We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #61 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Great facility, all suites, nice breakfast, too. This residence inn is situated at the south end of lake union and across the street from several great restaurants. In addition, it is a 10 min walk to the MOHAI (museum of history and industry) which is phenomenal --as well as the Center for Wooden Boats. You can also catch the tram right in front and ride to the shopping mall which is not far from Pike Place Market.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank chester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 839 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here for a three week work trip in December. The hotel is in a very convenient location with easy access to public transport. There's a bus stop right across the street and the street car / bus stops right at the main entrance of the hotel. It takes about 15 mins by bus to downtown. The rooms are faily big. There's a living area with a small work space. The bedroom has a very comfortable queen sized bed. There's a vanity space and a reasonably sized bathroom. The rooms also have an attached kitchen complete with all the appliances you might need to fix yourself a small meal. They have a breakfast buffet every morning and the spread is great! The timings of the buffet are perfect even if you need to head out to work fairly early in the morning. The hotel staff is very friendly and always ready to help you with any information you might need. Overall a great place for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashwini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for an event with Seattle. Brought our Yorkie and Chihuahua. We had a king suite with a sofa bed and balcony for $119 rate (room 606). The were pleasantly surprised to find the room had a kitchenette (full size fridge, range top, dishwasher, microwave, dishes). The room was quite comfortable. They are in the midst if remodeling on our floor and it did not impact our stay. The lobby is gorgeous. Plenty of seating area for the continental breakfast and the spread hit the spot. We had dinner across the street at Dukes Chowder House. The hotel overall was as expected for its class which is why I gave it a 4 star. The event we attended happens every year so we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Hollie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here for a week in December. Room was very comfy, clean, and the staff was very friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating. We love having a little apartment of our own when we away. Onsite parking was great but a little dear at $25/night-but safe, clean, and secure with two under ground levels. Breakfast every morning was very good w/a full freshly cooked selection-manager's reception M-W was just OK with a light meal and soft drinks-but well received after a long day out. Overall it was a great place to stay, nice facility, well managed, good location for Seattle downtown area or day trips in the greater Seattle area. The nearby Mercer-Fairview streets intersection is a traffic bottleneck for this area-so give yourself extra time.

Room Tip: Fairview street side rooms would be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This Residence Inn has a lot going for it, a great location (especially if you want to enjoy the South Lake Union district or catch a trolley into downtown, but don't necessarily want to stay downtown), the staff are very friendly, there are large rooms, my bed was comfortable, and a great breakfast buffet in the morning. However, a couple of quirks make it just a little underwhelming. Having stayed in a number of Residence Inn's in other states, I was surprised the "manager's reception" was only Monday - Wednesday evenings. This really isn't a big deal, but something that just seemed to indicate the hotel was cutting back. Plus, the fact beer & wine were only served at the Wednesday evening reception...which could be a little disappointing for those who are used to RI's beer & wine at every reception. However, it should be noted that they did serve some great hummus and guacamole in the evening which was really a nice touch.

The other quirk for those who like to swim, their website shows a nice rectangular pool that would be great for lap swimming; but what it doesn't show is that one entire end of the pool consists of stairs leading down into the pool which makes it almost useless for lap swimming. And since the other end is almost 6' deep, not much of a kid-friendly pool for playing. It almost appears they initially designed a lap-swimming pool and then when they went to build it just made one end a series of stairs without thinking about it. Too bad, as it really would have been a great pool for exercizing in.

Otherwise, the hotel was very nice, somewhat a typical RI, with some plusses and minusses for comparison.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Northernwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights last week and found it better than hoped for. the main attraction to picking this hotel was that it was the only place we could find that had 2 bedroom room 2 bath suites at a reasonable price. The room was perfect for traveling with family. The furniture was a bit outdated but everything else was clean and comfortable. The bedrooms are separated by a nice little living room and kitchen. Location is ideal directly across the street from a nice park at the waterfront and some nice restaurants . Getting to the downtown area is very easy and close. This hotel also had a great lobby to sit in . Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Parking is $25 per night which seems excessive but all things considered it was not a big deal. Overall a very good place to stay especially with family.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank dfranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed at this location ten years ago and enjoyed my stay. I just checked out after a three day stay over Thanksgiving and couldn't have been more disappointed. The furniture was shabby, as if a dozen cats had been using the furniture as a scratching post for a decade. The bed was sagging in the middle and the linens were threadbare. Plates at breakfast had food caked on, but were in the clean pile. The carpet in the room and throughout the rest of the hotel was stained. The website advertised a "lake view" and I was given a view of a brick wall. When I pointed this out to the staff, they treated me as if I was crazy and informed me that they have no such advertisement. I checked and it exists. The staff was repeatedly rude and after I departed, I had over $700 worth of charges on my credit card including fees for parking (didn't have a car) and a pet fee (my cat passed away a month ago). When I phoned, they claimed that there was litter in the bathtub and they could only find $160 and some change in charges. Not sure where the $500+ came from. I will never stay in another Marriot again because of this experience. The manager even followed me out while I was putting luggage in the car and watched me as if I was a criminal. Shocking! Shame on you Marriot!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santhomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, General Manager at Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay, and that we did not exceed your expectations. Your experience with us is not indicative of our usual standards for service and quality. I would love the opportunity to speak with you about your stay and at the very least make sure that everything has been corrected with your billing. You can email me at rnoel@innventures.com or give me a call at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan Noel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Address: 800 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $153 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing