We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs new elevators...SLOOOOOOOOOOOOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown
Ranked #67 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed August 8, 2009

very clean and tidy hotel. Friendly and helpfull staff, but the elevators are extremely slow. Every time we needed the elevator, there were lineups. Stair access is limited. The restaurant has weird hours(Closes after lunch and opens again for dinner) and the food was cold when we ordered breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graminizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 576 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2009

When we reserved our room we had requested a suite but were told upon check-in that the only room available was a king. We requested two cots for our sons who are 11 and 13 and were told we could have one. We were going to the Mariners game that night and didn't mind too much as we really wouldn't be there but to sleep anyhow as we were flying out the next day. The staff was friendly and the rooms were large. The SMELL was horrible. The place reeked of cigarette smoke and according to the signs on the doors there were smoking rooms in the same part of the building as nonsmoking. Once in our room, however, the smell wasn't so bad. The bed was old and uncomfortable and the cot looked even worse. You can easily walk to the Space Needle but it's a good eight blocks. The restaurant next door had passable food and the staff there was outstanding. Wished we could have got into the Holiday Inn Express right behind the Holiday Inn but they were also booked up. Would not stay here again and wouldn't really recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hijhatfield, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Thank you for your feedback!

Unfortunately Seattle fire code prevents us from placing more than one roll-a-way bed in our King-size rooms. We do have Kid Suites that have a king-sized bed and a separate partitioned room with bunk-beds that probably would have been perfect for your family. We only have a few, and they were probably all booked on the night that you were staying, otherwise I'm sure our staff would have been more than happy to move you into one.

We try to do everything we can to make sure our guests are happy, so please, in the future, let us know what we can do to make your stay better, so that we can resolve it while you are here. We do have smoking rooms that share floors with non-smoking rooms. Usually the smell of the smoke does not effect the non-smoking rooms, but if at any time you are unhappy with your room, because of the mattress, or because it is too close to a smoking room, let us know, and we will do our best to move you into a room that better suites you. We do have many guest room floors that do not have smoking rooms at all.

Thank you again for your feedback, it's comments like yours that help us to find areas in which we need to place more focus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Most comfortable bed I've found, KIng size with choice of pillows. Very helpful staff. Restaurant closes in afternoon. Short walk to Needle.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Good quality stay as you'd expect from a holiday inn. No problems and good service

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinclair1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Stayed here for two nights en route to Vancouver in June 2009. Caught airporter bus from airport. Fairly expensive but they had us at the hotel in approximately half an hour. Check in process was easy. Rooms tidy and clean. Restaurant/bar next door - food good and service excellent. Whist the location is in downtown dont think this is exactly in the city centre. You have a half hour walk or so to be in the centre of town. Free internet access in your room was useful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

This review was heading for 2-star country but was redeemed by the manager's concern.
Call it a 3.5.
First, the positives -
Our room was typical Holiday Inn, perfectly adequate for the purpose. The location is convenient to attractions, and walking a few blocks you can be inside the Ride Free Area for public transportation. The neighborhood is not elegant, but we didn't feel it was sketchy as another reviewer did. Internet service was good; we don't have wifi on the laptop,so being able to still plug into a data port was very helpful. Staff was helpful but not totally knowledgeable, we had a heck of a time figuring out how to get the bus downtown, Parking is convenient, though it's really a tight squeeze getting in and out.
Now the problem -
Our room was really noisy. The exhaust vent in the bathroom was audible in the bedroom. More troublesome, there was a more or less constant machinery noise behind the wall near the window, perhaps the a/c or plumbing system. Normally, I'd just ask to be moved. In this case I didn't because we had very limited time to tour the city. When we checked out I mentioned this to the manager behind the desk, who apologized, scolded me gently for not complaining sooner, and knocked off our parking fees. So, I'd recommend it, but listen carefully before you unpack..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob/Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

The Holiday Inn in Seattle is a fine hotel. Not fancy or shining, but it was clean and nice. The hotel is really designed to cater to in and out business users, but does fine for a visit to downtown Seattle. We stayed on the 6th floor (executive level), which isn't very special in quality of room, but does come with a kitchenette and free continental breakfast. As all dining is expensive in the downtown area of Seattle this was a great perk. While the hotel was not located in the very heart of the downtown district, it is very close by and easy walking distance for people in reasonable shape (I am no marathon runner). We would stay there again if the need arose. There is also a whole foods market three blocks away, as well. I would park your car there as well. It is worth the ten dollars, which you will realize in Seattle is nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel84848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown

Address: 211 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $116 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Seattle Center is conveniently located 4 blocks from the Seattle Center where you can visit our city's top attractions, including the Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, Experience Music Project, and Key Arena. Within a mile of the hotel, you are able to explore the historic Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square, Seattle Art Museum, and enjoy some of Seattle's great shopping centers, including Westlake Center, Nordstrom and Pacific Place. Our hotel is also a wonderful place to stay if you are planning on watching our Seattle Mariners, Seattle Sounders FC, or Seattle Seahawks. Within 2 miles of us are Safeco and CenturyLink Fields as well as the Seattle cruise terminals. Our central location also makes it very easy to venture out of the downtown area and explore the many quirky and distinctive districts which truly make Seattle unique, including Capitol Hill, Queen Anne, Ballard, and Fremont. We are also conveniently located if you are visiting Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University, Pacific Lutheran University, or the University of Washington. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is here to ensure you have a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Emerald City and are happy to assist with directions, reservations and trip planning so you are able to make the most of your time in our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing