We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret gem in west Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grove West Seattle Inn
Ranked #61 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My son and I stayed at The Grove for 4 days while in Seattle to attend a jazz concert. It could not have been more of a perfect spot. Location was great for walking to coffee shops, restaurants and golf course. It was easy access to downtown Seattle for the tourist spots. The room was large enough and always very clean. There was no pool which would have been nice. Will stay there again. .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Booklass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 326 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

My Mother and I spent the night of Saturday, June 23, 2012 with my daughters when we were in town for the Junior Olympics. This motel was in a great location for us, clean, classy, and the bed was most comfortable. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was plentiful and good, and I can't think of anything that was negative. Thanks, and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you need to stay in West Seattle, the Grove is a great place. It's in walking distance to the junction, a bowling alley, Trader Joe's, and yoga studio. It's also close to the W. Seattle Bridge if you are driving back and forth into Seattle proper often.

The rooms are spacious and clean and modern and not overly "designed." Our room came with a large kitchenette and comfy couch and desk and felt much bigger than most hotel rooms I've stayed in. The bathroom is a bit on the small side, but who wants to stay in the bathroom the whole time anyway?

You can eat your morning breakfast or have a coffee at the very cute, homey picnic tables by the lobby. And nearby Diva Espresso is pretty darn good, too.

Room Tip: I heard rooms on the first floor could hear more street noise. On the second floor, we had no sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaylawriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed for a week at The Grove. Was better that we thought. Room was clean and fit our needs. Would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Grove is a friendly and very affordable neighborhood motel.

The location cannot be beat, as it's within walking distance of several good restaurants, a new Trader Joe's, and the funky West Seattle Junction shopping district. It's also close to the West Seattle Bridge, which connects directly to both the 99 and the 1-5, putting you downtown in minutes.

The rooms are large and clean, although they are rather spartan for their size, and the TV didn't scrimp on channel selection. The bed was harder than our liking, and we both seemed to suffer from aching backs after a couple of nights.

The room came included a basic breakfast of Kellogg's cereals, pastries, juice, coffee, and plenty of fruit, but West Seattle is also full of tempting brunches at places like Luna Park, Circa and Easy Street Records.

The hotel staff were particularly friendly and helpful, and it definitely felt like it was a well-run establishment. It was much more charming and relaxed than a typical corporate motel chain.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bocadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My family visited Seattle overnight and needed a reasonably priced, but clean and well maintained, place to stay. While the hotel is nothing spectacular from the outside, the rooms are very clean and newly remodeled. The furniture is IKEA grade, but more than adequate. While there is only one chair (IKEA office style) we actually found the roll-out table under the desk useful for playing cards! The street traffic is a little loud, but not as bad at the fancy hotel we stayed at by I5 the last time we stayed in Seattle and paid almost 3X as much! The neighborhood is pretty nice, with some nearby shops and stores nearby. A bus stop is located adjacent to the hotel and is the best way to get around this big city, including getting to Safeco or Century Link Fields. Overall, a pleasant stay in a part of town we'd never seen before. For a nice outside walk ask for directions to the nearby Alki Park. Good biking and walking areas along the sound with a great panoramic view of Seattle's west side.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms face away from Alaska Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The location was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and orderly. We had an excellent experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Georgetown Inn
#15 of 103 in Seattle
545 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#71 of 103 in Seattle
782 reviews
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#55 of 103 in Seattle
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove West Seattle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove West Seattle Inn

Address: 3512 SW Alaska St, Seattle, WA 98126-2731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > West Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#32 Family Hotel in Seattle
#44 Business Hotel in Seattle
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $130 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grove West Seattle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened Summer 2011 under new ownership and management, The Grove West Seattle Inn is an oasis of comfort and convenience perfectly positioned just minutes from downtown Seattle and Sea-Tac International Airport in West Seattle, a picturesque community with an eclectic small-town vibe. From our refreshingly renovated lobby, guestrooms and suites to our genuinely friendly staff, we go out of our way to provide a truly unique, highly personalized guest experience. Featuring 46 newly renovated guestrooms and suites, we’re intimate in size yet abundant in thoughtful amenities. Chat with fellow travelers in our new lobby, where we’ll treat you to some fabulous freebies, like free WiFi and complimentary continental breakfast. Kick back in freshly revamped guest accommodations, each painted in a rich, architecturally inspired color palate and furnished with flat-screen TVs and ultra-comfortable mattresses topped with stylish new bedding. Whether business or pleasure brings you our way, our location is central to a Seattle’s bustling commercial districts, as well as spirited local shopping, dining, sightseeing and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grove West Seattle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove, West Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Travelodge
Seattle Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Seattle
Travelodge Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing