We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleased!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove, West Seattle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grove, West Seattle Inn
Ranked #57 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Pleased!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed 10 days at The Grove when we helped our daughter and family move. They have a wonderful breakfast. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We could easily walk to the "main" street for groceries, restaurants, actually all of our needs. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JusteenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on TripAdvisor. The Grove really is so conveniently located close to all the restaurants and shops in West Seattle and is right on the bus routes to downtown Seattle. It it so easy to get around with or without a car. I hope the move went well and when you are back to visit, we hope you will use The Grove for your lodging needs.
Hope to see you soon!
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    129
    37
    4
    4
See reviews for
115
97
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem OR USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Visited relatives in West Seattle recently and stayed at The Grove. This was the third time we've stayed there this year and again it was just what we needed and wanted. It's clean, comfortable, affordable, great location, nice continental breakfast, and warm, welcoming, and helpful staff. A fan in the bathroom would be a welcome addition, but besides that, well done again, The Grove!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
The Grove really has become the "friends & family" place to stay while visiting West Seattle. We really appreciate your continued visits to our little motor inn and are very happy that it has everything you need while you are here.
Being the older property that we are, we have found some physical limitations that are difficult to overcome...fans in a few of the bathrooms being one of them. Most of the units do have them but there is a section that due to the building design, make it almost impossible to install them. If I can find a way to do it, it will happen.
We look forward to your next visit.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have stayed at this little inn several times. It is clean, simple and has a most friendly staff!
Had a request for more lighting and we had a lamp immediately. A great place in West Seattle! Simplicity and great basic lodging! West Seattle has wonderful restaurants and "small town feel."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful review, and continued patronage of our little Inn. I should mention that our long awaited lamp order finally showed up and we now have the required lighting in all the units. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

"The Grove, West Seattle Inn," is an excellent choice for lodging if you plan to visit Seattle.Perfect for access to downtown, which is literally just minutes away. The transformation of this property has been encouraging to see. Now I find, "The Grove", to be a better choice than many locations downtown.

"The Grove", offers free parking, a well appointed continental breakfast, (which included fresh fruit and Greek yogurt), and clean comfortable rooms. The staff is exemplary, always kind and friendly, attentive to any need you express. I have stayed here both when traveling alone, and with my family. To my delight, when I stayed here with my family, I noted the staff was wonderful in their interaction with my son, who experiences Autism.

West Seattle itself offers many wonderful eateries, interesting shops, the historic, "Husky" delicatessen, and even boasts it's own local theater company, "Arts West." If you enjoy the outdoors, West Seattle can't be beat. Alki beach offers miles of waterfront access, with phenomenal views of downtown and the Olympic Mountain range. Lincoln Park, near the Vashon Ferry dock, is a definite asset. Family friendly, and great for romantic walks along the shoreline. In addition, the park offers outdoor swimming during the summer months, at "Coleman Pool," surrounded by the Puget Sound on three sides.

If you need a weekend to recharge your battery and reboot your attitude, West Seattle and "The Grove" await you with welcoming arms!

Gayla k. Guenther - Vancouver, Washington

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishLassie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review of The Grove. You have listed just about every reason to stay here rather than a property in downtown Seattle. There is not much more that I can add except to say we are all happy that you enjoyed everything and hope to have you back as a guest soon.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Ideal location for me. Stayed here several years ago under a different management. Since then the hotel has been upgraded significantly. Great staff, nice rooms, good continental breakfast. I really enjoyed my stay.

I like West Seattle - close to freeways, close to downtown, great parks. An overall nice area. This hotel was ideal for my visit.

Minor issue - room not set up for business travel, i.e. outlets and lighting for work on laptop but would never keep me from staying here, even on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Grove. Yes, it is a totally different property now than it was 3 years ago. Everything has been renovated as far as the property goes and the staff will go out of their way for just about any guest request you have. We are always looking for ways to improve and as I mentioned in a previous post, we have ordered, and hope to have installed by the end of November, more lamps for the units that need them. This should help in some of those rooms that don't get as much outside light and during the dark winter evenings.
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Grove, West Seattle Inn is a very surprising find. I found the reviews to be very accurate in what was described. This is NOT an upscale, fancy hotel. But, if you are looking for a hotel in Seattle that is very clean, and will do you just fine, AND FOR UNDER $100 look no further.

We were well taken care of here. After the first night we made a request for extra pillows and they appeared by the time we got back to our room that evening. The breakfast is very adequate. The room is not large, but it is plenty big enough for two people to enjoy.

We can't say enough about finding a place in Seattle that is this reasonable and has free parking included!!! We were visiting family that live in West Seattle, but we would stay here even if we were spending most of our time in downtown Seattle. It is definitely close enough to drive back and forth. Without question, we will stay here the next time we visit Seattle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinner-wine-romance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Grove. No, we are not a fancy hotel with every amenity, but we do offer what the fancy upscale properties can't which is a low rate for clean, comfortable rooms and the best in guest service. We are also located in a nice area of West Seattle that is within walking distance of some great restaurants and shops, but also very close to downtown Seattle.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay for the weekend. There wasn't any storage or much counter space, but had all the necessary basics. I was surprised how clean everything was considering it's a pet friendly place. There were plenty of areas to relieve my dog, and nice neighborhoods to walk through. My only complaint was the traffic noise at night. The windows were old and not very soundproof. Otherwise, a nice place in a convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cl2863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Yes, we do love dogs here and welcome any dog owner to bring their pet with them. We do a great job cleaning rooms after there has been a dog in it so the next guest won't have any issues. What we offer here are clean rooms, a staff that will go out of their way to help you, and a very competitive rate. Some of our units are a little "tight" but we do offer alternatives for guests who need more room and storage for your items. Let us know the next time you are here and one of us would be happy to show you some other units that might fit your needs better.
Thank you for writing your review and we hope to see you back soon,
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#56 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Georgetown Inn
#19 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#73 of 100 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove, West Seattle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove, West Seattle Inn

Property: The Grove, West Seattle Inn
Address: 3512 SW Alaska St., Seattle, WA 98126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > West Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#32 Family Hotel in Seattle
#44 Business Hotel in Seattle
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grove, West Seattle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened Summer 2011 under new ownership and management, The Grove West Seattle Inn is an oasis of comfort and convenience perfectly positioned just minutes from downtown Seattle and Sea-Tac International Airport in West Seattle, a picturesque community with an eclectic small-town vibe. From our refreshingly renovated lobby, guestrooms and suites to our genuinely friendly staff, we go out of our way to provide a truly unique, highly personalized guest experience.Featuring 46 newly renovated guestrooms and suites, we’re intimate in size yet abundant in thoughtful amenities. Chat with fellow travelers in our new lobby, where we’ll treat you to some fabulous freebies, like free WiFi and complimentary continental breakfast. Kick back in freshly revamped guest accommodations, each painted in a rich, architecturally inspired color palate and furnished with flat-screen TVs and ultra-comfortable mattresses topped with stylish new bedding.Whether business or pleasure brings you our way, our location is central to a Seattle’s bustling commercial districts, as well as spirited local shopping, dining, sightseeing and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grove, West Seattle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove, West Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Travel Lodge
Seattle Travelodge
Travelodge Seattle
Travel Lodge Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing