We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grove West Seattle Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Panama Hotel(Seattle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
143
145
42
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
145
42
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalki beachcontinental breakfastyogurtlincoln parktrader joesstay there againroom was cleannecessary amenitieshard boiled eggsair conditionerbus stopgreat place to stayfew blocksmini fridgefree shuttleno elevatorqueen bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 340 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

West Seattle is the best area of the city, and The Grove is the only hotel in this beautiful area. The hotel itself is a throwback to the 1960's--in a good way. No-nonsense, no frills, but spacious, clean rooms and a hotel staff that cares. Ten minutes to downtown Seattle, or a short walk to the heart of West Seattle's arsty commercial district. There's a well-equipped YMCA one block away, and the hotel has a special deal for guests. We will stay here often.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with external entry. They are larger and airier.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your continued patronage of The Grove. As you mentioned, even though we're just a small motor inn, we strive to provide the best and friendliest guest service, clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable rate. The Grove is the only lodging choice in West Seattle and the staff and I look forward to seeing you again.

John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our daughter lives in West Seattle so we have been staying at location for years. The new owners did a awesome job of transforming it to a beautiful and reasonably priced place to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable, parking is free. Love the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for writing a review of your visit to The Grove. We hear the same comments from a large number of guests who are familiar with West Seattle and the history of this property. Being the only lodging chioce in West Seattle, it was great that the new owners renovated it and really turned it into a nice place to stay. Our goal is to provide the best in guest service and fresh clean rooms at a reasonable rate. We look forward to serving you again when back in the area.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

It's tastefully decorated and pretty nice for how small the rooms are and the age of the motel. My husband and I appreciated the shampoo/soap dispenser in the shower as opposed to wastful little bottles. Way to be green! The walls seemed pretty thin as we could hear everyone walking down the hall or in the rooms next to us moving around. There were no extra pillows or blankets provided which would have been nice. Overall, it was a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our motel and give us a little feedback about your stay. Generally most of our rooms are pretty quiet so I apologize about being able to hear the other guests moving about.
Thanks for mentioning the shampoo/lotion dispensers. They not only save money, but do keep all those little bottles out of the trash. I also would like to mention that even though we don't keep extra pillows and blankets in the rooms, they are available for our guests at the front desk and we are happy to bring them to your room if requested.
Please let us know when you are back in the area and we will do our best to get you in a room that may be a bit quieter.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, definitely a cut above your usual motel. The site (just off busy Alaska St) is a little noisy, but parking is free, and you can catch bus #21 on Alaska to get to downtown & Seattle Center in 10-15 minutes. West Seattle itself is a nifty neighborhood most tourists miss--check out the shops, restaurants & general people-watching around the Junction (California & Alaska streets) and Alki Beach at the north end. We've stayed at the Grove 3 times, it's definitely our go-to place in Seattle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LR5246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of our motel. It is just great that you choose to stay with us each time you visit Seattle. This really is a neat little area of Seattle that most visitors miss unless they are here to visit their family. Even though we are just a small motel, our staff strives to make each guest feel welcome by offering great guest service and clean rooms at a good price.
We look forward to seeing you again when you are back in our area.
John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The room was nice and clean. There was a little fridge in the room for convenience. The breakfast does not have anything warm but is still nice. The staff was friendly and the location was easy to get to from anywhere else in Seattle. The bed was a little hard but all in all, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen41595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveW-SeattleInn, General Manager at The Grove West Seattle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your visit to the Grove. Our staff is dedicated to providing clean, comfortable lodging to our guests at an affordable rate. I'm sorry that your bed was a bit firm, but perhaps we can try a different unit out next time you are here. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope to serve you again when you are back in Seattle.

John Coney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews