We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice remodel of a very older style motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grove West Seattle Inn
Ranked #58 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We traveled to attend a west Seattle wedding with three other families. The TripAdvisor tips were helpful as I made sure our room was an 'inside' room away from the main road noise. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very service oriented. The breakfast was great - - included fresh blueberries, an assortment of Greek yogurt, cereals, hard boiled eggs, etc. Although we never took the Seattle metro bus it drove past the motel every few minutes so convenient to get to the downtown is a plus. We walked one block to a Trader Joes to get our adult beverages and snacks. The area around the motel is mostly industrial. You must know this is a motel style arrangement, affordable pricing as compared to what the accommodations would cost for downtown Seattle.

Room Tip: 'Inside' King room was quiet. Many of the rooms have motel doors that open to the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Grove on TripAdvisor. We are happy that enjoyed your stay with us and were able to see some of the local area. West Seattle a has so much to offer with out even going to Seattle. Even though we are a nicely renovated motor inn, we can still offer great guest service and clean affordable rooms without the hassles of being downtown.
I hope you will come back and visit us soon.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 330 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We made our reservation in advance, even spoke with them in the phone ahead of time, but because we checked in later in the evening, we got stuck with a room that was not up to par. The room had one of those portable a/c units that had a hose out the window. It was so loud, you could barely hear the tv. The window thing prevented the shades from closing out the street lights and noise, and to top it all off, everything had to be turned off to use the hair dryer because it blew the fuse otherwise.

There was an Oder in the room that smelled like a dog had relieved itself on the carpet, but due to allergies, I did not ask them to take care of it, fearing perfumes.

This is the only west Seattle motel that is available and they claim to have newly renovated, it appears clean but poorly thought out and pretty expensive.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a real air conditioner and shades that really close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

I am sorry that you did were not booked into one of our regular units. You are correct in stating that we are a recently remodeled property. One of the issues that was missed during the remodel was an electrical supply problem to the 4 units around the one you stayed in. What worked in 1960 doesn't work in 2013 with all the power requirements of refrigerators, air conditioners, hair dryers and such. We are going to get the power issue taken care of and then we will be able to install air conditioning units to eliminate the need for the portable, noisy unit that is presently installed. It was a quick and temporary fix.
We do hope that you will visit us again if you are back inn the Seattle area.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent a night there while attending a Mariners game. There was hardly a room in and around downtown Seattle. Came across this hotel on Trip Advisor so though we would look online. The night we wanted said no rooms but I emailed to double check. Within minutes we got a reply and luckily there was one room left. When we arrived we were surprised and happy to find a well maintained and clean property. Although there was no view from our room it didn't matter. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Showing us how to catch a bus downtown which was extremely easy from that location. As well as showing us where and how to get a water taxi downtown which we did for the afternoon game which was on the day we checked out. They allowed us to leave our car there while we went to the game which saved us quite a bit of money on Event parking at Safeco Field. Not to forget the continental breakfast which was included... overall a good experience experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

I am glad we had a room available and that you were able to stay with us while visiting Seattle. We are a little bit off the beaten path, but with all the transportation options available to us, it really makes it easy to go where ever you want in Seattle.
Unfortunately, when the newer taller buildings went up around us all the view rooms went away although some of the best views of Seattle are from parks and viewpoints located 5-10 minutes from the inn here in West Seattle.
We hope you will choose The Grove again when you are back in the Seattle area.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I picked The Grove because the TripAdvisor reviews were what we were looking for in Seattle: easy location to downtown and the port, affordable pricing, free parking, breakfast included, and very welcoming staff. It is the older style motel but updated with a minimalist decorating style, industrial colors, and very clean. We would stay there again. Use the viaduct to go to downtown and the port area. Interstate 5 can be a mess.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

You described our little inn perfectly. Thank you very much for the great review regarding your stay at The Grove. We all hope to see you back soon!
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The only game in town in West Seattle, the Grove is a (relatively) budget friendly option for the city. Rooms are average, but it is walking distance to the shopping/dining area and the service is friendly. Continental breakfast was above average. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcohen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit to The Grove. As the only lodging choice in West Seattle, we do our best to offer great guest service, convenience, and affordable rates. I am glad we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to having you stay with us again when you are back in the area.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Grove sits on a quiet street, by Seattle standards, with free self-parking. For the city mouse it is maybe ten miles from there across a short bridge to the Mariner's stadium, the soccer/football stadium, the big ferries, the cruise ships, the Space Needle, and Pike Place, Belltown and Lower Queen Ann eating and drinking . For the country mouse it is a few blocks from the road to the Fauntleroy Ferry and a short boat ride to the peninsula . The rooms are small 1960 motel room size and shape. But they are very clean with upscale appointments. A very good place to rest and freshen up for 1/3 to 1/2 the price of something ten minutes away where you take your life in your hands and worry about your car all night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sommer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

I am glad The Grove was the right lodging choice for you while in Seattle. As you mentioned, we are a nicely renovated motor inn. No frills, neat and clean rooms, great guest service and a great location close enough to Seattle but not right in the heart of downtown.
Thank you for your wonderful review, and we hope to see you soon.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Grove is a great location to explore Seattle in summer, conveniently located between downtown and Alki Beach in West Seattle.

The staff was extremely nice, we felt welcome from the very first minute. Parking is free, as is cable TV and breakfast with a nice selection of healthy and unhealthy food. It took us only a couple of minutes by car to Alki Beach on a nice day and approximately 10 minutes with the C line rapid bus transit to downtown with stops close to the major sights (Pioneer Square, Pike St, and Seattle Center). Oh, and it took us only a couple of minutes to get here from the airport!

It's a great location we'll certainly get back to if we ever get back to Seattle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your visit to The Grove. Even though we are a nicely renovated motor inn, we do offer a great location, clean rooms and fantastic guest service to our guests. If you are looking for a great low cost alternative to the downtown Seattle hotels but still want to be close, The Grove is a good choice.
We look forward to seeing you again.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Georgetown Inn
#18 of 104 in Seattle
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#70 of 104 in Seattle
817 reviews
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove West Seattle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove West Seattle Inn

Address: 3512 SW Alaska St, Seattle, WA 98126-2731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > West Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#24 Family Hotel in Seattle
#44 Business Hotel in Seattle
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $129 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grove West Seattle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened Summer 2011 under new ownership and management, The Grove West Seattle Inn is an oasis of comfort and convenience perfectly positioned just minutes from downtown Seattle and Sea-Tac International Airport in West Seattle, a picturesque community with an eclectic small-town vibe. From our refreshingly renovated lobby, guestrooms and suites to our genuinely friendly staff, we go out of our way to provide a truly unique, highly personalized guest experience. Featuring 46 newly renovated guestrooms and suites, we’re intimate in size yet abundant in thoughtful amenities. Chat with fellow travelers in our new lobby, where we’ll treat you to some fabulous freebies, like free WiFi and complimentary continental breakfast. Kick back in freshly revamped guest accommodations, each painted in a rich, architecturally inspired color palate and furnished with flat-screen TVs and ultra-comfortable mattresses topped with stylish new bedding. Whether business or pleasure brings you our way, our location is central to a Seattle’s bustling commercial districts, as well as spirited local shopping, dining, sightseeing and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Grove West Seattle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove, West Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Travel Lodge
Seattle Travelodge
Travelodge Seattle
Travel Lodge Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing