We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Manager had horrible customer service skills.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Ranked #68 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Manager had horrible customer service skills.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in an older neighborhood, but once inside was very nice. The room was great. My only complaint was about Anthony. He was the manager in duty at check-in as well as check out. When asking questions at the front desk in both days he was very rude and put no effort into assisting me as the customer. Luckily another person was at the front desk during checkout and she was a delight!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Denise M,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I sincerely apologize for the poor customer care and for the dissatisfaction this has caused you. This is definitely not up to our standards as we always strive to provide the best customer service to each and every guest. We deeply regret the negative experience you had during your visit.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    112
    45
    18
    7
See reviews for
97
72
19
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illniois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights (although we left and spent one night in Vancouver we just left our stuff in the room as it was easier) and we were very pleased with our stay. We read the reviews and were aware of the area, an although it does look a little run down, we weren't walking around in the area so it didn't matter. The hotel itself is very nice and the employees are very friendly. Our rooms were clean and spacious. It's only a 20 minute drive, at most, to downtown Seattle. We had 2 rooms and were very happy with everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrmkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice property and good location. Fairly close to I-5 freeway but no noise from same. Nice rooms and very clean & quiet. Front desk is very efficient and pleasant. The breakfast is quite good with a nice selection to choose from. It is about a 10 minute drive to the Northgate shopping center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on Aurora Ave for 7 days in July 2013 while visiting a relative in Seattle and touring the Seattle area and the attractions in the area. For some reason some people picked on this hotel for little stuff, and that is unfair. If you have ever stayed in a Holiday Inn Express, then you know what you are in for - a very nice, clean hotel with nice rooms, comfortable beds, and a decent breakfast every day. Our room (Room 212) was very nice with updated furnishings and it was very clean. The housekeepers did a great job maintaining the rooms and we always had everything we needed. The beds are very comfortable and the room had a small refrigerator in it to keep some drinks and basic food. Everything functioned well. We did have a problem with a slow drain in the bathroom sink, but the staff had someone come up and fix it for us - it was even on the 4th of July holiday and they were still able to resolve the problem!

The breakfast was nice and as expected. We always has fresh eggs every day - either scrambled or cheese omelets on alternate days and they had hard boiled eggs available every day. They also have plenty of cereals, yogurt, fruit, toast, etc ..... They did a nice job maintaining it and keeping it fresh. We ate there every morning. Some people on this site complained about the breakfast, but I don't know what they were expecting. It is a nice basic breakfast. If you need something bigger or fancy, go out for breakfast!

My only complaint is for the gym in the hotel. It is basically useless. Both treadmills have problems and many of the buttons on them do not work. In order to reset the one closest to the window so it could be used I had to pull the red "panic" cord to shut it down, then plug it back in to set a new program. Also they have a FEW dumbells in there, but no pairs of anything with decent weight - really? Only a SINGLE 20# dumbbell in there to use? I did my best with what they had there, but it was very frustrating. Spend the money people and at least replace one of the treadmills in there!

Outside of the Gym, this is a great place to stay and I highly recommend it. It is definitely the nicest place around and still close enough to get to downtown Seattle in 10 minutes or so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our first stop on a two-week whirlwind tour of the Pacific Northwest. We flew into Seattle, picked up our car and headed to this hotel. Easy to find, check-in was smooth, and the Priority Club package they provided for check-in was just the snack needed to tide us over from a plane flight until we could head to dinner. They provided wonderful directions to get us downtown for dinner. Great price for a location that is not too far; not too close to downtown from a traffic perspective. Our room was large, comfortable, and clean. Breakfast the next morning was perfect to start us off for a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjpalmer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
452 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We found this to be a very good choice. The rooms are quite large, quiet and the hotel is well located. The beds are quite comfortable. A very good alternative to the high priced hotels in the down town area. Breakfast is quite good and the area is well attended so the food is kept in good supply. Handy to both Sam's Club and Costco if that matters to you.

Room Tip: High up and to the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomWall60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday88888, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Tomwall60,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It means a lot to our employees and staff when we hear we are doing things right. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours Truly,
Ron Oh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked a Priority Club Rewards stay at this Holiday Inn Express as this location looked like it would be convenient to Northgate Mall along with being relatively close to downtown Seattle (~20 minutes on Aurora or I-5) as I had a day off and wanted to check-out the new MOHAI museum on Lake Union and the Mariners MLB Home Opener. Found this hotel to be quiet, clean and staffed by generally friendly and very helpful staff, particularly the night clerk and clerk when I checked out. Still find it puzzling though as to why I couldn't check-in just a bit early at 12:40pm(and I've done so at other hotels in the past) as this hotel didn't seem full, however, the checkin process later evening and the stay there went smoothly.Hotel was modern, very quiet and ideally situated for BC-Canadians travelling down to Seattle area on I-5. Will stay here again and recommended to others!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivesInPacificNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holiday88888, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Good Afternoon Jim D-

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay; we love to hear from our guests as to how we can improve, and provide a better experience. I am glad you found our Front Desk staff to be friendly, and our facilities to be modern; we completed a full remodel of our hotel last fall!

I do apologize you were unable to check in early; our check in time is at 3pm, however we do offer Priority Check In for our Priority Club members, if the room is available.

We look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Danielle
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#71 of 100 in Seattle
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline
Address: 14115 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98133-6942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, North Seattle is your home away from home. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff and greatness of a fine Seattle hotel. We are also nearby Seattle downtown, University of Washington (UW), Safeco Field, Key Arena, Seattle Waterfront, Seattle Aquarium, Washington State Convention & Trade Center, Northgate Mall, Shoreline Community College, Shoreline Conference Center and Woodland Park Zoo. Located just seven miles north of downtown Seattle, on Aurora Avenue North (Highway 99) with easy access to I-5, our location offers all of the convenience of downtown without the downtown inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Seattle - Shoreline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seattle
Holiday Inn Express Seattle
Holiday Inn Seattle
Seattle Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing