We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inventive Eggs Benedict”
Review of Monsoon

Monsoon
Ranked #343 of 4,137 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Inventive Eggs Benedict”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Enjoyable brunch with a friend. Had the Eggs Benedict with pork belly on rice- great flavors! Served with a side of baby bok choy that made for a great late night snack that evening. The coffee was decent for Seattle. The lemongrass mimosa was refreshing. Only complaint was that the meal was not properly expedited... after ordering dim sum for appetizers, the entrees showed up moments after shrimp dumplings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAJ-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good and dependable”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been going to Monsoon almost weekly over the past year or so since it's close, has good parking and we like Monsoon's modern take on Vietnamese food. The food is almost always very good or excellent. The dim sum (served on the weekends) is always excellent. We stopped going a number of years ago because it was cold and the service mediocre. We started coming back in no small part because the restaurant is kept warmer and the service has improved significantly. The food has not changed. It has been consistently good from the beginning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, little cold”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food and service were great. Atmosphere is a little cold, as in stark and temperature. We had to keep our coats on.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Deep, fresh flavors”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Dined with friends on the "3 for $30" special. Both food and service were really exceptional. Even with the "limited" menu, there were enough choices to taste many dishes and we could "family style" the plates to enjoy enough of each dish to really experience the depth of flavors. For appetizers, the standouts were the barbequed ginger pork ribs (with hot towels provided for mop up) and the crispy vegetarian rolls. The claypot catfish and drunken chicken were so good, we practically licked the plates and the asian eggplant was a hit with even the die-hard meat lovers. We sampled all three desserts and declared each the winner. We were undecided about which wine to chose and the staffperson recommended and even brought a sample of a lovely German reisling. This meal ranked as one of the best meals we've ever had in the years we have participated in the Dining in Seattle events.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good vietnamese”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Not quite the best place for vegetarian food, but we were well taken care of by the chef modifying the menu to accommodate us. We like the ambiance and our friends enjoyed the non-vegetarian choices. We plan to go there again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VJ7439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing