We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing first time experience with Indian cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kastoori Grill

Kastoori Grill
Ranked #431 of 4,062 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Redmond
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing first time experience with Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

It was our first time formally having Indian food (I visited Kerala in 2005 but didn't really care about the local cuisine at the moment as I was too young)

We decided on Kastoori based on TripAdvisor reviews.

We parked on 1st Ave. and we smelled our ways to Kastoori!

It was a late saturday lunch but they still had their buffet running, which was an incredible value (we paid more for the parking than for the food) and a great sampling opportunity.

We especially liked chicken tandoori, chicken tikka and the naan. It was very good and we actually rooted for the restaurant to other customers that were considering coming in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bureado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    60
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Smells delicious from outside, tastes delicious inside.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Located a few blocks from the Pike Place Market, it offers lunch buffet with Naan, and a la carte dinner. We went for dinner, the food was great, and the service very attentive. The Kofta is unbelievable. I strongly recommend it to anyone that does not know what to order, and is not very familiar with Indian food. The Tandoori food is also great, with great kudos to the chicken tikka (not masala), which comes sizzling.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Palomo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I actually found this place because my walking tour went past and we all sucked in a deep breath and said "That place smells AMAZING!" so I actually came back after the tour ended to get some take out for dinner. I had the lamb korma with a garlic naan and it was so delicious, I was very happy. The lamb was chunky and cooked perfectly, and the flavours were fantastic. Even the rice by itself was tasty, and don't even get me started on the garlic naan - it was HUGE and so, so good. Plus the portions were huge - I had enough left over for dinner the next night too. I would highly recommend Kastoori Grill, I only wish I lived closer because if I did, they'd be my regular take-out spot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmonster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average, disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is just OK, I had some takeout and it smelled great all the way back to the hotel but the meat was not marinated well, chicken tasted like eating cardboard... and on top of that a bit pricey as well compared some other places in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food We've Ever Eaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

After a day of walking around Seattle, we ended up being a little hungry around 3 pm. We of course started drifting toward Pike Place Market where we ate most of our meals. As we were walking down a hill towards the market, we saw a sign on the sidewalk advertising happy hour meals at this Nepalese, Indian, and Tibetan restaurant. With that combination, we had to stop in to try it out! We weren't disappointed! The decor inside wasn't anything fancy, but who cares when the smell you're welcomed with drifts you into a food coma before the first bite!

My husband ordered a cocktail with guava that was delicious. We split two meals from the happy hour menu. I have no clue what we ate, but it was some of the best food we've ever put in our mouths. Seriously. We've been salivating over this place since our visit in August 2012.

Next time we travel to Seattle, we will definitely be trekking back to Kastoori Grill!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thegretchmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kastoori Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kastoori Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing