We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kastoori Grill

Kastoori Grill
Ranked #428 of 4,057 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dallas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average, disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is just OK, I had some takeout and it smelled great all the way back to the hotel but the meat was not marinated well, chicken tasted like eating cardboard... and on top of that a bit pricey as well compared some other places in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    60
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food We've Ever Eaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

After a day of walking around Seattle, we ended up being a little hungry around 3 pm. We of course started drifting toward Pike Place Market where we ate most of our meals. As we were walking down a hill towards the market, we saw a sign on the sidewalk advertising happy hour meals at this Nepalese, Indian, and Tibetan restaurant. With that combination, we had to stop in to try it out! We weren't disappointed! The decor inside wasn't anything fancy, but who cares when the smell you're welcomed with drifts you into a food coma before the first bite!

My husband ordered a cocktail with guava that was delicious. We split two meals from the happy hour menu. I have no clue what we ate, but it was some of the best food we've ever put in our mouths. Seriously. We've been salivating over this place since our visit in August 2012.

Next time we travel to Seattle, we will definitely be trekking back to Kastoori Grill!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thegretchmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasty appetizers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Walking down Stewart St. toward the Pike Place Market, you pass this little place with unusual foods from Nepal, India, and Tibet. I chose the curried mussels, knowing the shellfish had to be fresh here on the edge of Puget Sound. (8.95). They recommend Nepalese naan bread for dipping up the sauce (ginger, garlic, curry in wine, really good). It was my first time for either, so can't take issue with those who did not like the naan, but as a dipper, I thought it did the honors.I would come back to try Tibetan thukpa or some of the tandoori entrees.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food! If you like Indian food, you will not be disappointed. Every plate at our table was wonderful. The best naan I have ever had.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nlsohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
779 reviews
509 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great smells, good food, mediocre naan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were drawn in by the smell of food cooking. The place is in the basement of a building and is something of a slightly large hole-in-the-wall. Of the three dishes we tried, a Nepal lentil dish (Jhane ko dal) was quite tasty and came medium hot as ordered. A soup (Tibetan Thukpa) was also good. Less successful but still quite edible was Dahi Bhada, a curd/beat fritter. It's a cold dish, which was perhaps not what we expected. The naan lacked the texture and taste that most Indian resturants achieve, and that was the only real disappointment. I would definitely plan to return to Kastoori if I'm back in Seattle. There's lot to explore on the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jxx9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kastoori Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kastoori Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing