We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Free parking, comfortable accomodations, reasonable cost, close to LOTS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Ranked #34 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Free parking, comfortable accomodations, reasonable cost, close to LOTS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As stated, the parking was free, which is quite unique for that part of town. Only a few blocks away/within walking distance is Westlake Center for dining and shopping; quick and easy drive to other Seattle sights.

The staff was friendly and helpful, the free breakfast was pretty good, and they had complimentary lemon-iced water or hot apple cider any time of day. The rooms had several complimentary toiletries, rather than just soap, or soap/shampoo. Bedding was plush, TV had the same cable package I have at home, and the room was cozy. I felt it was a good deal for downtown Seattle (watch out for all the added taxes, though!!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossCountryMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    393
    110
    28
    20
See reviews for
366
267
43
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is located on a street that appears to be in transition. From our hotel window we could see half a dozen building cranes, and it seemed that the street where the hotel is located is ripe for change to replace the older buildings with new more modern buildings. But the area is decent and within walking distance of downtown and the Space Needle, which are both perhaps less than a mile away.

The hotel itself is older but well maintained. It has a nice lobby and adjoining breakfast area. Breakfast included the usual things like cereal, pastries, juice etc., but there was also the option of making pancakes or waffles. Our room was clean and well maintained, but perhaps the most unique feature was a dual shower head, i.e. it was a really good shower. I found the bed to be particularly comfortable, and there wasn't excess noise from the street below so that it was restful to stay here. A nice feature that they provide is free parking, almost unheard of in the middle of a city. Wi-Fi was also free, but it was hit and miss in our room which was on an upper floor. I took my IPad to the business center area, which btw had two newer looking computers, and the Wi-Fi worked fine there. In summary, I came away mostly impressed and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oskarduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I can describe this property as great...the location is very convenience from tourist attractions, as not car is need it. Free parking during your stay is a great thing, as any hotel downtown will charge you between $20 to $40. Nice breakfast, also included in the room rate...and great staff, very helpful... chapeau to La Quinta Inn management to have a property like this....will recommend anytime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siberian District, Russia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

There were several problems we faced staying at this hotel. First of all and I declared it in the title of my review as a main one is a dog-friendly policy. I can't tell I dislike dogs I simply live with them in two parallel planes that, by default, do not cross between each other. When you are placed in a connecting room and your neighbours on the other side of the door leave their dog alone at the room it's a bad guest management and planning. This dog feels like at home and is trying to protect this home with the only weapon it has - barking, timeless barking. Meanwhile you're just laying at your bed trying to have a rest and listening for this barking. Moreover reception staff can do nothing in this case. You have no choice, but keep waiting and praying the owners of this dog to come as soon as possible.
The second problem is the strength of Wi-Fi signal in the room. We lived on the top, the seventh, floor and it was almost impossible to connect to the access point. I tried different spots around the room, but failed to establish a reliable connection. Either the power of the AP or their quantity should be increased. Maybe the APs can be just replaced.
The third problem is a breakfast. Even in Italy, in a country that is famous with it's moderate breakfast, I had a better breakfast than here. No meat at all! Just cereals, eggs, yoghurt, bread, waffles, apples, oranges and drinks. That's it. It's definitely not the best start of the day.
Omitting this difficulties the hotel is a nice place to stay in Seattle. It's located not too far from the downtown. Rooms a cosy and are equipped with everything any tourist is expecting to have.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Begemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We travel with an older sheepdog and have always stayed at BW hotels where pet friendly rooms often mean the same as lower class and unclean. When a friend mentioned that La Quinta hotels are amazing and host pets, I booked our five day stay at the La Quinta downtown Seattle location on 8 ave. The Trip Advisor reviews posted here are pretty accurate. The front desk staff are very friendly and clearly love dogs and make every effort to greet your pet when he comes and goes from the hotel! The whole main level has a brand new modern look, with several relaxing seating areas and a huge separate internet access area where guests can plug in their laptops or make use of the two large Apple IMac PC's on the business desks, complete with comfortable bar stools and excellent lighting. We stayed in a mini suite with a King size bed in a separate bedroom. Good size fridge, microwave, complimentary bottled water and popcorn and two large flatscreen tv's in each room made us feel so comfortable during our stay. On the seventh floor we had a good view of the downtown buildings. There is a large park within one block where our dog enjoyed many visits. Parking is free, but limited. We did a lot of walking and did not have any problems finding a parking spot during our visit. The continental breakfast was generous and served in a modern large room. The housekeeping staff was going out of their way to keep the room clean! The hallways and all common area's were spotless and smelled fresh. This is a place where guest rooms are cleaned and turned over with great care and attention to detail (you will not find stains on sheets or hair in the bathtub here!) This is an older building, so the soundproofing is not 100% . Our room on the top floor was located next to the elevators and the humming of the machinery and mechanism was clearly audible but mostly in the bedroom. We were not bothered by this at all, but a more sensitive guest should ask for a room away from the elevator. The closes place to eat would be the "Hurricane", an old fashioned greasy spoon diner which appeared to be open real late. Their menu is loaded with all the expected comfort foods and deserts, a good place for families with kids or if you arrive late and are too tired for a long walk. Our favorite spot was less than two blocks from the hotel: Whole Foods. when leaving the hotel turn left and then left again. Most amazing grocery store I have come across and with a HUGE restaurant/hot food area, too much to mention here! Thank younto all the staff of Seattle downtown La Quinta for their kindness and we hope to visit again soon!!

PS.... the bed was very comfortable!

Room Tip: request a room away from elevator, if you are sensitive to sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garden-witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
The Loyal Inn
The Loyal Inn
#61 of 101 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Lake Union
Holiday Inn Express Seattle City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Address: 2224 8th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Seattle
#31 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#49 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay with us, you will learn why TripAdvisor recently acknowledged us with their Certificate of Excellence award. Each morning is met with our free Bright Side Breakfast(R), an abundant spread with waffles, hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, and additional items. For the caffeine-friendly, this is also a great opportunity to get going with all-you-can-drink coffee and juice. You can relax in your spacious guest room to enjoy free Wi-Fi and 40 cable channels in high-quality HD. For the business-minded, we have a business center, free parking, and free local calls. We provide more modern amenities to meet the needs of every traveler on a trip to Washington at our pet-friendly hotel. From our hotel, you can reach the most premier, popular area destinations, all withing walking distance, including Pikes Place Market, Space Needle, Pioneer Square, Seattle Aquarim, and more. We also welcome a variety of sports fans visiting the area, as the Seattle Mariners' Safeco Field, and Seahawks' and Sounders Century Link Field are all less than a two-mile drive from our front door. The business guests get to stay within walking distance of Amazon, Facebook, the new Federal Building, REI, and the Washington State Convention Center. Since the University of Washington is only five miles away, it's better to book your well-appointed guest room in advance of major events such as graduation commencement ceremonies. Get easy access to public transportation to take in all the sights and sounds of this booming area for arts, music, museums, parks, dining, and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown Hotel Seattle
La Quinta Inn And Suites Seattle Downtown
La Quinta Seattle
Seattle La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing