We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gorham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
265 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had one night in Seattle while traveling and I picked this place for it's location to Pike's Place. We took the light rail in from SEATAC which was easy and cheap-takes about 45 minutes with a very short walk to the hotel. Our room had a great view of the space needle and the beds were very comfortable. Regency club access had a great selection of evening foods and beverages. Breakfast options at regency club were good too. Both times it was not packed in there. We also took advantage of the computers to print our boarding passes. On our walk to Pikes Place, we walked by alot of sketchy people but no one bothered us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopsing-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We love that our central downtown location allows our guests to get around and explore the city easily. It's wonderful that the club and room amenities made your stay comfortable as our main goal is always to make sure that our guests are happy and their needs are accomodated. We would love to have you back with us on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,978
    740
    157
    42
    32
See reviews for
472
1,010
189
970
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a late post. We stayed in Grand Hyatt Sept 30-Oct 3.
We arrived at the hotel before noon and check in was fast and easy.
Our room is on the 21st floor. The room was big, clean and quiet. Wireless internet was fast.
Bed and pillows were comfortable and we had a good sleep.

Big bathroom with separate tub and shower ! The bathrobe was awesome !
If you forgot to bring some toiletries you can ring them up and they would gladly take care of it.

We used the gym a couple of times and find the gym first class. Machines are very new. I didnt get to see a swimming pool but found the spa just beside the gym however didnt get a chance to use it.

The club lounge is up on the 27/F and serves continental breakfast (and snacks in the late afternoon) Hungry after a good workout, we came in for breakfast at almost closing time (930 am) the club floor attendant was still very kind and did gave us some fruits and and cookies from the pantry. btw With your room card you can access the lounge anytime for coffee and chocolate drinks ! Alcohol however is not free.

I remember encountering a certain Bryan from Room service, he is courteous on the phone, knowledgeable and from the conversations he shows some personal warmness and a project good image for the hotel.

Hotel is strategically located and within walking distance to Pike place and even Pioneer Center is just a few mins of leisure walk.

btw Just across the hotel by the Pacific Place mall. We found another branch of the famous Pike Place Chowder. If you don't want to stand in line for chowder then this is a good alternative :)

Seattle is a great place to visit with so many interesting sites to go and visit. Food to try and with excellent and helpful staffs Grand Hyatt makes the whole experience a memorable one !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thinkbig16888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to an Alaskan cruise that was departing from Seattle. First off, the hotel's location can't be beat. It's within walking distance to Pike Place Market and other attractions downtown.... including the Space Needle if you're so inclined. The room we had was very spacious and since it was facing the water, we had a gorgeous view. The bathroom was really great (not only functional but aesthetically pleasing with nice earth tones). The only downside that I absolutely have to mention is the fact that it does not have a breakfast restaurant. We had to go to the other Hyatt (Olive 8) across the street to have breakfast. Now this might not be a problem for some but for people like us who like to have our breakfast at the hotel before we head out for the day, it was a tad disconcerting having to get out of the hotel for breakfast. Otherwise, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the water for beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I just returned from a weekend trip to Seattle and stayed at the Grand Hyatt downtown. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. I am a Lifetime Platinum member with Starwood, so always stay at Starwood options in Seattle, but had good rate and bonus point opportunity with Hyatt so opted to try the Grand Hyatt. Very well appointed property and beautiful rooms. Upon arrival was upgraded to an Emerald Suite on the 28th floor (I am Gold Passport Platinum) with a fantastic view down Pike Street to Pike Place Market and the water beyond. Service was great and friendly. Will definitely stay at Grand Hyatt again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's wonderful that you were able to try out our property and that you enjoyed your stay. We love that we can show off our beautiful city with some great views on our high floors. One of our top goals is to make sure we are providing genuine hospitatly and we are so glad that this is what you experienced. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tapps, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt for three nights in October while he attended a medical conference at the Washington State Convention Center, and paid the conference rate of $249 a night. We live an hour away from downtown Seattle, so it was great to walk out the hotel and be 1/2 block from the convention center, instead of making the drive every day. The hotel common areas and rooms are done in rich, soothing earth tones. The large lobby has a spacious seating area.

The room was clean and comfortable with up-to-date furnishings. I read other reviews that said the hotel looked worn, but found this to be only slight. We stayed in room 2207, which was pretty quiet with only the faint hum of traffic below. There was the occasional siren, but generally not loud enough to bother us. By the second night we were used to them and were not woken-up during the night. There was rarely any noise coming from the hallway, and no noise from the rooms next to us. House keeping was also quiet.

The best part of the room was the fantastic black-out shade that raises and lowers at the touch of a switch. There were also sheers that can be closed for privacy when the heavy shade is up.

The bathroom was large and nicely done in marble, with a big shower and large separate soaking tub. There was only one sink, but the bathroom counter was wide enough for two people to get ready at the same time. There was not a water closet. I was surprised that the hotel put only one robe and pair of slippers in a room where two people were staying, but did not bother asking for another one.

We had room service twice, which was prompt and our orders accurate. Food is expensive, as other reviewers have said, but no more than any other hotel in this price range. The quality was very good. I appreciated having gluten free items marked on the menu. One evening I ordered a hamburger (without the bun) and the person who delivered our food had run down the block to another Hyatt to get gluten free bread for me to eat with it. I was blown away that he did this, and very grateful!

We dined at Ruth's Chris for dinner twice during our stay, located just off the lobby. This was a huge splurge, but the food was delicious and they were wiling to modify dishes to my needs. The steaks there are excellent. We were a bit disappointed, however that they do not validate parking for their guests. Our son met us there one evening so he could eat with us and instead of validating his parking, they added the cost of it to the meal so he didn't have to pay outside. This was a big let-down, considering what we spent to eat. Even so, the restaurant staff was very pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed both meals.

If you are looking for a more economical place to eat, there is a Cheesecake Factory at the end of the block and inside the Hyatt is a Starbucks and a deli for fresh-made sandwiches, snacks and beverages. It was a great place to pick up bottled water for our room. (Sorry to say that the hotel doesn't offer separate waste cans for recycling.) As a local, I would recommend the Sea Star Restaurant and Raw Bar for great quality seafood. It's in the Pan Pacific Hotel, which is about five minutes from the Hyatt. There is not a view of Elliot Bay, but the food is much better than any of the restaurants along the waterfront, and they DO validate parking! There is also a Whole Foods market in the same complex.

Nordstrom is a block away from the Hyatt; Westlake Shopping Center is two blocks and Macy's three. Pacific Place, another multi-level shopping center with shops including Williams-Sonoma, Kate Spade, Tiffany's, L'Occitane, Papyrus and Barnes and Noble, is across the street. (There are also restaurants and a movie theatre.) A convenient way to get over to the Space Needle and Seattle Center is to take a short ride on the monorail, which leaves from Westlake Center. Also, be sure to ask at the hotel front desk for the Seattle Tourmap 2013, a full color map of the city which folds into a brochure and includes locations of many points of interest.

I used the fitness center during our stay, which was large and had plenty of equipment. There were no windows to look out, but the walls had floor-to-ceiling mirrors.

We would definitely stay at the Hyatt again and recommend it to anyone coming to town for a conference who would like to be in a location where you can walk to many of the sights in Seattle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A Grand Hyatt in the middle of downtown is a good thing to have.
Granted, this hotel may not be quite up there with some of the other GH's that I've stayed at (no pool?), but my experience was very good.

Smooth check in, room was a good size and nicely appointed with a huge bathroom which contained a nice soaking tub and a separate shower.
We had a nice high room, so no street noise at all, and the kid enjoyed the blackout shades on the windows.

Ideal location, walking distance to everywhere you'd want to go.
We ate at Blue C in the lobby and had fun with the conveyor belt sushi.
Concierge and bell staff were on point.
Nice stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Seattle, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. While we want our guests to experience everything that our wonderful city has to offer, we also love that most anything needed for a comfortable stay is accessable without leaving the hotel. We are so glad that you and your family were able to have such a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
935 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Large convention hotel conveniently located just one block from the convention center.

Rooms poorly lighted. Large bathrooms but rather cheap thin towels. Excellent evening turndown service. Small window for fresh air, but you may be deterred from using it due to adjacent freeway noise. No restaurant. Connected to Ruth Chris which has limited expensive . Great blackout shades. No hotel bar but can use Ruth Chris which closes at 11pm and abruptly raises it's lights at that time whether they have just served you or not. Higher floors have better view. Good dedicated concierge service. WiFi a little slow but adequate. Avoid handicapped rooms if you don't need them as they have a poorer layout and no separate shower.

Room Tip: Avoid handicapped rooms if you don't need them as they have a poorer layout and no separate show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Hyatt At Olive 8
#13 of 100 in Seattle
2,349 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Seattle

Property: Grand Hyatt Seattle
Address: 721 Pine Street, Seattle, WA 98101-1815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Business Hotel in Seattle
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#15 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hyatt Seattle will satisfy even the most sophisticated business & leisure travelers. Centrally located in downtown Seattle, next to the Washington State Convention & Trade Center, the hotel redefines the hospitality standard in the Pacific Northwest. Open spaces with a friendly accommodating spirit and high-tech wizardry, the hotel was created with meetings in mind. Its ballrooms, prefunction rooms and more than 25,000 square feet of meeting space feature marble, fine woods, and rich fabric decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Seattle
Seattle Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing