We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Staff was friendly but not importunate, room was clean, view was nothing special but ok.

Highlight is the fitness room: Great machines, almost all what you need, good choice of dumbbells, headphones and towels available. I missed something for upper back and a sandbag but as a hotel fitness room which is open 24 h/day it was awesome.

Wifi was too expensive, parking was ok (it´s good that selfparking is possible within hotel block).

Perfect place for couples or business people because of the proximity to shopping and convention centre.

Room Tip: Ask for good view, unfortunately we didn´t.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2test
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,040 - 2,046 of 3,241 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here for a 3 day weekend getaway. The room looked to be recently remodeled and was very nice. The bathroom was huge with a nice deep tub my wife enjoyed to soak in and the glass walk in shower was nice and roomy. The king bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of room to sit at while we were there. The staff was very friendly and ready to answer any questions. The hotel is in a nice central area to use public transportation and get around. The area itself seems to be more of a City issue as there are plenty of dealers and unsavory characters pretty much everywhere we went to see. All in all we had a fantastic time staying here and enjoying Seattle. The weather even cooperated for 3 days with no rain and all sun.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodieholic83706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Rating is somewhere between "Average" and "Poor". Rooms were cramped, furniture in living area was very poor, no A/C in bedroom area during the evening and night (vent present, but only blew air between 8am-6pm), price was outrageous for what you got, location was good, staff was friendly and helpful, Ruth Chris restaurant was only service for breakfast and food was not good, took over 40 mins to get food (not busy), and price was very high. Very disappointed! We have stayed in many Hyatt hotels, and we are willing to pay a higher rate, but this hotel fell short on so many levels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

After researching many hotels for location and TA comments we selected the Grand Hyatt for our first visit to Seattle. We arrived much earlier than the 3:00 check in and expected to leave our luggage with the bell hop and go exploring. Instead, the extremely friendly front desk clerk (Sarah) searched for an available room so we could check in immediately. When I told her we would prefer to wait if it meant getting a room with a view of the Sound she went back to searching and came up with another room for us. The room was extremely clean and well appointed with a spectacular view of the wharf area and space needle. The bathroom was spacious and well stocked with typical toiletries and very comfortable bath robes. The bed (we had a king) was comfortable, had plenty of pillows and was double sheeted which we especially appreciate. Our room had floor to ceiling windows and we enjoyed coming in from our day of sight seeing, pulling the chair and ottoman up to the window and enjoying a nice glass of wine (which we purchased at a nearby shop) and watching the streets below and the ferries coming and going. We loved having automatic shades that could be opened and closed with a switch by the bed. I would say these rooms are definitely on the spacious side compared to other city hotels we have stayed in. The location of the Grand Hyatt is perfect. Around the block from the Convention center and straight down Pine to Pikes Market, the Monorail to the Space needle, the Westlake Station (which goes to the airport) and a multitude of restaurants and shopping. We self parked our car in the adjoining garage which was $30 a day pre-paid with in and out privileges. We needed a car for later in our trip but in hind sight I think we would have saved money if we took the metro link from the airport and then rented the car in the city (Hertz is on the corner of the hotel) on our departure date. FYI the metro link is close by but would be an uncomfortable walk with luggage and heavy rain. We never used the car in the city as the hotel location is so convenient to everything we wanted to do. Truly the best thing about the Grand Hyatt is the large, clean rooms, location and most importantly the personnel. City hotels are a dime a dozen with hundreds of guests at any given time. For the most part the big chains are pretty comparable so I have to say that having the front desk clerk go to the extra effort of searching for "the perfect" room for us while smiling and sharing different tips about the city and things to do makes all the difference to us.

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously have better views. West facing rooms have views of the Sound and sunsets, No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gettygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

When we travel, we tend towards local color, which chains most definitely aren't. But with a free room opp at the Grand Hyatt, how could we say no?

This huge place is brilliantly located, a few short blocks from everything, including Pikes Place Market. The views from our room were lovely, the comforts standard Hyatt, which are very comfortable indeed. And terrific service personnel.

Would definitely stay here again. Kudos all around.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank criden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for four nights to attend a conference and tour Seattle. Our room was large and comfortable. It had good features including a do not disturb light. Not the bothersome card hanging from a door that can get lost, changed, or caught in the door. We called for extra coffee and some other items and they were delivered to the room quickly. The counter people and bell hops were very courteous and helpful. The hotel is located adjacent to the Washington Conference Center and very convenient to shopping, restaurants, Pike Place Market and the Seattle Center. I had to spend time in the lobby after we checked out until my spouse was done with the conference. It was very comfortable and had outlets and free wifi for my computer.

Room Tip: Try to get higher floor for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoying_retirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our rating is more: 3.75 "Trip Circles" than 4 for this super convenient hotel located in the middle of the downtown area. We were comfortable with expected Hyatt amenities in this large-sized hotel. Quaint & interesting city with some interesting sites, to-dos, and plenty of small dining spots...though the downtown area was quiet in the evenings. Let's move onto the hotel review:

The Good: With about a 35-40 min ride via the inexpensive Central Link Light Rail from SeaTac airport to the Westlake station downtown, you are about 1.5 short blocks from the hotel. In the area is shopping (basic chains and the famous Nordstroms which started in Seattle), some restaurants (though we suggest getting out of the area for more interesting dining options), 10 minute walk to the uber famous Pike Place Market, 2-3 blocks from the monorail that will take you to the Space Needle, EMP museum, Chihuly glass museum, and other attractions on the grounds (just one stop on the monorail... fun for kids), and easy reach to the piers (including small amusement park with ferris wheel) jutting out onto Puget Sound. Convention center is a block away, as well as many other hotels. We had a good sized room, plenty-huge, clean bathroom, and slept in a comfortable bed, with views down Pine Street to the Pike Place Market. We also had another room on different stay here, that had views of Space Needle. The rooms were basic, so do not expect full luxury, white-glove style hotel. In-room safe, prerequisite umbrella (for Seattle), robes, and small fridge fill out the fringes, along with standard toiletries. The concierge helped with some dining choices, though be specific of your limits or preferences. Ours tended toward suggesting hotel-related safe choices in the area, unless you pressed for something more uniquely local. For us still, the best thing of this hotel is its convenience to everywhere.

The Bad: Minor, but noted. The area in the evenings can feel deserted. Not an issue for walking around (safety or otherwise), but would have been nicer with some more souls in the area. The area gets quiet after rush-hour, and becomes strangely desolate. The hip areas are outside of downtown, and better options for dining outside of the hotel's sphere is suggested, so be adventurous...check with the concierge. For the hotel, some minor things, not deal-breakers, but noted here. The hotel has a definite 'coldness', 'corporate-y', 'identity-less' feel to it ... maybe just caters more to business clientele. As for our room, some crumbs on the carpet, daily newspaper was not delivered, even though during check-in they asked our preference, shower temperature was uneven sometimes, and TV was not best of HD quality. The check-in experience was a little cold, as there was no line, yet all (3) front-desk personnel were pounding away on the computer, not looking up when we entered. Again, not a big issue, but would be nicer with a warmer greeting. We hoped for a more 4-5 star feel, but didn't quite get there. Also, strange lobby, as you head to the elevators from the front desk, will walk past a giant tunnel-like hallway leading to many conference rooms for their conventions, etc.... made the hotel feel less warm and cozy, to say the least.

Summary: For a super convenient, comfortable, fairly by-the-numbers chain hotel, you cannot go wrong here. We wanted to feel some level of luxury from this one, but didn't get that "gee-wiz" delight factor of such. Don't get us wrong, it was fine for the basics and comfort. We did enjoy our stay in Seattle, and the hotel provided sufficient amenities and easy access to all that is this city. Would we recommend this hotel ?.... Yes, especially if you can get a good rate.

Happy "hotel-ing!"

Room Tip: Request a West facing, high floor for views of the Sound and Market
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unbiased&FairAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 104 in Seattle
2,534 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#33 of 104 in Seattle
4,691 reviews
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#44 of 104 in Seattle
2,735 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seattle

Address: 721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101-1815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#15 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $185 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hyatt Seattle will satisfy even the most sophisticated business & leisure travelers. Centrally located in downtown Seattle, next to the Washington State Convention & Trade Center, the hotel redefines the hospitality standard in the Pacific Northwest. Open spaces with a friendly accommodating spirit and high-tech wizardry, the hotel was created with meetings in mind. Its ballrooms, prefunction rooms and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space feature marble, fine woods, and rich fabric decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seattle
Seattle Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing