We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grove, West Seattle Inn
Ranked #58 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful little spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Recommended by a friend in Alki Point as near their home plus well commented on by family of a friend of theirs. Don't let the street view fool you! Modest looking, but more than exceeded my expectations on the inside. Nice lobby with coffee and lemon water available, and helpful and friendly staff. Room was very clean and comfortable. Loved having Seattle's Best Coffee to make in the room. Noisy air conditioner, but that may have been why I didn't notice any noise from outside and slept very well. Multi-dispenser on the shower wall for soap, shampoo, and conditioner a surprise; but do like how that keeps plastic out of the landfill. Breakfast room also modest but extremely clean. Much more affordable than comparable places downtown yet only 10 minutes away by car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FurKidMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grove. The staff and I are very happy that we exceeded your expectations about our Inn. As you pointed out, we are a motor lodge, but strive to provide comfortable and clean accommodations at a reasonable rate. We hope to see you back soon.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    129
    37
    4
    4
See reviews for
115
97
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The only hotel in West Seattle does not disappoint. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, affordable place to stay just outside of downtown Seattle this is your place. Rooms are small but clean and all recently updated. Free parking and a continental breakfast help keep your budget in check. Staff is helpful and nice and West Seattle is a fun place with a great view of downtown Seattle with an easy water taxi ride or 10 minute drive to downtown Seattle.

Room Tip: This is a motel so most rooms open to outside directly. There are a few inside rooms with a secured...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for the great definition of what this property is! I could not have described it any better. If you are looking for inexpensive, clean comfortable rooms and a friendly staff, this is the place, (the only place in West Seattle) to come to. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to serving you again.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and were happy with the choice. Clean rooms, great price and friendly staff. A Trader Joes 2 blocks away!! Awesome. $25 approx cab charge from the city centre. I used the laundry which was accessible after I called back a couple of times, the staff member was great & came down himself to make sure it was finally accessible. Bed was comfy, shower was great. Had an early start the next day and the staff were on hand to call a cab.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are great for overnight or multiple nights. There is so much to do in Seattle in the summer and our location makes it very convenient to get anywhere you want to in the city with or without a car. Besides the local shops and restaurants within walking distance, you can easily jump on the bus or water taxi and be in Seattle in minutes. Our staff goes out of their way to answer questions and provide information about the local area. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to give us a great review.
We hope to see you again.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Charming little spot in West Seattle. The grounds were spotless, the room was bigger than I thought it'd be, the beds were comfy. Lots of choices for breakfast. The staff were awesome - very attentive and kind. Great location. We'll definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Our room off Alaska was a bit loud - sirens and buses and such.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I just love responding to reviews like yours. It is just great to hear that you were treated well by the staff since that is really what brings guests back to stay again and again. Yes we are a recently renovated motor inn, and with that comes a little bit of road noise and outside entrances. We do try to overcome that by providing a clean, convenient and inexpensive alternative to being downtown. Thank you and we hope to see you soon.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Rooms small but recently upgraded with good block out blinds. Quiet and Clean. Excellent staff. Continental breakfast provided. Great location to take ferry across to Pike Street market. Near California Ave - fun shopping. Lots of great restaurants in this district. Used this hotel as I was visiting family in West Seattle. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Grove. Yes, we are a recently renovated motor lodge and some of the units are smaller, but we also offer a few suites including 2 one-bedroom units for those looking for something a bit larger. We really make up for some of the physical "motor lodge" feel with our clean and comfortable rooms, walking distance to all the restaurants and shops in "The Junction" and of course our excellent guest service.
We hope to see you again when visiting the area.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the grove for three nights during a graduation trip, and I have no complaints. It's a couple blocks from downtown West Seattle with restaurants, grocery stores and coffee shops in walking distance. Downtown Seattle is only minuets away!!!! Clean, spacious and wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We all appreciate your wonderful comments regarding your visit to The Grove. As we are the only lodging in West Seattle, we strive to also offer the best guest service and clean, comfortable rooms for our guests. It is amazing how much there is to do in Seattle, and our location allows easy access to everything the city offers without the hassles of being "downtown". Thank you very much for choosing The Grove for your lodging choice and we hope to see you back soon.
John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

A perfectly fine hotel for a visit to West Seattle! In terms of amenities, I would put it on a par with Hampton Suites. The desk staff was VERY helpful, especially with regards to receiving and storing my "lost" luggage when the airline finally found it that night. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertTonawanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove, West Seattle Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for the comparison to Hampton Suites. The Grove is a neatly renovated motor inn that the staff and I take great pride in by offering great guest service and reasonable rates. I am extremely happy that the staff was able to provide assistance with your lost luggage.
We hope you will choose The Grove for your lodging needs the next time you are in the area.

John Coney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#57 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Georgetown Inn
#18 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#71 of 100 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove, West Seattle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove, West Seattle Inn

Property: The Grove, West Seattle Inn
Address: 3512 SW Alaska St., Seattle, WA 98126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > West Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#32 Family Hotel in Seattle
#44 Business Hotel in Seattle
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grove, West Seattle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened Summer 2011 under new ownership and management, The Grove West Seattle Inn is an oasis of comfort and convenience perfectly positioned just minutes from downtown Seattle and Sea-Tac International Airport in West Seattle, a picturesque community with an eclectic small-town vibe. From our refreshingly renovated lobby, guestrooms and suites to our genuinely friendly staff, we go out of our way to provide a truly unique, highly personalized guest experience.Featuring 46 newly renovated guestrooms and suites, we’re intimate in size yet abundant in thoughtful amenities. Chat with fellow travelers in our new lobby, where we’ll treat you to some fabulous freebies, like free WiFi and complimentary continental breakfast. Kick back in freshly revamped guest accommodations, each painted in a rich, architecturally inspired color palate and furnished with flat-screen TVs and ultra-comfortable mattresses topped with stylish new bedding.Whether business or pleasure brings you our way, our location is central to a Seattle’s bustling commercial districts, as well as spirited local shopping, dining, sightseeing and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grove, West Seattle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove, West Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Travel Lodge
Seattle Travelodge
Travelodge Seattle
Travel Lodge Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing