We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown
Ranked #70 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Value”
Reviewed June 4, 2006

I was very pleased with our 1 night stay here after our cruise. The rooms were clean and functional. The staff was very helpful. Upon a late-night arrival, check-in was smooth. The hotel clerk offered my son a cookie. The next day, the staff checked in our bags while we spent the day in Seattle, and arranged for a private van to pick us up and take us to the airport. They also provided us with a map and directions to downtown. The location is right near the Seattle Center and the Space Needle, so if you're looking to go there, this is perfect. We instead wanted to go down to the waterfront and the Public Market, which was definitely within walking distance for us. The neighborhood around the hotel was pretty quiet and did not feel like the best part of town, but we still felt fine walking around during the day time (not sure about it at night but we had a cab take us right to the hotel from the train station). This was also a great value for us, we got it for $95 on a holiday weekend through Priceline. It is my understanding that this hotel comes up a lot on Priceline as a 3 star hotel, so odds are you can get a room here at a good price for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    237
    129
    31
    19
See reviews for
135
156
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

This is just not a very nice hotel and it is not particularly convenient to anything. It is right on a highway that you would need to cross if you were going to walk downtown. It is a short cab ride, but a pretty long walk. Our room looked out onto a roof and another building and got no sun at all. The rooms were clean enough but looked old and run down. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay!

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy it!

Unfortunately we are by no means a view hotel. We pride ourselves on our in-room amenities, and on our location, which is about a ten minute walk from the Space Needle and Seattle Center, which is home to the Experience Music Project, the Science Fiction Museum, Pacific Science Center, Key Arena, and McCaw Hall. There certainly are attractions that are too far to walk to, such as Pioneer Square, but even the Pike Place Market is only a 15-20 minute walk.

It is completely understandable, however, that one may not wish to walk these distances, and we can arrange transportation for you at any time at the front desk, and help you to find a bus route to get to where ever it is you would like to go. I apologize if these options were not offered to you while you were here, and hope that you come back and visit us to give us another chance!

Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2005

This review is based on an excellent off-season rate that I got on Priceline ($60) Room was very clean. Fridge & microwave were nice to have. I'm sure that I would have appreciated the location more during summer but it was dark by 4:30PM and we didn't feel safe on the streets after dark. Highly recommend if you are on a budget.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparky8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2005

Whenever I travel on business, I now consult tripadvisor reviews prior to my trip. Based on the glowing reviews for this property, I chose the Holiday Inn Seattle, and I was not disappointed.

Centrally located in an urban, but commercial section of town, the entrance to the hotel on Dexter Avenue is a bit claustraphobic. If there are several arriving, you may need to wait your turn to get into the lobby, but once you come in, the front desk is quick and courteous. After you check in, return to your car and turn right into the hotel, right behind the hotel, and right into the Holiday Inn garage (not the Express garage.) Swing wide on the last turn, because you use your room key to open the garage door from the driver's side. The second time I did this, it felt natural! Even the parking garage is well done. Although the spaces are small, the ceiling has an acoustical treatment making the garage quiet and relatively warm: a great benefit for Seattle weather.

My room was large for a standard room with two queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The TV has a sleep timer (controlled on the TV itself) and about 20 channels of cable. There are several nice touches in the room in the form of instruction cards on how to operate the TV and internet (wired only... bring your ethernet cable or be billed $7.50!) The iron and board in my room were passable, but somewhat damaged by previous guests. The in-wall heater/AC was quiet, and there was little to no outside noise that disturbed my sleep.

The other amenities are somewhat limited by the small size and location of the hotel. I noticed that the exercise room is somewhat larger than most with several cardio and weight machines. There is a business center with computer, printer and high-fee ATM machine.

One of the other reviews raved about the Emerald Grill. I found their food above average, but nothing to write home about. However, for room service and a general service hotel... that's the kind of food you want. Room service was delivered in a timely fashion and at correct temperatures. Tip: If you want bread with your room service meal, you need to request it.

Most of my days were spent away from the hotel, so I don't have any reviews of their ballroom or other facilities. However, I don't hesitate to recommend this location - it's a quality property.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Redbeard25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out there in the real world
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2005

This is back to back with the Holiday Inn Express, on Dexter Ave about 3 blocks from the space needle.

Check in process was friendly and fast. Parking was only $4.50 for our stay, the garage being under the building with a key-entry door. Very safe looking and feeling once we drove in - clean too. I was happy to pay it.

Elevator runs a might slow, mostly because you can't encourage the doors to shut with the button. When we got to the room, it was so incredibly clean and tidy. I was pleased. The layout was very logical, so they fit a lot in. They had given us two doubles, and a room with a fridge, microwave, separate sink and disposable plates & utensils. The fridge was nice and cold (hate when you have to turn them on to get them going). If we had stayed more than one night, this set up would have been very helpful.

Our 5th floor room looked out over the King5 station, and even though we saw the helicopter leave their roof at least twice, we could barely hear it. Bathroom had everything necessary, and a note to let them know if you had forgotten anything they could provide. Again, very clean.

Free internet in your room, and they'll provide the cables if you've forgotten yours at home. My only complaint was that there was no breakfast in the lobby to come down to. Not even some coffee and/or tea to take with you as you go out the door. It's not that I was promised any, that's just something I'm used to - have a glass of juice and a muffin while you get ready to head out. Oh well.

Overall our stay was uneventful and very restful. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cookofthehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, MN
Level Contributor
195 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2005

We thought that this Holiday Inn was better than others we have come across. The room was big, the beds were comfortable and we liked having a fridge and coffee pot in the room.

The hotel is located very near the Space Needle and the Seattle Center and we found walking downtown not to be a problem at all. You can also hop on a bus to downtown from the 'free zone' which is only a few blocks away.

The pool was small and uninviting and located in the Holiday Inn Select next door. The staff was so-so. They took care of business but I wouldn't call the two we dealt with as being 'friendly.'

We paid $95 a night through Priceline. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LyndaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2005

We were looking for a hotel that would provide easy access to Seattle's major attractions and the Holiday Inn Seattle fit the bill very nicely. The hotel is within a few blocks walking distance to the Space Needle/Experience Music Project as well as the Monorail line that drops you off very close to the Public Market and Embarcadero area.

We arrived a bit ahead of check in time, but the front desk staff wasted no time in identifying a room that had immediate availability. So, we were able to get situated and unpacked without delay. We parked in the hotel's underground garage (in/out privileges included, although we didn't need our car at all during our stay). Parking is $4.50 per night in the hotel garage, which was extremely reasonable for secured parking in the heart of the city!

We took a stroll to the Monorail station at the base of the Space Needle and took the next train to Westlake Center Mall (there are no other stops). From there we followed the crowd to the Seattle Public Market (think fishmongers), which was a blast on a Sunday afternoon! You've also got easy access from here to an array of waterfront attractions and restaurants, although we were disappointed to discover that the IMAX theatre closed permanently only a week prior to our visit (to make room for an expansion of the aquarium).

We returned to the Space Needle at about 9pm for our walk back to the hotel. It was here we experienced a little discomfort in that there seemed to be a large number of "locals" more or less loitering on the streets and sidewalks near the Space Needle at this time of the evening. We weren't sure if there was some kind of an event going on nearby but we were no longer among fellow tourists as we made our way back to the hotel. There was also a very large and visible police presence, which was comforting on one level but still begged the question as to the reason for it and whether it was "routine" for the area after dark.

Regardless, we made it safely back to the hotel where we generally enjoyed a quiet overnight stay. The only complaint we had was with the occupant above us who seemed to be walking laps around his room late into the evening and early in the morning. Don't know what that was about, but certainly wasn't the hotel's fault, even though, when I mentioned it later, the desk staff said I would have been welcome to call them at the time and let them know about the noise.

No comp breakfast at this hotel, but there are a few coffee shops and restaurants in the vicinity (including one at the hotel). Even though we stayed just one night, the hotel staff allowed us to continue to use the parking garage the next day while we explored the city a bit more.

The total for the room, after taxes and parking, was about $170 for the night, which is a little higher than I normally like to pay. (You could also try the Holiday Inn Express located right next door). The proximity of the hotel meant I didn't have to drive in and out, which was very convenient, and the amenities were quite decent. The staff was friendly and helpful, so I would certainly recommend the Holiday Inn - Seattle to others.

Helpful?
6 Thank RaisinCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 100 in Seattle
1,474 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 100 in Seattle
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown
Address: 211 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Seattle Center is conveniently located 4 blocks from the Seattle Center where you can visit our city's top attractions, including the Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, Experience Music Project, and Key Arena. Within a mile of the hotel, you are able to explore the historic Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square, Seattle Art Museum, and enjoy some of Seattle's great shopping centers, including Westlake Center, Nordstrom and Pacific Place. Our hotel is also a wonderful place to stay if you are planning on watching our Seattle Mariners, Seattle Sounders FC, or Seattle Seahawks. Within 2 miles of us are Safeco and CenturyLink Fields as well as the Seattle cruise terminals. Our central location also makes it very easy to venture out of the downtown area and explore the many quirky and distinctive districts which truly make Seattle unique, including Capitol Hill, Queen Anne, Ballard, and Fremont. We are also conveniently located if you are visiting Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University, Pacific Lutheran University, or the University of Washington. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is here to ensure you have a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Emerald City and are happy to assist with directions, reservations and trip planning so you are able to make the most of your time in our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing