We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown
Ranked #70 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Port Moody, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in March. We didn't have any problems and the staff was nice and friendly. The only downsides were the cost of parking (I have never agreed with hotels charging guests for parking) and that there aren't really any restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to eat at the hotel restaurant. They are all a little too far to walk to and if you drive, it's usually really difficult to find a parking spot in this area, like it was for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobletoffireball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiRutherford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
TheOrder,
Thank you indeed! We are always encouraged when we get a review like this. It is because of you our guests that improvements in our hotel and services continue to be a focal point. We hope to see you again!

Thank you,

Brandi Rutherford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    243
    131
    32
    20
See reviews for
142
158
28
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We absolutely LOVED this hotel. We were traveling with 3 kids (all 5 and under) and we loved having the kid's suite for them. The staff was very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. When we called the front desk for help, we had a knock on our door within 3 minutes with a friendly face ready to help us. The restaurant was very convenient for us. The food is just ok. Pretty similar to what you would find at a chain restaurant. But great if you have kids and just want to grab something. The hotel is very close to everything you would want to see downtown. We were there over Easter weekend and we had a great time in the park across the street hiding eggs with our kids. It was a wonderful experience! We will stay there again for sure if we are ever in Seattle again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiRutherford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Katie P,

We love this review! Every time we get one with the guest satisfaction we know we are doing things right, more so when the kids are just as happy! I want to thank you and your family for choosing us. Our convenient location and restaurant are two of the areas we pride ourselves and are grateful you were able to take advantage of them.

Thank you,

Brandi Rutherford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here end of March. Great location, close to sights and amenities. They offer parking (at an extra charge) so you dont need to worry about where to park. Spacious and clean rooms. Cute lobby. Great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyptrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Nicely located, waking distance is great from Pike Place market, and Seattle Center.
Rooms are newly renovated.
Only negatative thing I could see was the pop machines were all empty. (Not owned by hotel)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I were on a vacation and booking our hotels as we went b/c w weren't sure where we would be by evening we booked this hotel before leaving Portland,OR after reading reviews. We arrived and at first front desk staff was friendly. We checked in parked out car and headed to our room. When we arrived and opened the door to the room we saw shoes on the floor and heard people talking the gave us the key to SOMEONE ELSE'S room! Shocked scared and irritated we went back to the front desk where the gentleman acted like this happened regularly, "apologized", and moved us rooms. He gave us a room on the 2nd floor we asked for a higher floor b/c when I called and booked the room we asked for one with a view since it was our first time in Seattle. He then moved us to the 6th floor to a room w/ 2 queens. We thought about just finding another hotel after what had happened but since it was after the 6pm cancel time and we were exhausted from travel we decided to stay, but dead bolted and used the extra locks on the door. He called us just a few minutes after we arrived in this new room to see how it was telling us we should have a "great view of Seattle and the Space Needle" after getting off the phone we looked out the window to see our view of the KING5 news station and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. We were exhausted and had headaches so we gave up and retired for the evening. When we got up the next day we went and talked to management. I'm not sure if Ryan the gentleman we talked to was management or not, but he was the best part of our stays. He helped us and put effort into rectifying the situation. He then helped us find a place to eat within walking distance and told us a good way to get around Seattle with walking and public transportation. He was the only reason I gave this hotel 3 stars. The room was comfortable, but it was way too scary worrying about someone walking in our room definitely not what I wanted to do on vacation especially at the cost of the room. We decided to stay outside of Seattle in other HIs for our last two nights in Seattle.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nichole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiRutherford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Nichole222,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay. This is not at all the experience we want you remember during you travels. Our hope and focus is that you have an enjoyable, memorable stay. I will be taking the lead as we continue to improve our service and expectations. I want to take this opportunity to extend a personal apology and promise to make this right. If you find that you are in the area please contact me directly. Again, thank you for your time and honesty in this. We can not improve with out the feedback from our guest.

Kind regards,

Brandi Rutherford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We ended up staying at the Holiday Inn Seattle for about two weeks in January. We were very pleased with the spaciousness of the rooms and their cleanliness. Location was great and close to lots of interesting attractions and downtown. Staff were helpful and professional.
The only problem I had with the room was the lack of basic eating facilities - no toaster, no electric kettle and only a tiny coffee-maker with paper plates and paper cups. I'm sure it's a way of cost-cutting but I don't like eating off paper and cardboard!
The other negative aspect was that after only being there for two days, our rental car was broken into in the HI parking lot and the GPS stolen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here with my fiancee for a couple of nights on vacation. It is in a good location (walking distance to EMP musuem, space needle, downtown, whole foods nearby). If you plan on renting a car, the parking garage in the hotel is much cheaper than staying downtown and paying for parking there ($10/day vs +$30/day). The room was clean and spacious. HDTV is a nice touch.

Room Tip: some rooms might face the back where there is another hotel right next to it. The rooms felt a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vico101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown
Address: 211 Dexter Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Seattle Center is conveniently located 4 blocks from the Seattle Center where you can visit our city's top attractions, including the Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, Experience Music Project, and Key Arena. Within a mile of the hotel, you are able to explore the historic Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square, Seattle Art Museum, and enjoy some of Seattle's great shopping centers, including Westlake Center, Nordstrom and Pacific Place. Our hotel is also a wonderful place to stay if you are planning on watching our Seattle Mariners, Seattle Sounders FC, or Seattle Seahawks. Within 2 miles of us are Safeco and CenturyLink Fields as well as the Seattle cruise terminals. Our central location also makes it very easy to venture out of the downtown area and explore the many quirky and distinctive districts which truly make Seattle unique, including Capitol Hill, Queen Anne, Ballard, and Fremont. We are also conveniently located if you are visiting Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University, Pacific Lutheran University, or the University of Washington. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is here to ensure you have a relaxing and comfortable stay in the Emerald City and are happy to assist with directions, reservations and trip planning so you are able to make the most of your time in our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Seattle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing