We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good for the stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this place for 8 nights due to work and have to say its pretty good, the fitness center is available after 5am which is good timing before work, I got a bracelet lost here and the hotel manager sent me an email about writing a check for the amount, I'll keep you posted

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    321
    76
    38
    19
See reviews for
366
154
33
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel after attending a concert at Benaroya Hall (home of Seattle Symphony) rather than drive home (30 mins south of Seattle) and then drive north again the next morning. The hotel is located at the south end of Lake Union which is just north of the downtown area. It was built several years ago but appears to be maintained in excellent condition. The core of the hotel is a large atrium that rises from the first floor to the top floor.

Our room was a king suite studio. It was nicely furnished with a medium size flat screen,(32 in?) sofa, recliner and kitchenette. The room appeared very clean and all the furnishings were in very good condition. The kitchenette came equipped with a full size refridgerator. 2 burner cook top, dishwasher and microwave. There was also a shopping list you could submit and have groceries picked up for you. It had the usual plates, glasses utensils, and basic set of pots and pans. This is a very nice set up if you're on business or are going to stay more than a few days. On the first floor, there is a mini convenience store with milk, cereal, frozen meals, and beverages.

What's also great is the location. There are quite a few restaurants in the area, but the hotel sits across the street from Daniel's Broiler (excellent food and service), Duke's chowder house, and others.

The South Lake Union Trolley (known to the locals as the S.L.U.T.) stops across the street and takes you the downtown area. From there you are within a block or so to Nordstroms, Macys, Westlake Center (monorail) and a 10-15 walk to Pikes Market. The trolley also passes a Whole Foods Market on the way, convenient for those with an extended stay in Seattle.

The hotel served an excellent breakfast. They had the usual breads, cereals, waffles, but they also had freshly made sausage patties, scrambled, eggs, red potatoes, and french toast. The hot breakfast menu appears to change daily. They also offer some light evening meals, but check with the hotel for the time and frequency.

We had a very nice overnight stay and I believe the Marriott Residence Inn was preferable to the other hotels that we have stayed at in the South Lake Union neighborhood.

Room Tip: There is some construction work on the south side of the hotel so if you want a really quiet room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fromak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holualoa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have stayed here many times as family meets to go to shows or Bumbershoot or whatever. Everyone meets downstairs over breakfast (included) and then the day unfolds. New public transport (S.L.U.T.- South Lake UnionTransit) makes monorail and light link rail all part of easy movement from A to B.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lalindabHolualoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed at this Residence Inn several times. We are always greeted by the staff and checked in without delay. It is particualrly convenient because we travel with our dogs and the hotel is very pet friendly. It also has the convenience and safety of secured underground parking. As a fan of the entire Marriott chain of hotels, this Residence Inn meets all of our needs. The suites are spacious, clean, and make for an enjoyable short term stay. The exercise room, pool and hot tub are always welcome to wind down after a busy day on the town. If you choose to dine in and prepare your own meals, the suites include a fully equipped kitchen. If you'd like to dine out, this Inn is right across from Chandler's Crab House and Daniel's Broiler, both Seattle fine dining spots. In the morning, it's especially nice that the hotel provides a full buffet breakfast for all guests. We always feel comfortable and 'at home' knowing our needs will be met whenever we stay at this Marriott property.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both wings and different floors and have always been happy with our rooms.....but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kini2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at this hotel in February for 1 night in a 2-Bedroom Suite on the 6th floor. We arrived early in hopes of checking in and enjoying the pool but we did not get the room until 4pm. We ate across the street at Chandler's Cove which was quite enjoyable. There is a problem with sufficient staff levels for housekeeping but if you get a regular single room, you check right in...the suites take longer to clean and result in later check-in times. The rooms are standard Residence Inn rooms and it was clean but not new. The location is smack in the middle of serious construction so keep your eyes peeled for the entrance. Additionally, you have to get a pass at the front desk to park in the hotel garage - it is a small garage but it is secure. The pool was nice - the kids enjoyed it. We found the staff to be ok - not as warm and approachable as at other hotels in Seattle. There is a full kitchen with dishwasher/microwave/oven & dishes/utensils/glasses. I did not see any pets but I did hear someone bouncing a ball late at night over my head. Our room has a balcony which was nice for 10 minutes to look out over the water but then the rain started and we were forced inside. The outside balcony area (tables/chairs) was not clean at all. We did not eat breakfast downstairs but it was jammed with people wall to wall and we saw no tables available when we left. I would not pick this place again for my family but I am very, very picky. For us, it was just ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorainSitges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I admit, I can't get over getting on an elevator in a hotel with a dog as big as a horse. So I will try not to let my negative bias of the notion of pet s in hotel rooms effect this review - they had a nice breakfast spread, and the property in clean although very plain inside. The room we stayed in was a suite - refrigerator and kitchenette, and master bedroom. Parking was $25 per night, and construction outside the front of the hotel made arriving at the premises a nightmare. Not the hotels fault - there is a great deal of construction going on in Seattle. Towels were clean and fresh, the internet was great and they even provided a cable for your computer. There is a kiosk to print our boarding passes - IBM 286 I think. All in all, it met our expectations for the trip.

PROS: Location, breakfast.
CONS: PETS IN ROOMS< ON FLOORS, ETC. Lots of children (no surprise).

Room Tip: Stay on the 7th floor - best chance for a view and relief from the pitter patter of little feet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is by far the nicest Residence I've ever stayed at. I have stayed at numerous Marriott properties over many years, and have found the Residence Inns to have the widest variation in quality/experience. There are some I'd go back to, and others I'd avoid at all costs.

The "lobby" area is actually an atrium, with fountains, flowing water that could be heard throughout, and plenty of tables. This atmosphere prompted quite a few guests to work in the the lobby rather than their rooms. It reminded more of some upscale hotels, with many of its rooms having entry doors facing the atrium.

This hotel has a great location, with rooms on one side facing Lake Union. There are 3-4 restaurants directly across the street, two of which are moderately priced, and one relatively high.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Property: Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Address: 800 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing