We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Ranked #67 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I really didn't mind this hotel. it was clean and the beds were comfortable. I chose it for its location and cost and I was not disappointed. If you don't want to walk its not the location for you. It is not a long walk very easy to anywhere you want to go. its very easy to find your way around from this location. I would stay here again. it was very easy to get to from the airport just take the light rail all the way to the the end and get a taxi from there $10. If I can figure it out anyone can .its very easy!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mskysor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Your review is much appreciated! Our location is very convenient for those who don't necessarily want to stay in the busyness of the city area but can also provide easy access to downtown if guests wish to go explore. Having the option of taking Aurora Ave/Highway 99 is a perk because it provides access to downtown and other locations throughout the city without having to hassle with the main freeway of I-5. Once downtown, walking to through the city is easy and the light rail is also a great means of transportation to get around the area as well as down to the airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    108
    44
    17
    7
See reviews for
93
70
18
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge, MD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

The front desk staff at this hotel were all super nice, always patient answering questions for our large family in town for a wedding and made some great restaurant recomendations. The king Efficiency room was great and bottled water replaced in the fridge every day, very nice touch. Plus fresh cookies in the lobby in the afternoons. The pool is open 24/7 which was an added perk. The parking lot is a little tight and you need a rental car to get quickly into downtown Seattle, not much to see near by. Business Center is a computer desk tucked in the corner of the breakfast room which was sometimes a poplular spot with only one computer, but overall very good experience for a four night stay.

Room Tip: Room at end of Hall was great, I would not want one near the pool since its 24 hours though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltagMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We are really happy to hear that you had a such a great stay with us! It sounds like all of the amenities we offered really added to the enjoyment of your time, which is exactly what we want for our guests. Our Front Desk are very friendly and always willing to help look up directions to attractions and offer suggestions on places to eat both in the downtown area as well as in different Seattle neighborhoods. We are located about 8 miles north of downtown Seattle, which will be about a 20 minute car ride. Another great option for travel is the bus system of which there is a stop just a short distance north of the hotel and takes you directly into downtown. If you should ever need to use the business center but it is in use, you can always stop by the Front Desk and see if they can help with anything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Level Contributor
261 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This seems to be a newer property, or at least it is recently renovated. The furnishings are modern, and the rooms are large. They have many mini suites with a small refrigerator, kitchen sink, and microwave. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There's just one major problem. It was obvious that they are having trouble with people smoking in the rooms. What a shame. My colleague's room smelled horribly of cigarette smoke, but the hotel was completely full (they seem to get many tour buses with seniors), so they could not move her. They sprayed her room instead, but it didn't help much. I didn't complain about my room because it wasn't as bad as my colleague's, but as I was unpacking my clothes from the trip, I couldn't believe how stinky my clothes were with smoke smell. I realize this isn't the hotel's fault, but there must be a way to treat the rooms when this happens? One more complaint: The wifi was very poor, which is bad for those of us who are business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanclaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear vanclaners,

Thank you for taking the time to write a 3 star review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our renovated hotel with new furnishings and spacious rooms. We apologize about the smell of smoke in your room. We are a non-smoking property and remind all guests at check in of this policy. When traces of smoking are detected we do our best to deep clean the room and eliminate the odor. We are sorry we were not able to offer you a room move during your stay as we were sold out and had no room availability. We hope that we can prove our commitment to exceptional service to you during your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast, alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Clean, comfy, reliable. Love this place, stayed here too many time to count. only thing is parking is a little cramped. Ivars is across the street, couldn't ask for more. Maybe the pool, when we were down there (from Alaska) we were looking forward to the pool and hot tub only to find out they were closed, and it was not updated on the main website, but the desk guy was great about it, felt a little sorry for him, having to explain over and over again about it, already looking forward to our next stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helibut3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear helibut3,

Thank you for your kind 5 star review. We are so glad that our friendly and helpful staff and convenience to local attractions and eateries brings you back time and time again. We apologize that the pool and hot tub were out of order during your stay. We do our best to address any maintenance issue as soon as possible to improve our guests experience. We hope that we see you soon during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Illinois
Level Contributor
191 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel itself is a great hotel. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were big. The breakfast was standard HIX fare with Bacon eggs and biscuits and gravy. The parking lot was a little tight especially if you have a larger vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckie_css
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear chuckie_css,

Thank you for your 4 star review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our beds and rooms large and comfortable. We are happy that you also enjoyed our hot buffet style breakfast. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, KS
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very nice, new, clean hotel. Was traveling with a group of more that 40. They were well prepared for our arrival. Were in our rooms in a timely manner. We were there for two days. They weren't quite ready the first morning for breakfast. It's hard to be prepared for 40 people at once who are on central standard time, but they made it. The next morning they were ready for us. Nice breakfast with plenty of choices. I tried to use the hot tub the first morning only to find it was only 80 degrees. I did see someone attending to it later, but didn't try it again. Very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There is nothing of interest within walking distance. Walgreen's 2 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We so happy to hear that we could provide a great stay to you as well as everyone in your group! All of our departments worked hard to prepare and plan ahead for your arrival. Our Breakfast Staff does their best to keep all items stocked and available for all of our guests. If any item runs out then they will always work fast to replenish it. We apologize that you encountered an issue with the hot tub and that the temperature was low. Maintenance does follow up with such issues immediately and repairs it as soon as possible. It is great that you had such a wonderful stay and we hope to have you and your group stay with us in the future should you make your way to the Seattle area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

During a long trip to Alaska, I spent a night in Seattle. The hotel is on Aurora, one of the main drags of Seattle- the road leads right downtown. This area however is a mix of industry, commercial, and apartment/condos. You are barely in the city limits- Shoreline starts only a few blocks north.

The hotel is small and compact, so is the lot. There seems to be very little parking. I had no problem finding a space, but unless there is another lot I am not aware of, it could get crowded. There is only one way in and one way out, and turning left onto Aurora can be a problem if you want to head north. Not the hotel's fault- the lots just happen to be small in this area.

There is also only one hotel entrance and exit- right at the front desk. Lobby is very nice and staff very helpful in finding attractions in the city and the beach area to the north.

Room is nice a spacious. Suite has a nice kitchenette and a large bathroom. Bed is comfy, very quiet with virtually no street noise despite being off of a busy road. Elevator is near the lobby too, very convenient.

I only had two issues with the hotel. The exhaust fan needs to be a little stronger- my bathroom window fogged up quite strongly. Since I traveled alone, I could leave the door open, but this is a problem. The TV also had very little selection- not all of the locals are carried, and no regional sports network. I was unable to catch the Mariners game on TV that night. Also of oddity is they carry the networks of the major sports except for MLB. Either carry all of them or none- it just doesn't make sense. Since I received a free room via rewards points, it wasn't too big of a deal, but may be if I had to pay.

Breakfast is very good and filling. Did not use pool or exercise room.

If I come back to Seattle in the future, I would consider staying here, depending on what other options are available at that time.

By the way, it was sunny and low 80s both days, and the night was very comfortable. Not even a drop of rain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXhotelStaff, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with our hotel during your night stay here in Seattle. We are happy to hear that your overall time with us was enjoyed and that you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable. We only have one parking lot and unfortunately it does get pretty full however we provide one parking space per room plus several handicap parking spaces. We apologize that you had trouble with your bathroom fan and that we did have the specific sports channel for you to watch the Mariners game available and will take a look into the channel options and if others can be added and accessible. On a brighter note, it is great that you were able to enjoy some of our warm summer sun while you were here and hope you had safe travels on the rest of your way back up to Alaska!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#72 of 100 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Address: 14115 Aurora Ave. North, Seattle, WA 98133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, North Seattle is your home away from home. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff and greatness of a fine Seattle hotel. We are also nearby Seattle downtown, University of Washington (UW), Safeco Field, Key Arena, Seattle Waterfront, Seattle Aquarium, Washington State Convention & Trade Center, Northgate Mall, Shoreline Community College, Shoreline Conference Center and Woodland Park Zoo. Located just seven miles north of downtown Seattle, on Aurora Avenue North (Highway 99) with easy access to I-5, our location offers all of the convenience of downtown without the downtown inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seattle
Holiday Inn Express Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing