We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Dining”
Review of Monsoon

Monsoon
Ranked #327 of 4,096 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
808 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Superb Dining”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This one of my favorite places to eat in the city. The drunken chicken is amazing. The service is very good. Plus they have an excellent wine list. Make a reservation on the weekend. If you're by yourself you can sit and the bar and enjoy dinner as you watch the staff cook.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    32
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A very flavorful experience!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

If you are just thinking of whether you should go to Monsoon or not, then you should pick up the phone and make a reservation for this place. Although it is a bit on the pricey side for Asian food, the service, the food presentation and the flavours of each dish really sets it apart from all other Asian restaurants and makes it worthy of a visit you will not likely forget anytime soon.

The resto is small, but they are expanding to allow for more patrons. The service is attentive and detail oriented when necessary. The waiters know their dishes very well.

Do listen to your waiter. He will tell you the most popular dishes and the ones he thinks are best. The three of us had a squid stuffed with duck ( really nice little appetizer that was not on the original recommended list of dishes he suggested ),raw salad ( also not mentioned on his list but perfect to open up the taste buds for a group of four or more because it can get a little sour after more than two bites) , a catfish clay pot ( cooked to perfection - no wonder this is one of their most popular dishes! ) and lamb chops ( you can't go wrong with this dish either!). To top it off, we had their famous banana cake with coconut cream. It was melt in your melt delicious!

Dishes that were recommended and that I wish I had the chance to try - Bo lo lat, pork spare ribs, drunken chicken

We loved the fact that we shared all the dishes ( and you should do so too) because every dish was bursting with flavours so unique that your tongue will be continuously surprised by each new piece of food you put in your mouth. This place is perfect for a nice evening with family, friends or a date! I can't wait for my next visit to Monsoon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Returned to Monsoon, having spent a number of evenings dining there over the years. Service, food, TLC were all excellent. The restaurant is small and noisy and has an expansion going on right now. But the food is excellent. Highly recommend a dinner there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazingly delicious”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We happened upon Restaurant Week and had 3 courses for $28.00. Truly a lovely surprise. It was delicious; perfectly seasoned and filled with fresh ingredients. We had the fresh vegetable rolls, bbq pork ribs, yellow curry with prawns (a little spicy and a little sweet -- perfect), trout, and banana cake. Our server, Will, was wonderful- he advised us on ordering so we would sample a variety of dishes and suggested the perfect wine. Truly an amazingly delicious dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Want a side of construction with your meal?”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

With my brother visiting from out-of-town, I made a lunch reservation on-line at Monsoon in Seattle. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were greeted by nails being hammered, drilling and other construction sounds.

There was no mention of the construction on the restaurant's website. And there certainly was no apology from the restaurant staff - they acted like it was business as usual.

We opted to go elsewhere. So, keep this in mind if you want a quiet meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon also viewed

 

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing