We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TERRIFIC! TERRIFIC! TERRIFIC!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 9 Cranes Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
9 Cranes Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TERRIFIC! TERRIFIC! TERRIFIC!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our recent stay at 9 Cranes Inn was absolutely perfect. Innkeeper/owner Shelly was above and beyond helpful - she even provided Epsom Salts for the jetted tub when I told her the physical therapist had recommended it for a sprained shoulder. Beautiful views from our rooftop deck . Breakfast was delicious and varied each day. Parking was very convenient. There were Ample umbrellas to ward off the Seattle rain! Bed & bedding were delightful. Plenty of beverages and snacks available on a self-serve basis. Will definitely stay again on our next trip to Seattle !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbarcory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
132
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are neighbors of this place, and heard about it from other neighbors. When my sister's family was coming to town, we took a tour and quickly decided to host her family here. What a great idea. It's a five-minute walk from our house, so our guests could walk back and forth and didn't need to rent a car. They enjoyed the breakfasts each morning, and commented on how comfortable and quiet the inn was. We would do this again!

Room Tip: The website clearly describes the room options. Our nephew, 17, accompanied his parents, so there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorivb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a wonderful inn! I concur with all the past reviews, i.e. beautiful inn, super comfortable bed and bath, a sunny reading area, dietary needs accommodated, delicious foods, etc. Shelley has created a perfect environment for those of us in town for a few days. I'll be back and would love to stay for at least a week. Wish I could have had more one on one time with Phillip (Shelley's Shih Tzu) .

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at 9 Cranes in February while visiting out daughter in Seattle. The location was close to our daughter and all the attractions Seattle has to offer. The rooms were tasteful, the beds super comfortable and the breakfast first rate. This was out first time staying at a B&B and we could not have been more pleased with our choice. Shelley is a delight and a wonderful host. 9 Cranes delivered a relaxing and enjoyable exerience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Besides being a beautiful inn structurally, every decorative line of trim and paint was precise, every room was serene and welcoming, everything was immaculate. I have not seen another B&B so well presented. J & I have dietary needs which Shelley addressed so tastily, while accommodating my sister and her husband with fare superior to 90% of breakfasts we have seen elsewhere. We felt welcomed and appreciated. What more could anyone ask?

Room Tip: The Phinney Ridge room had a nice sitting room adjacent, so J could read early while I took my time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigCBellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was my first time staying in a B&B so I was not sure what to expect. 9 Cranes Inn was exceptionally clean, comfortable and the food was amazing. Shelley was a pleasure and a great source of knowledge of the area. The inn is conveniently located within walking distance to shops and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've had the pleasure of laying our heads down on the very comfy sheets at this new bed and breakfast on Phinney Ridge twice now. The first time was in the lofty Ballard View room with its immense deck overlooking the Olympic Mountains and even a teeny view of the Space Needle. This room wouldn't be the choice if stairs are an issue as it's on the 3rd floor, but the climb is worth it.
The second time we stayed in the Woodland Park room, just off the dining room. We loved the heated floor in the bathroom and the super cozy bed. It's the smallest of the rooms but perfectly comfortable, with the same well-appointed amenities as the Ballard View room. Shelley, the owner, is helpful but not sugary sweet, she knows when to leave her guests alone but is available when you need help or have a question. Homemade cookies, a fresh cooked breakfast in the morning, excellent coffee, a quiet charming neighborhood, really comfortable beds and some of the most attractively decorated rooms I've ever stayed in, we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimmingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Ballard
Hotel Ballard
Hotel Ballard
#2 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Greenlake Guest House
#1 of 29 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Chelsea Station
#2 of 29 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Cranes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Cranes Inn

Property: 9 Cranes Inn
Address: 5717 Palatine Ave N, Seattle, WA 98103-5826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 Cranes Inn is comfortable, stylish, and conveniently located in the Phinney Ridge neighborhood. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the bus to downtown. Also nearby: Ballard, Fremont, Green Lake, Wallingford, and Greenwood. Breakfast, wi-fi, and ample street parking included in rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing