We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“In Seattle to begin cruise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #61 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
OKLA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“In Seattle to begin cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Has never stayed in this area. We checked in very early and they had a room ready for us.Enjoyed eating at Duke's which was across the street- lakeside. Didn't use streetcar though we had planned to-it runs right in front of hotel. Hotel recommends a driver who very promptly (5 min) picked us up at airport in large SUV-had made reservation with him. The next morning he took us to Pier 91-exactly 13 min from hotel.
Tours Northwest picked us up at hotel for afternoon tour and returned us there.
Nice breakfast area. Room was find with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    308
    71
    38
    18
See reviews for
353
147
33
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here with my husband, son and mother August 21-24th. prior to our Alaska Cruise.
The check in was smooth, reception staff was very friendly.

We had a two bedroom suite. It was spacious, clean and the beds were comfortable.
We were very happy with our choice. There are 3 flat screen TV"s. the first bedroom had two queen beds and the second bedroom had a king bed. There was coffee and popcorn on the counter. The kitchen was stocked every thing you would need including a stove top, microwave, and full size refrigerator (if you wanted to cook), along with paper towels, and dish soap.

Free Wi-Fi and free buffet breakfast and I must say it was one of the best I have had in a long time. There were evening snacks on Wednesday and Thursday.

This is a pet friendly hotel. I did hear a dog barking the first day while the owners were out, I called the front desk and they immediately took care of the barking. I did not hear the dog bark the rest of the stay.

We arrived about 1pm after a 6 hour flight, tired and hungry. I asked the front desk if they could recommend a good restaurant in the area (walking) they suggested Joey's across the street. The food was very good, not to pricey for lunch. We had a beautiful view with all the lake activity's.

This was our first trip with out a rental car. We decided to use public transportation, it was going to be an adventure.

To go downtown were told we could take the street car (trolley)which was just across the street. The price was $2.25 per person and there was a ticket machine that took debit. We were able to use the ticket all day. We transferred to the bus to get to the Space needle, using the same ticket. We went to pikes market transferring twice by bus. Then back to the hotel by bus. You have to buy this ticket at the trolley stop across from the hotel (it is located in the middle of the street).

The hotel does not have a safe in the room, but they do have safety deposit boxes at the front desk which I took advantage of. The front desk staff is very friendly, and the maids always said good morning.

Kirra

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We recently stayed at this property along with four other couples the night before we were cruising to Alaska. The location of this hotel was less than 10 minutes from the dock where the cruise ships depart for Alaska, so it was a good choice for us. The hotel had a very nice lobby and common area with a waterfall as the centerpiece and plently of comfy sofas and lounge chairs. We arrived around 1:00pm and could not check in until 4, but they were very accomodating to hold our luggage as we took in some sights of the Seattle area near the hotel. The front desk staff was very polite and assisted us in providing directions to the nearby sights of Seattle. The Pike Place Market and Space Needle were actually within walking distance which was nice, since we did not have the expense of a cab. The room was a mini suite, with a living room, seperate bedroom, and full kitchen. We even had a small balcony with chairs to sit and enjoy the view. The breakfast offered (included at no charge) was really good, having waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, oatmeal, an assortment of juices and fresh fruit. There was a nice open sitting area right off the restaurant where Sunday newspapers were provided free to all guests. Having breakfast here was very helpful to our group as there were no close places for breakfast, and we had to leave to be at our ship by 12 noon. I would most certainly stay here again if we are ever going to cruise out of Seattle. I used Marriott points, so this was a free stay for us, but I think the price would have been around $225.00 per night. Overall it was a very pleasant experience, great location, excellent free breakfast, and very nice accomodations for our overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMCranford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The front desk staff, particularly Karlea were so polite and helpful. The lobby opens up into an atrium with a big waterfall.

Our room was beautiful and roomy. The full kitchen is very convenient. The views of Lake Union and the Space Needle were lovely. Full breakfast is included with eggs, potatoes, meat, pancakes, waffles, fruit, yogurt, muffins, bagels, cereal, coffee, tea, juice, milk & more.

$25/day for underground parking.
Located on trolley line that goes downtown and connects to the monorail.
Great central location for getting around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Axcen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed in a 2 bedroom for one night in August. The room was very clean, and the beds fantastic! The front desk staff was helpful around the clock. Morning buffet breakfast was nice. Good location in Seattle, where some of the neighborhoods leave a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momentum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Dozens of tired, disgruntled people draped all over lobby waiting well past 4pm for rooms to be cleaned AND at least 6 employees standing around chatting at check-in desk. REALLY! Go clean the rooms! No offers of complimentary beverage or even a drink of water while waiting. Also, location is not so great an area. Upon arrival there was a person sprawled on the entry steps outside, obviously passed out!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JELC2036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Blanca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Clean friendly easy to get to on public transportation. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent. Spacious rooms were inviting and beds were very comfortable 2 BD Suite slept 6 easily. Spa was perfect after a day of travel.

Room Tip: 2 BD Suite excellent for big families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Property: Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Address: 800 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4412
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing