We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great seattle spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Ranked #60 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
portland, or
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great seattle spot”
Reviewed January 27, 2008

This is our second stay here, both times for the Seattle boat show. It's a perfect location for that, but also great for other Seattle desitinations, especially since the trolly stops in front of the hotel and takes you downtown where you can walk or take the monorail to Seattle Center. The breakfast is well above average, rooms are spacious, nice to have a kitchen and coffee is always available in the lobby. We are very picky about coffee and found theirs to be well above average. There are many nice resturants, Joeys, Dukes chowder House were quite good. Only negative were the beds were quite soft for us, but would not stop a return visit. The parking is about $10 less than downtown hotels. Even though they are renovating, there wasn't excessive noise or inconvenience. Also, don't pay extra for a "water view", isn't really isn't much.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank happpycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    322
    76
    38
    21
See reviews for
371
155
33
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

Our family (including 2 boys under 3 and a dog) stayed at the Lake Union Residence Inn this past weekend. Every staff person we met was very friendly and accommodating. Though we didn't book a "view room" (more expensive), we were upgraded when we arrived and our boys enjoyed watching the boats and seaplanes on the lake and the streetcar down below. We took full advantage of the kitchen as well as the robust continental breakfast.

Our room on the 5th floor hadn't been renovated yet but was very comfortable and clean. The king bed was so comfortable, with a nice variety of pillows. We got a rollaway bed for our oldest son and even that bed was comfortable - often rollaways are of the fold up variety and are miserable to sleep on. This was an actual twin bed on wheels with the same linens and comfortable pillows as our bed.

The hotel itself doesn't have a restaurant (no room service) but several restaurants (like Outback) offer delivery. The restaurants in the area are either seafood (across the street) or chain restaurants (outback, bucca de beppo). Belltown, with many cool local restaurants and coffee shops, is an easy drive or a 20 minute walk.

Since our boys wake up really early (5 a.m.), we really liked the fact that the pool opens at 5 a.m. It was a way to keep the kids occupied and away from the room so that we didn't disturb other guests who were probably sleeping. There is a deep pool, a small kids pool (3 ft) a dry sauna and a hot tub.

We opted to park on the street behind the hotel - the meter costs about $10 for the whole day as opposed to $20 in the hotel garage. The area around the hotel is all commercial (a public storage, cancer treatment center, day care center) so the streets were completely empty on the weekend. That's great for finding parking but probably not so great for security purposes. The Saturday night we were there, all the cars parked on the street had their windows shattered - probably about 12 cars in total. We just happened to be at a friend's house on Saturday night so our car wasn't hit. I have no idea what the hotel did for the owners of the cars. The neighborhood seems fine and this was probably just an unfortunate aberration. Obviously, if we stayed here again we would opt to pay for the garage.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, especially families. Having a kitchen is a great way to save money on lunches or dinners and it's also nice to have two separate rooms so that the kids can go to sleep and the adults can stay up a bit later. There's even a playground across the street, though we didn't visit since the weather was soggy and cold.

  • Liked — Room layout, cleanliness, kitchen
  • Disliked — Not the best proximity to good restaurants, shops
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Invisiblezipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This was a great hotel because of the feel of a small one bedroom apartment. We took full advantage of the kitchen and bought groceries for our three nights there. It is walking distance w/in great restaurants (right across the street!). And now that the Trolley is up and running, you can take that to the Seattle Center and Downtown. They have a stop right in front of the hotel! Very convenient, esp. when the free hotel shuttle bus stops running in the evening around 6pm.
The staff were all pleasant from the time we came till the end of our stay. The bed was very comfortable w/a feathered pillow top. There is a controlled heating and cooling system in the room. The only prob. w/that is the noise. But it really didn't bother us. Parking does cost money but there is free parking in the back of the hotel. There is meter parking & that's free after 6 and free all day Sundays.
The free breakfast in the morning was excellent. They offered the usual breakfast foods (home made waffles, eggs, sausage, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruits, etc.etc.).
It was a great stay and I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rosario07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2007

This is an older hotel but very well kept. It is in the stages of renovation. They started from top floor down. We stayed on the 2nd floor which wasn't renovated yet. The hotel was clean and comfortable. It is an all suite hotel with a kitchen and seperate bedroom. The hotel is built with the centre as a wide open atrium. It included full breakfast in the morning. The only thing is parking is expensive at $20/night. We found street parking around the hotel for free. The hotel is located 5 min from downtown Seattle and is pretty much off the highway. The Lake Union area is really nice. With the great Priceline price, it was an unbeatable value.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonrgun
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

I am a travel agent that just stayed at the Residence Inn. I really would like to commend the staff. They are very accomodating and try hard to please. The hotel is terrific value with a wonderful hot breakfast. The bed was extremely comfortable with tons of space in the
room. I will send my future customers to this hotel without worry.
Linda Lawrence

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank longrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

Excellent hotel. Stayed 11/4/07 - 11/7/07. We we booked for a room on the 2nd floor but I asked about availability higher up upon check-in. They graciously and quickly accommodated and we received a room on the 7th floor (highest floor) with a gorgeous view. They called it a partial view but I don't know why. It was a gorgeous view of everything. There's nothing negative that can be said about this hotel. One minor thing... $20.00/night for parking. But, it's completely secure parking and worth the price. You can walk to the space needle. It took us about 10 minutes. PT is close by. They're building a light rail across the street so I imagine when Spring rolls around that will be ready. Still, the monorail starts at the space needle and that takes you right downtown so that was a great way to get around. We didn't have to drive our rental car once when we were visiting the downtown area. The exercise room and pool are top-notch. Everything is very, very clean. The breakfast was more than fantastic with a huge selection of whatever you want. Check out the restaurant across the street called "Joey's"! Wow! Excellent food, service, atmosphere. Casual dress is fine although you wish you dressed up but only because it's such a beautiful restaurant. I highly recommend Joey's. It was a perfect hotel all-around and I would absolutely stay there again. Free Starbucks coffee in the lobby 24/7! And it was always fresh!

  • Liked — They allow pets. Clean hotel. Quiet, beautiful, everything.
  • Disliked — Parking $20.00/night
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank PerkyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Booked this hotel for $60+tax on Priceline, and I have to say I don't think I have ever got better value for my money. My wife and I stayed here for 1 night this past weekend based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were extremely happy with the hotel, and its central location. The breakfast is great and hot, and there is so much selection. A great value. Having a full suite I wish we had had more of a chance to enjoy the room. Great restaurants right across the street. Would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel. The only negative is that parking is $19 a night, but the front desk clerk advised us that we could park on the street directly behind the hotel safely, which we did. Great service.

  • Liked — All suite hotel and great, hot breakfast.
  • Disliked — Parking is not included, but can park for free on street behind hotel.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lobbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union

Property: Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Address: 800 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Business Hotel in Seattle
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Seattle Downtown/Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing