inn
Address: 5300 Ballard Ave NW, Seattle, WA 98107-4060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Ballard
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ballard Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballard Inn is a newly remodeled, vintage, boutique hotel, located in the heart of Ballard. Accommodations showcase vintage decor combined with old world charm. Completely renovated and restored to its 1902 elegance, Ballard Inn features 16 intimate rooms with 21st century amenities. Built in 1902, the building was originally commissioned and occupied by the American-Scandinavian Bank. And, later converted to a hotel, which served the city of Ballard and the neighboring communities of Magnolia, Fremont, and Wallingford for over 100 years. Amenities Include: Complimentary WIFI, Flat Screen TVs & cable, Bathrobes, Hairdryers, Access to 50,000 sqft Gym, including sauna, pool &whirlpool hot-tub, 24 hour front desk service, & Parking. Seattle's hottest neighborhood is waiting for you to explore just outside the Inn. Ask our front desk about area restaurants, bars, shopping and sight-seeing. Points of Interest: Walking distance to Ballard Locks, Golden Gardens park, local beaches and a 10 minute drive to downtown Seattle. Enjoy a cultural stay and rest at ease while staying at Ballard's premier boutique Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ballard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing