We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food - very small portions”
Review of RN74

RN74
Reserve with OpenTable
RN74 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #161 of 4,131 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pike Street
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing food - very small portions”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I really wanted to give this place 5 stars. I had a kale salad, cod with cauliflower, and chocolate tart and the food was amazing. The cod was perfectly cooked and everything had amazing flavor. The service was great for the 12 person party that we had. However, I couldn't give a perfect rating since the portions were extremely small. I know a lot of times people unreasonably criticize nice restaurants for small portions and expect an amount like they get at the Olive Garden. I certainly wasn't expecting that but the portions were still so small that I was actively hungry aftewards.

The atmosphere was ok - open area and it was fairly loud but nothing beyond what I've experienced at other places. If you are looking for a quiet place then this is not your restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    89
    29
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Ask for Helen”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great restaurant but what really made our diner was our server Helen.

Food is great. Concept of having some really unique affordable Burgundy wines is also wonderful. But Helen made our experience excellent rather than just good.

We had a large group and we were quite demanding in terms of the different drinks we wanted. There was also a bit of an error on our booking and service was a bit slow. However, Helen was friendly and went about her business of providing us great service without any complaints. She wasn't overly flattering nor did she get flustered…she was just right and made everyone feel very comfortable and at home at the restaurant. This made us forget about the deficiencies and just concentrate on the food, which was done quite well.

Surprised the Kale salad was so delicious. Steak was great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtravelorplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at RN74 last night. Jesse, our server, was fantastic, attentive and all his recommendations for wine and dinner were perfect. We started with the tempura mushrooms - amazing!, kale salad - fantastic, and the pate. The tri-tip steak was cooked perfectly at med-rare, and the garlic fries with that were great. Finished off with the beignets for dessert - all we can say is WOW! Will definitely go back!
Even though it was a bit pricey, the portion sizes were very generous, so worth it for sure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 63banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Best Food we've ever eaten in our entire lives ... Again”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

While travelling to Seattle once or twice a year we stumbled on this prize in downtown Seattle. The staff is great, offering warm and welcoming service. The food is beyond delicious and that is what brings us back again and again. Our last meal we shared (so we could taste more delicious dishes!), Pork Chop, Brussel sprouts, Kale salad, Beet Salad, topped off with the most interesting and tasty Creme brulee topped with Sassafras sorbet, bacon crumbles, candied pecans. We recommend this restaurant to anyone who will listen! The truffle popcorn is remarkable as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mardeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Tasty and innovative”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Everything we tried here, from the tuna tartare to the escargot, the black cod and roasted cauliflower to the rabbit and celery root/apple slaw, was a familiar French dish, reworked and modernized and quite delicious. The wine selection is impressive too, and I really enjoyed my glass if Oregon pinot noir. Service was great, as was presentation of each dish. The restaurant is beautiful and comfortable, with lots of Parisian style arrangements of glittering mirrors and stacks of glasses. Be aware, however, that there is a tendency here to over-salt the otherwise wonderful dishes. And the music is turned up to a deafening level. We'd come back for sure except that I fear for my ear drums and disliked having to shout at everyone from the maître d to my husband.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bearwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RN74 also viewed

 

Been to RN74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing