We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hip spot”

The Walrus and the Carpenter
Ranked #83 of 4,171 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brimfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hip spot”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Make sure you get here early. We were in line at 3:45 (they open at 4) on a Tuesday and we got one of the last tables.

Had some of the best oysters (half price from 4-6). It's place has mostly small plates which I love. Really fun place if you want to be hip. Tables are super close together, this is not a place for romance but a place for foodies

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viinnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    71
    33
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Oysters!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've wanted to come here for a long time and was finally able to make it on this trip to Seattle. We got there a little before 5 on a Thursday evening and the place was packed. We were quoted a wait time of about 30 minutes but we were able to be seated in about 15 minutes. There were 6 different local varieties of oysters from mild to briny. We took advantage of the 25% happy hour special and got two dozen to split amongst 3. For dinner we got the zuccini salad. A light, delicious, thinly sliced salad of zuccini with a citrus vinaigrette. We also got the cod chowder, smoked trout, and the manila clams. The freshest seafood and all were well prepared. Dessert was a disappointment. We got the bread pudding. It was nothing like we expected. It looked like a slightly toasted piece of bread with some sauce and whipped cream. Overall, the service was friendly and prompt. I'd probably give this place more like a 4 1/2 but I liked it enough to give it a 5.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is hard to find - we only went because of Zimmerman's review - but it was worth the search and the wait!! If you go, order the fried oysters for sure. Also, the salted dates for dessert were awesome. This will be our go-to place in Seattle.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Firies1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

very authentic "seattle" feel. Lots of great seafood. I think the menu changes fairly regularly. Hard to get a table sometimes and they don't take reservations, but service was great once we were seated.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GES123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“It is a OYSTER bar. And a great one”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

You will wait,and it is crowded. WHY, because it is good.
The Oysters are some the best we have had. As good and as fresh if you had just got them your self. The fried ones are also good
The steak tar-tar can not be beat. Had the fried sardines. Also. Service is efficient and friendly. Try to sit outside on the picnic benches. Pricing in line with the quality of the food

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 98999Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walrus and the Carpenter also viewed

 

Been to The Walrus and the Carpenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing